We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer feels like a family hotel for families-Now rather like a badly managed professional outfit targeting families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ehrwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

last summer I lauded the Tiroler Hof in this forum. The most charming management team was ousted and one wonders why. Bettina, the daughter of the owner and Luke, her husband put together a brilliant and motivated service team that thought and worked as a team. The chefs passion for food was evident, the service present when you want them to be present and in recess otherwise. Happy days…and past times! Nowadays: mediocre kitchen, convenience food, over present service lacking attitude and team spirit. I'm not asking for perfection but the benchmark the new team has to meet is very high. It no longer feels like a family hotel - it feels like a badly managed professional outfit targeting families. We miss the old team dearly...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Nik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2013

totally lived up to all our expectations. Suite was spacious, child care was great. spa etc fantastic. ski school were great with the kids. We will def be coming again. Not the cheapest but totally worth it. We are a family of 6 who are all new skiing and we all had a great time. maybe the slopes arent for those looking for extensive runs but we were more than happy for the week.

Room Tip: we had a suite room 330 but only needed if you are a big family - everyone else i spoke to was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominique h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

we stayed in February 2013, during half term, and we were among several families from the UK, which were visiting this hotel for the first time (as in, usually they hardly have any guests from the UK or anywhere but Germany, Austria, Switzerland and the Netherlands).

The hotel is ok, nice in its own very traditional tyrolean style - but it's very old (by the young owner's own admission) and needs a lot of work done. given the impracticability of gutting and refurbishing it completely, problems in the rooms are being fixed little by little, which means they put patches here and there but apply no real solution. So overall it feels a bit stale and various things are in need of repair (such as door handles, windows, room separators etc). also, the layout is very bizarre, with a sprawling underground level where everything ranging from playroom to kitchen, stockroom, gym and hardware room finds it place, next to one another. This does not always make sense and sometimes is potentially dangerous: eg the soft play area is next to the hardware room where screwdrivers, hammers, nails and all sorts of other tools are left unsupervised. children young as 3-4 often run past that room alone and could easily get hurt. On one occasion I myself opened a door I shouldn't (have whilst looking for the ski room) and very nearly hurt myself by falling off a step 50cm high. It was pitch black so I don't know what that room was: my point being that a door leading to a pitch-black room with a big step should have been locked.

Cleanliness was ok but on more than one occasion we found pieces of food under the bed or in the folds of the sofa. It is a hotel where children roam free and probably eat everywhere and at all hours - but precisely for that reason it would need a bit more care when cleaning.

There was no outdoor swimming pool available during our stay, because it is only operational in Summer (however it didn't say so on website, which was a huge disappointment for us, who were prepared to pay the premium for this hotel for things like wi-fi in every room and outdoor swimming pool). It is unfortunate that a hotel owned by a native English-speaker has a website that is only partially in English; throughout the hotel all signs and directions are in German only.

The excellent wellness area was empty and underutilised most of the time. when i used it on a couple of occasions the sauna would not be turned on at the time it was supposed to. We also used the indoor swimming pool every day, and thought it was far too cold for the children to play in for any length of time - it was barely ok for adults.

The children facilities were very large and pretty well organised, with lots of activities on offer (including quite a choice for older children, eg pool table, ping pong and video games). One important thing we noticed though, was that the door of the main playroom was not locked and didn't have any safety button to prevent young children from running out. This is all fine.... until there's an accident, and indeed I've never seen anything like this in other KinderHotels (it's a very easy thing for a 4-5 year old to push a normal glass door open, not close it and inadvertently let out a 1-2 year old who may be barely walking). On our second day my 2 year old did indeed run out of the playroom this way whilst we were having lunch, and we found him outside the playroom, in the main living room, luckily harmlessly playing on his own.

Having said all this, the food was excellent and service at the restaurant was more than adequate for a 4 star hotel. Tirolerhof is in a very nice little valley and if you value the ski in ski out experience it is superb - the chairlift is literally 90 meters away. Skiing quality is not high and will not keep an expert skier entertained for long - but then again if your goal is to be with your children and ski for only a few hours a day then it's perfectly ok.

Finally, a word about the ski school. Although it is not strictly speaking under the same management as the hotel, the school is owned by the sister of the hotel owner and many staff are shared between the two businesses. so it's fair to say they are closely connected and the school evidently gets a lot of its clients from the hotel. Sadly, it is very poorly run. Every morning a parent would have to find his/her own child's teacher, among another 50 screaming people trying to do the same. The result was of course a lot of confusion. Most teachers were not dependable and would not take any responsibility (except for Ari, who was excellent). Some parents had a smooth experience of it, but I for example, would be told every morning that my child had no place in any one group (until I myself found him one) even though he had been booked for four months. Other children were put in a group with teachers refusing or unable to speak English. One teacher was left, alone, with 18 children around 5 years of age, which is plain dangerous. And, worst of all, a 6-yr old child was "forgotten" on top of the mountain, at the end of the chairlift. Thankfully he was able to call his mum on the mobile and say where he was....

Was it a pleasant holiday? Yes. Would I go back to the same place? No.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floors, with a balcony and no restricted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank toninarocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed for a week over half-term and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay.

We had a two-bedroom suite which was perfect for us and our 2 children. Plenty of room in the lounge for the kids to play as well. Although with so much for the kids to do downstairs we did not spend too much time in the room.

The room was comfortable and other than the fact that we had single beds I could have no complaints.

The food was good quality and plentiful with a large variety of choices. The kids loved the fact that there was always ice-cream and chips available!

Our 4 year old was at ski school in the morning. There were too many kids in the class so too long was spent standing around and she got bored. We booked her private lessons and by the end of the week she was able to ski very well.

Our 2 year old spent a lot of time in the kids club which he really enjoyed. The staff in the kids club were attentive and caring and kept the kids entertained.

The indoor pool was cold but refreshing and the sauna's were a great place to relax.

As a good skier I found the slopes in the immediate vicinity quite dull but with a short bus ride there is more advanced skiing available.

All in all, a great place to spend a vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelbyville_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Everything about our stay was first-class. Attentive and friendly, yet discreet service, perfect. Wouldn't know where to begin with the food... so much of it and so so good! It is a great hotel for families, but there is also plenty of room for couples who are looking for a bit of r&r. We loved it and Luke & Betti are fantastic hosts!

Room Tip: The new suites at the top of the hotel have spectacular panoramic views of the mountains; so silent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Tiroler Hof is a fabulous place to unwind, with or without kids. It is a true family hotel in all aspects. It is family run in the 3rd generation by Bettina, who is the grand daughter of the founder and Luke, her husband, They are the perfect hosts and seem to be good managers as the multilingual and dedicated crew seems to be rather happy working there as an integrated team – a very pleasant experience to be cared for by highly motivated staff, not a given these days!
Another aspect of family hotel is that many regular guests spent winter and/or summer holidays in the Tiroler Hof for the last 3 family generations. I just met a horse-back riding friend incidentally - first I met her on some summer holidays when we where in our very early teens. Now both with kids, spous and the remainder of our parents (who brought us there initially some 40 years ago), we spent rather entertaining evenings at the bar (without or parents of course) and our kids got on well. All 4 of them enjoyed the stay as much as we did, back then and now. I am sure, family generations to follow will be regular guests just like the last 3 are today.
Single case? Not at all, I know of at least 3 other cases of family generations coming to the Tiroler Hof. As a matter of fact, the family hotel Tiroler Hof is beyond kids entertainment and a real rarity!
Food is served practically all day, staring off with a brilliant breakfast, yummy lunch and if you miss it – dig into the savoury snack buffets, salad bar (which is on from lunch to dinner) and some cake, ice cream with tea, coffee and soft drinks as much as you like. Dinner is another high light for foodies, a delicious 4 course menu, buffet with a rich variety of nibbles, 2 soups and a fantastic main course with 3 options (meat, fish, veggie), garnished with an accordion playing chef who performs occasionally, entertaining the guests after cooking these delightful meals.
If you think, the price sounds ambitious-think twice-if you like to relax and even have kids who want to be entertained all day so that you can take a breather without thinking about how many ice creams and soft drinks you need to pay for at the end of your stay. They even provide you with buggies, mountain bikes, ruck sacks at no extra cost, even regular or special baby food including equipment like baby phones and kettles are provided. Inevitably, you will come to the conclusion that the price is reasonable and warranted for the high, quality options given to you including a caring staff that make a hotel a home.

Room Tip: i'll recommend the rooms on the top floor, taking a bath with a view to the mountains with your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominik v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We loved our time here. Very very family friendly with a "kids club" to help with childcare but still somehow managing to be romantic (a whirlpool bath in our room with a view of the mountains helped). First-rate food and attentive but low-key staff. We had a family suite which was very well thought out, like an apartment minus the kitchen. Good location for skiing, though the ski area is not hugely challenging for experienced skiers. Perfect for beginners/kids though. All in all a lovely place where we felt very at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garethmammal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ehrwald
0.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Spielmann
2.1 mi away
Tiroler Zugspitze Aktiv & Familienresort
6.5 mi away
Hotel Kaysers Tirolresort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sonnenspitze Hotel
Sonnenspitze Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ehrwald
71 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Post
Hotel Post
#1 of 12 in Lermoos
421 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wellness Sporthotel Hotel Alpenhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof

Address: Reinhard Spielmann-Strasse 16, Ehrwald 6632, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Ehrwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ehrwald
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ehrwald
Price Range: £107 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ehrwald in Tyrol's beautiful Ausserfern in families and Wellness Hotel Tirolerhof. Your holidays in the Tyrolean Zugspitze Arena starts today. Extravagant spa hotels there are already countless and all out do each other with design , design and architecture. The Tirolerhof falls with his offer and his special family atmosphere out of the ordinary. " Genuine hospitality " for over 50 years. The very special way here to relax and enjoy making the Tirolerhof to a place of peace and tranquility. LUXURY we call our unique location , directly at the foot of the Zugspitze , and the dreamlike tranquility combined with a high-quality equipment , which leaves little to be desired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Odigeo so you can book your Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Family Wellnesshotel Tirolerhof Ehrwald, Austria - Tirol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing