We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Haus Karl's Ruh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Haus Karl's Ruh
Ranked #1 of 28 Ehrwald B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Recently returned from 5 nights in Ehrwald staying with Gary and Evelyn (and Heidi). Very welcoming. Lovely room. Very clean. Lots of snow so fantastic powder skiing too. Most of the other guests were returning for umpteenth time and we could understand why as there is nothing even vaguely negative to say about the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JandC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your positive comments.

Returning guests are our best advert and the best indication that we are getting things right, however we won't become complacement and will continue to renovate and improve to be sure that all our guests find us as welcoming as you did.

We hope to be able to welcome you to Ehrwald again,

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
44
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Haus Karl's Rue in December last year for a snowboarding trip. Gary and Evelyn were very helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the ground floor ensuite. It was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was great - fruit, cereal, meat, cheese, bread etc. There is a common room with Bristish TV, games, DVD's and books.

Evelyn works for one of the ski resorts and was very helpful, organising my rental for a good price.

I will definately be coming back to visit Gary and Evelyn, and their lovely lab Heidi!

thanks for a great stay guys!!

Danni and Ryan

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor en-suite. You might expect it to be noisy but it was very quiet. I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle_S876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Inhaber at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Dear Danni and Ryan,

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and will be visiting us again!

In addition to the Gäste/TV room we have now added a gym/fitness room for our guests which you can try out next time you visit Haus Karl's Ruh.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and very best wishes,

Evelyn & Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Gary and Evelyn clearly put a lot of effort into making their B&B comfortable, clean and welcoming.
All the excellent reviews are true and well deserved.
Stayed 3 nights and felt welcome, at ease and at home.
We look forward to our next trip to Haus Karl's Ruh.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipandAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We do work hard to ensure Haus Karl's Ruh is clean, comfortable and most importantly welcoming for our guests and clearly we are achieving this for you to state that you felt "welcome, at ease and at home".

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed with Gary and Evelyn for a second time in December 2012. Just like our first stay, the welcome was warm, the rooms were spotless and we didn't want to leave. We really enjoyed our stay and are thinking of returning for a third time. Gary and Evelyn gave us all the advice we needed about the local area including ski runs, travel information and the best local restaurants. We would highly recommend staying at Haus Karl's Ruh. Gary and Evelyn thoroughly deserve the positive feedback they have received

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superhans082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and most especially your recommendation of 'Haus Karl's Ruh'. The fact that you will be visiting us again soon is recommendation enough for us!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon,

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

2 week ago we arrived to Ehrwald, Gary an Evelyn was very firendly,we only stay 2 to night and its was rainy all time, but we love any second.
very clean , very good breakfast ,very recomended, we will be back

Family Harari

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dror h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear Family Harari,

We are very sorry that you were so unlucky with the weather during your stay with us, but pleased that you enjoyed yourselves and plan to return!

Thank you for your kind comments and also for recommending us to other guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in Ehrwald,

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights travelling back to UK from Italy. Excellent accommodation, friendly and helpful hosts in a stunning location. Close to a beautiful village, Gary & Evelyn recommended us where to eat and what to do during the day of our stay. Our room was super, very clean and well appointed, with great views. Breakfast was excellent.
We could not have asked for more and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your review which is so appreciative of the location of Ehrwald and the views from our rooms! As I've said in response to previous reviews, Ehrwald really is a beautiful village in a stunning location and it's a real pleasure for us when our guests agree.

We are glad you had a "brilliant stay" and hope that you will return for another visit at some time in the future.

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked a week at Haus Karl's Ruh back in November based on the 100% excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and are pleased to say, unsurprisingly, that the reviews were correct. We had a wonderful week in Austria helped by the virtually continuous sunshine and temperatures in the low 30's.

Gary and Evelyn are excellent hosts and make you very welcome in their home and are always available with tips on where to go and what to do. We were in a room with an ensuite and balcony with spectacular views of the valley and surrounding mountains. The room was very clean and spacious, the shower brilliant and the beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was very good and we were always asked if we needed anything else, but with the variety of choice we were more than happy. The cost of the room was excellent value.

Ehrwald and the surrounding area is just beautiful and we didn't travel too far from our base finding villages, mountains and lakes nearby to explore. There are plenty of restaurants and bars in Ehrwald and a supermarket and we found the cost of eating out lower than expected.

As this was our first trip to Austria we weren't sure what to expect, but can highly recommend a visit staying at Haus Karl's Ruh. Thank you Gary and Evelyn (and Heidi!!).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bearandbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauskarlsruh, Owner at Haus Karl's Ruh, responded to this review, 3 September 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and complimentary review of Haus Karl's Ruh and Ehrwald!

We are pleased that you enjoyed your first trip to Austria and that the weather was so good for you. When Gary mentioned to me that you normally travel to mediterranean countries I was very concerned that you may be disappointed with Ehrwald but, as you say, we have many beautiful mountain lakes which are just as beautiful as sandy beaches when the weather is nice!

We are glad that you felt your room was "excellent value" and that you enjoyed the views from your balcony and also that you enjoyed the breakfasts we serve.

It was lovely to meet you and we hope very much that you will visit Ehrwald again!

Best wishes
Evelyn and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ehrwald
0.2 mi away
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof
0.2 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
#3 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alpen Residence
Hotel Alpen Residence
#2 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Leading Family Hotel & Resort Alpenrose
0.3 mi away
Sonnenspitze Hotel
Sonnenspitze Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pension Tannenhof
Hotel Pension Tannenhof
#10 of 12 in Ehrwald
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Karl's Ruh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Karl's Ruh

Property: Haus Karl's Ruh
Address: Laehngraben Umgebung 8 | Tirol, Ehrwald 6632, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ehrwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Ehrwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haus Karl's Ruh is a small family run guest house in Ehrwald in the Austrian Tirol.We are located in the heart of the village, 5 minutes walk from the village centre & ski lifts, with the panoramic Wetterstein Range as our backdrop. The house was handed down to us by my Uncle & so we have an in depth knowledge of the village & the surrounding areas. Due to our location within the Zugspitz Arena we are an excellent base for walkers & climbers during in the summer months & ski/snowboard enthusiasts in the winter. The Bavarian castles of King Ludwig, Schloss Neuschwanstein & Schloss Linderhof, are 40 minutes drive away. Munich is within easy reach either by train or car & we are ideally placed for beer enthusiasts wanting to visit the 'Oktober Fest'. Innsbruck is a 50 minute drive away & Italy & Switzerland are also within driving distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Haus Karl's Ruh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haus Karl's Ruh Ehrwald, Austria - Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing