We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Devetashka Cave

Devetashka Cave
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Lovech
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Europe
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After seeing a picture of this cave, I've planned a trip to visit it.

The cave is situated close to the city of Lovech but getting there may be a bit tricky if you cannot read Cyrillic, in order to understand all the signs. Unfortunately, Google navigator seems to be not so accurate in that area, helping us to get lost a couple of times :). Fortunately, it was not a big issue to finally find our way.

Don't quit visiting the cave just because you may waste a few minutes trying to find you way. It really worth it :). Devetashka is impressive!

If you find yourself in the area, you may want to go to Krushunski waterfall too. It is at a short drive away and it is not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishaellla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burgas, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

After reading about this cave a few years ago I've always wanted to visit. Finally, we were in the right area this summer.

The cave is easy to find, just a couple of minutes of the main road past and well signposted. There is a small charge to enter but we were lucky enough that the man at the gate didn't ask for anything off us.

We expected a bit of a walk from the car park to the cave so we were very surprised that after a very easy 5 minute walk we were there. The cave is easily accessible even for people with mobility issues.

Some areas of the cave were cordoned off due to the breeding bats but this did not effect our enjoyment. The cave was very busy with a coach of visitors and a large school group there at the same time as us but the cave is large so it wasn't over crowded or noisy.

I would recommend visiting if you are in Bulgaria

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GretelRatzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible and awe-inspiring gem in BG”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I saw this cave in a magazine on the plane over to Sofia and decided at that point to add this cave onto our road trip list for our holiday immediately. Relatively difficult to find so have your route planned out. When we got there we were mesmerised by the sheer scale of this beautiful cave. A brilliant place to take in all of nature's glory! The only shame is that the expendables film set has had a negative impact on the wildlife there. Certainly worth a visit though!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
86 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Majestic”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The cave itself is not easy to spot from the road,but when you get inside you are amazed at how big it actually is. There is a small house near the entrance,so it hits you right away. The rays of the Sun,that come through the holes in the cave's ceiling make it even more beautiful. You can spot many different species of bats and further inside there are ruins,that are also interesting. You can only visit the cave during a 4 month period,I believe,so make sure you check before you go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Fantastic place featured in "The Expendables 2"!”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I’ve heard a lot about this cave even before the movie was made. This time when we were visiting Bulgaria we decided to go there. It is absolutely unique place. We’ve seen a lot of underground caves in USA and Bulgaria, but this is one of a kind. The cave is the home of many different spices of bats and other animals, the sign was showing that there are 45 kinds of animals. Only part of the cave is accessible. Great place to visit, but limited times to visit; as far as I remember June thru September (please check before you head there, I saw a sign in front of the cave with this information). There is a short walk from the place where you can park (this is not a parking lot, just a dirt road) right before the bridge, the fee was very small. We also visited the Krushunski Waterfalls, they are not far from the cave, may be 20 km or less. On the way to the cave we saw lots of other signs for waterfalls, but we didn’t go… Great place for pictures! This is the site that you can read more if you are interested: http://bulgariatravel.org/en/object/355/Devetashka_peshtera

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Guest654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Devetashka Cave also viewed

 
Lovech, Lovech Province
Lovech, Lovech Province
 

Been to Devetashka Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing