We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Les Truffieres - tres bien!”
Review of Les Truffieres

Les Truffieres
Ranked #3 of 9 Restaurants in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Les Truffieres - tres bien!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful meal here during our stay in Tremolat. The food was exceptional, so tasty and all cooked on site. There's no a la carte, you eat what you are given, but it's delicious and we had no complaints. Our little girl was given a special plate of cold meats, cheese and bread to eat alongside our meal which was fabulous.

The best thing I can say however, is that the proprietor and staff were simply wonderful. It was a friendly, warm place to eat and we very much enjoyed the whole experience. In fact I'd consider going on holiday to the same region just to eat here again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lady_luck_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    21
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I had a delightful dining experience at this out of the way countryside restaurant. It was more like eating in someone's home then a restaurant. The place was eclectic and cosy. The owner visited our table several times and we felt very much at home. The food was amazing and presentation beautiful. It included all the French favorites grilled duck, veggies, foie gras, and homemade cheese. It was a long leisurely meal and worth the trip!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank madiolosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“So different and so good”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This restaurant is to be found in a rural area in the Dordogne and is noticeably different the moment you arrive. You are welcomed by the proprietor with a drink and seated at a table. The atmosphere is relaxed and informal. The decor is interesting with posters and information fixed to the walls reflecting the owners travel and political interests. There is no printed menu. Indeed there is no choice as a fixed course meal is served with appropriate wine and aperitifs and other drinks included. Duck is prominent on any menu in this part of France and that is the case here. The courses are inventive and different and I would certainly return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank diandaveuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A gastromic haven in the woods”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We stayed in a house over a mile from this delightful restaurant located in the woods on the hill above Tremolat. We walked there through the woods which took about 20 minutes. It is not for the unfit and you need to allow plenty of time, leave the high heels at home, lot easier on the way back down.
The setting is magical and we ate in the gadren under an awning. It is a set menu and you need to like foie gras and duck, not a problem for us. We thoroughly enyoyed the meal seved by the owner Yannick who tempted us with course after course as we did not see a menu. At €30 per head for lunch to include an apero, wine and desert wine with the foie gras it is great value. If you are in the area check it out, it would be best to book beforehand. It is not hard to find as there are signposts on several roads approaching Tremolat. If you stay in or near the village why not ask for directions and walk there but wear your walking shoes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank El2012WexfordIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb gastronomic experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is the fourth year we have visited. Always a pleasure and a warm welcome. Do not visit if you are vegetarian. Set menu, including drinks, based upon local produce - Simply unsurpassed, better every year. We came here on our aniversary and they opened especially for us! - Highly recommended - basic French advised :-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_and_Lilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Truffieres also viewed

 
Le Buisson-de-Cadouin, Dordogne
Limeuil, Dordogne
 

Been to Les Truffieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing