We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smell of Phantoms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rolls-Royce Museum

Rolls-Royce Museum
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Dornbirn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
173 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Smell of Phantoms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Nice collection on 3 levels. At least 100 cars, most of them from the 1920-1950 decades. Most of the cars are nicely renovated, but some of them are under renovation. My only concern is: they want to show too many too similar cars, and at the end of the visit it's impossible to recall what beauties you really met with.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ArthurSmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    24
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a must visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

if you are a rolls Royce fan then this is a MUST as there are masses of fully restored and not so fully restored cars, there is a work shop on site, there are also a few old motorbikes on show. stop for lunch or a drink next door, especially if you have walked up from the town . then walk up to the gorge

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An interesting distraction”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

This guy clearly loves his Rolls Royces. The museum contains dozens of mainly 1920s & 1930's examples packed in to a three storey warehouse. Some of the cars are works in progress & the second floor contains the more presentable examples. Both my wife and I enjoyed walking around the cars, but I did find that they were not very well indexed to the English guide that we had, making it difficult to determine the type and history of each car. Also, while the viewer can get very close to the vehicles, the cars are too tightly packed together to be able to get a good view of them. On the third floor there is a display of Rolls-Royce bric a brac. Overall worth a visit if you have more than a passing interest in cars.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“For car lovers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband definitely enjoyed the biggest collection of Roll Royce cars in the world to the full, for me it was interesting to see but nothing out of the ordinary. We found the place with navigation otherwise I think it would be difficult to find the place which is on the outskirts of Dornbirn. The museum is on three floors. On the two floors there are cars, on the third floor you can have an authentic English tea in a tearoom.There is some furniture and china with pictures of the British royal family members on the same floor. If you want to take pictures, you have to buy a ticket on top of the entrance fee but I am not sure that it is worth it as the cars are close to one another and it would be difficult to take a photo. On an extremely hot day it was an escape for me but otherwise I don´t think I would enjoy it as the exhibition is mainly for car lovers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seen one 1926 Rolls, seen them all”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is a wonderful museum and is apparently the biggest Rolls Royce museum in the world, so I'm not sure why it is here. When you walk in, after the wow factor declines it becomes a case of ground hog day. The cars are beautifully maintained and presented but they are parked side by side so you can't even stick your head in through many of the windows. Most vehicles are from the mid 1920s which is testament to the owners commitment to their preservation however it could be well complimented with a wider variety of aged vehicles. Still worth a visit but if it is out of your way, weigh up the odds. The charge 10 euros to take photos which is a bit steep.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dasboot_871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rolls-Royce Museum also viewed

 
Dornbirn, Vorarlberg
 

Been to Rolls-Royce Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing