We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel located in a hidden gem!”
Review of Hotel Rauriserhof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Rauriserhof
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Stayed at the Rauriserhof from 23.02 for a week with my wife and two teenage sons. Fantastic hotel with staff that provide excellent service with a smile. We had two rooms next to each other on the top floor and both were very comfortable and large. The hotel is immaculate throughout. Location is excellent and the ski bus stops outside the hotel door every 30 minutes or if you are feeling slightly energetic, a 20 minute walk to the gondola. Food is fantastic and keeps you well fuelled for skiing! Rauris itself is an absolute hidden gem and we all fell in love with the place and had the best skiing week ever! We booked a few days with the karl Maier ski school - Simply the best ski school we have experienced with great instructors lead by Harry! This place has everything! We managed to ski the whole resort and some advanced skiers may find the skiing slightly limited but what it lacks slightly in variety is made up with slopes that are very wide! Thank you to all the staff and everyone else who contributed to a superb week. Others have commented on smoking in the hotel bar but we are non smokers and didn't experience this. The swimming pool is lovely but just a bit chilly after a day on the slopes and just needs the heating tweaking slightly. Stay at the Rauriserhof and you will not be disappointed! We will return!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holmz97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

A real find in a beautiful valley.
Quite a large hotel but friendly and helpful staff make it feel homely.
Great facilities, with large swimming pool and relaxation area, table tennis and indoor tennis courts with equipment from reception which the children enjoyed.
The food was amazing, perhaps too much if you are not restrained but there must be something to suit everyone even a fussy eater.
Room excellent we had a family room which was really spacious, very clean and always smelt really nice when we got back after skiing.
Ski bus stoops outside every half hour.
Cannot fault hotel in any way.
Book direct with hotel for best price.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austriafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Rauriserhof for a week, at the end of January 2013, and found it pretty much faultless. The rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious, as well as being well heated (which is what you need when you have wet skiing gear). We stayed in one of the superior rooms (as they had sold out of standard ones), and had a king size bed, as well as a sofa and arm chair. This makes the room particularly comfortable, if you just want a quiet evening reading or chatting, as you have something else to sit on, other than the bed. The rooms were always clean, and serviced daily. Our room was on the ground floor, only about 20 feet away from the bar - we were a little worried about this at the start, as we had chosen both the Rauriserhof and Rauris as we wanted a quiet and relaxing snow holiday, away from the usual sort of scene. However, not once did we hear any noise in our room, despite the fact that the bar was usually quite busy.

The food is literally amazing - the quality is simply miles ahead over some of the places we have stayed at. Every night tends to be a six course meal of traditional Austrian dishes. For us, it was too much sometimes, but they didn't have any problems with us wanting to skip a couple of courses and head straight to the mains. They have special evenings every now and again as well - on one of these, there was a tour of the kitchens where you pick up your miniature starters along the way whilst you see the chefs at work! Most entertaining, and something we have never seen before! On two of the evenings as well, they had traditional Austrian musicians as well, playing in the background. My partner has a very severe nut allergy, and this was taken into consideration by the very capable and caring restaurant staff. In the afternoons, they serve a few apres snacks (which tended to be soups, salads and cakes from the previous evening) which were delicious, and most welcome after a day on the slopes.

The spa facilities are also excellent - have a look on their website for the full range, but they are clean and relaxing. The boot room is also fantastic - dry, warm boots and gloves every morning before you head out onto the slopes!

One of the best bits about the Rauriserhof, is the management. The Hotel is a privately owned, family business, and this is genuinely reflected in the care the managers have for their customers. I could go on all day harping on about how much we enjoyed our stay here, but to put it simply, stay at the Rauriserhof, and you really wont regret it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

My husband and I along with our two children aged 17 and 7 years, stayed at this hotel for 7 nights from the 20th January 2013. It is a lovely hotel with very friendly staff who make you feel very welcome right from the start. The rooms are large and very nicely decorated with plenty of storage for the eldest to unpack all the clothes that she brought!
The facilities of this hotel are great, my youngest really enjoyed using the pool after a hard days skiing, however the rest of us thought that it was a little too cold, which was a little disappointing, my eldest daughter and myself preferred to use the extensive steam and saunas which were amazing and very relaxing on a cautious note my daughter did not realise that our german guests prefer to use these naked much to her horror! The food was fantastic with loads of choice and what was really nice was that one night they invite you to inspect the kitchens how many hotels would do that! The hotel offered free activities which in included a horse drawn sleigh ride and candle light walk which we all enjoyed. the only negative for us is the smoking, guests could smoke in the bar/ lounge area and at night times it was unbearable we couldn't stay down in the lounge for any longer than 20 mins due to the smoke and so we stayed in our room most of the evening which wasn't ideal, and got to be a little boring to say the least. If you smoked it wasn't a problem but for the non smokers it was.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This hotel has exceptional staff, most welcoming and helpful. Located 20m from ski bus and no more than 10 mins to the lifts. The village is easy to walk to and serviced with a few ski shops, most helpful being Sport Egger.

Food is of good quality, and not lacking in volume. The family bedroom we stayed in was a good size with a sofa bed and a privacy curtain.

The downside was that the bar area incorporates the lounge seating area and smoking can become a problem as it is not separated or well ventilated. For myself this would be sufficient to choose a none smoking hotel close at hand for our return next season. Apart from this and the intermittent function of the boot heaters I would not hesitate to book again.

Skiing is ok although not a great choice however we had a fantastic time and enjoyed the runs from the top down.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maisey11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a 7 nights from the 5th January. What a fabulous hotel this is. The staff were fantastic and the food was out of a very, very high standard. The pool was also fabulous. We booked a senior room and wer not disappointed. The hotel arranged a horse drawn sleigh ride free of charge and this was really good. There were daily organised snow walks, again free of charge. We went on two of these walks and thoroughly enjoyed them. The Guide, Monica was brilliant. The hotel was very well positioned for Ski busses which ran every half hour. If we return to Rasis, we shall certainly stay at this hotel.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent Christmas as an extended family with skiers and non skiers at this hotel. Everything from the breakfast , midday snack ( rather a misnomer as it was a super spread each day) and a wonderful dinner to the helpful and pleasant staff ensured that this was a lovely holiday which will last long in our memories.The facilities were second to none - warm boot room, pool , sauna and logs burning in the bar area from early on ensured a warm and positive atmosphere. We thorougly recommend the Weisse beer from the local brewery too with the Grolsch style tops ! All super!
The skiing was a little limited locally but it was a holiday rather than just a skiers' driven week so overall the atmosphere of the village of Rauris and the hotel were truly magical. We had carols around the tree on Christmas Eve and a sleigh ride into the mountains as part of the package offered by the hotel. Drinks could have been a little pricey if the host were to have had his way however all was done with style. Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful . We went with Crystal and the reps in resort; Tom and Alistair were on the ball. The Ski bus stop outside the hotel and , if you can brave a red run, you can get to within 5 minutes walk of the hotel on return - which is what we would like to do ASAP

Room Tip: There is a variety of styles of room so book in advance exactly what yuo would like from a small Aus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rauris hotels
0.1 mi away
Alpina Hotel
Alpina Hotel
#2 of 10 in Rauris
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sonnhof
Hotel Sonnhof
#5 of 10 in Rauris
76 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gasthof Andrelwirt
Gasthof Andrelwirt
#3 of 10 in Rauris
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Birkenhof
Hotel Birkenhof
#3 of 28 in Rauris
21 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel-Garni Kaiserhof
#17 of 28 in Rauris
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Appartementhaus Schonblick Mountain-Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rauriserhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rauriserhof

Address: Marktstrasse 6, Rauris 5661, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Rauris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Rauris
Price Range: £156 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rauriserhof 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rauriserhof is a family run 4* hotel in the beautiful region "Salzburgerland" national park Hohe Tauern near Zell am See. The hotel offers 65 rooms in different categories. The hotel is open during summer and winter season. Guest find a wide range of possibilities in the hotel: *pool and spa area *tennis courts (indoor and outdoor) *bike rental service *guided hiking tours from monday to friday (summer and winter) *family packages Most of the guests book the half board arrangement and enjoy the wonderful breakfast buffet, the afternoon snack and the different menus and theme nights in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rauriserhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rauriserhof Hotel Rauris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing