We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Super staff who really cared. Service was excellent. Great breakfast, super grounds and if you do not want a full R&D dinner then the bistro served excellent food - pichet of wine, starter, main course and desert for cEUR40. Love the tea tray in the room. Very reasonably priced wine - EUR7 for a glass in the lounge. One of the best R&C hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ducati_enthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    77
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
68
230
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a different hotel every night in a cycling tour of the Dordogne and Le Vieux Logis was one of my favourites. The decoration of the rooms and public spaces is done with great style - something that is lacking in many hotels of this region! Our room was beautiful, with 2 windows overlooking the gardens and a pretty bathroom, also with a window (something I like very much in a hotel room).
Lovely pool. The only disappointment was their bistro restaurant across the road. Despite booking a table there months ago, and being guests of the hotel, we were offered the worst table in the house, right next to the loo, or an alternative in a cramped ante room. Our starter took nearly an hour to arrive, so we had slightly lost the will to live by the time it turned up (and had got through quite a lot of our wine!)
Next time I'll book the main restaurant within the hotel - one of the prettiest dining rooms I've ever seen.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank maximilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I cannot add any more to the great reviews for this hotel. The service, accommodation and food are all first rate. Its a great place to stay for a day or two, as the Dordogne is such a beautiful valley, but driving around can take a long time due to the twisty roads, so may I suggest a few days here and another few days or a week in Sarlat la Caneda, which is much more central to more of the attractions of the Dordogne Valley. Le Vieux Logis is a haven of calm and a wonderful place to spend a long weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadamJosephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Charming and interesting hotel with a variety of rooms. We stayed in an outer room which was decorated in an old India motif. Our first dinner was at the Bistro, also owned by the hotel, just steps away. The chef works out of a mini-kitchen extended into the room and my wife, who loves to cook, spent most of the evening watching him work his culinary charms and chatting with him. Great food and a great experience. The second night we ate in the hotel dining room, a beautiful room which many years ago was a stable, so many of the tables were in "stalls". Again, excellent food and service. Set your GPD for Tremolat for a fine relaxing experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joroahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A very nice place to stay in the tiny village of Tremolat. Food was excellent whether dining at the hotel or 200 metres away at the Bistro. This is a very old building so all the rooms are different and can be quite quirky. The staff are first rate,speak good english and nothing is too much trouble.
This a very rural part of France and can be quite deserted so a fair amount of driving to get to places.
Overall a good 4 night break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

It is rare to find modern big city 5 star standards outside of a big city. I find that sometimes in the country side, business owners take advantage of the fact that you really have no other choice within 100 km radius. So finding a place that strives to be the best even though they don't need to be is very rare. Best food I've had anywhere (Michelin rated star), US standards when it comes to customer service and friendliness (unheard of in France), and of course the beautiful location and amenities. Love this place and come here every holiday

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zalthawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, DC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

W spent four nights at this lovely place. The rooms are comfortable but could use a bit of sprucing up. The food is excellent and the service is efficient. The reception and restaurant staff are wonderful and we received many wonderful suggestions on interesting tours in the area. The place is charming and well worth a detour.

Room Tip: The junior suites are large and quite roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS6475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
14.5 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
9.8 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Property: Le Vieux Logis
Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing