We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a delightful revelation”
Review of Le Vieux Logis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Vieux Logis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“a delightful revelation”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

We spent three nights in this beautiful Relais & Chateaux in Tremolat. The grounds are exquisite and the lush setting is a haven of peace and quiet, the stuff of fairy tales. The Michelin-starred restaurant is wonderful as is the hotel-affiliated restaurant 'en face', which is just as popular and offers an excellent cuisine bourgeoise in a cadre on the main square of Tremolat. The 'natural' pool fits in well with the rustic decor, the defining theme of this particular R & C.
A perfect space from which to explore the Dordogne. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rweis2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    79
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
69
235
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfiled County, CT USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at Le Vieux Logis several years ago -- and it still has the same pluses and minuses. On the plus side, the grounds are lovely, the buildings are interesting and authentic, and the restaurant dinners are very good. Tea or drinks on the back terrace is a great way to end an afternoon.

On the negative side, rooms are wildly inconsistent. You can get a fabulous recently renovated spacious room, or a horrible closet done up in mildewed plaid -- all for the same price. Best bet is to request specific rooms. In general, I'd skip rooms in the out-buildings in front of the hotel, as well as those on the 3rd floor (although room 11 is Ok).

Service is very friendly but slow; the hotel seems understaffed. The same genial young man served as porter, waiter and bar-tender. Breakfast service in the very attractive dining room was almost non-existent.

All in all, we still enjoyed our stay, but I think there are a lot of small hotels in the region that could probably come close on charm (if not food) for a lot less.

  • Liked — The grounds and terrace
  • Disliked — The inconsistency of the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We spent one night at this hotel in a suite (number 25) which cost us 280 euros. Both bedroom and sitting room smelled so badly of damp that I hardly slept at all. It was indescribably bad. Because we were on the ground floor we couldn't even air the room during the night by opening the windows. To top it all the shower didn't work and the toilet blocked. Our complaint about all this to reception was greeted with polite indifference. The management must have been aware of the damp problem - it was obviously of some long standing - and yet they still let the room out. I wouldn't have made a dog sleep in those conditions.
The swimming pool - which should have been a treat in summer - was worryingly murky.
Positives included a lovely breakfast in an attractive restaurant.
My experience of hotels which belong to Relais et Chateaux suggests that at best they are restaurants 'with rooms' - at worst, they are bad restaurants with terrible rooms.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank CaptainScuttle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Truly wonderful with lovely quirky room and everything that you would wish for. One Michelin Rosette in Restaurant with delicious food and great service,non smoking so an additional bonus, dining room has a minstrels gallery (said to be a former tobacco drying building ). Breakfast was wonderful with everything you could possibly want exquisitely laid out and the best of the holiday. Lovely lounges to sit and relax and nice gardens too so all you could possibly want---will definitely return again.

  • Liked — Overall ambience
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b00jum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

What a very pretty and traditional building, grounds and rooms. Full of old world french charm with a liberal dash of modern amenities.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this most relaxing of hotels. The staff were excelent and the english speaking front desk staff went out of their way to help.
Main restaurant is superb in quality and looks and they move the whole thing outside under a lovely canopy of trees in the dry summer months. The food here is pretty gourmet and by no means cheap but the quality was excelent. The somellier was most helpful and what I liked was his personal recommendations were actually at the cheaper end of their extensive wine list. Their other restaurant is a bistro 'in the village' which is actually 2 minutes walk down their driveway. The food here was very good but it is very popular so you need to book pretty quick. A WORD OF WARNING....the other restaurant in Tremolat (not the Pizza one) was the most unwelcoming experience I have ever encountered in France. The man who seems to own it was extremely rude for no good reason and clearly did not like 'outsiders' or foreigners...I SUGGEST YOU AVOID.
The bedroom we had (#6) was in the main building up some tiny stairs and was very pretty and comfortable with windows on opposite walls over the front and the gardens. The rooms are not very modern in some aspects for example the shower attachment is the old style befitting the room i.e. on a cradle over the taps and not fixed to the wall etc etc.
The grounds are very pretty in a typically French way i.e. lots of trees plants and weeds and it fits in very well with the old relaxed building. They have a pool which is nice to sit by although it was a bit green when we say it.
All in all a lovely place with nice people BUT AVOID THAT OTHER RESTAURANT !

  • Liked — Relaxed elegance
  • Disliked — Some broken fittings
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Craven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 650 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2006

Tremolat is a charming, genuine Dordogne village, not a tourist showpiece. It became famous in 1972 as the setting for Claude Chabrol's classic thriller, Le Boucher, in which Stephane Audran played the village schoolteacher who gets rather too close to the village butcher, played by Jean Yanne. The school still stands on the main square, opposite the church and next door to the venerated Relais & Chateaux affiliate, Le Vieux Logis which has been rightly admired and appreciated in previous postings.

This hotel has some wonderful gardens, an inviting if chilly pool and the sort of rose-clad, wisteria-embraced ambience that only age can achieve. It is unquestionably a good address and worth the 330 Euros we paid for a suite which was in a block of four or five cottage-like accommodations. Ours (No.17) had a vaguely Raj-like decor, with Mughal bedcover, elephants and faux-ivory columns. It was a homely place to stay for three nights, with a decent bathroom that included a separate WC and walk-in shower. The suite overlooked a meadow rather than the main hotel gardens. There was proper room servicing, at breakfast and when you are at dinner. The reception staff were unfailingly nice and very helpful regarding local walks etc.

On our visit, however, there was a problem which started with kir royales on the terrace at 7.45pm. Our order for dinner was taken by 8pm. By 9pm no one had summoned us to our table or indeed summoned us to anything. So we walked into the restaurant. There was a bit of a kerfuffle and we were shown to a table next to the kitchen door. The design of the restaurant divided my wife and I - she quite liked it, I quite didn't. It had booths that resembled horse boxes and didn't quite meld with the tables on the floor, which were too close together. I didn't like the faux tapestries, either. But what really worried me was the staff - they were clearly in a state of complete chaos, to-ing and fro-ing, wondering which table had ordered what. It was amateur night. So after 90 minutes since ordering I started to complain and I am very good at that. The head waiter apologised deeply and blamed the chef for producing dishes far too complicated to produce for such numbers - the place was full. We eventually got our first course 100 minutes after ordering, then another 30 minutes to the main course, by which time we were tired, exhausted by the whole sorry spectacle and bored by the fussy, over-designed food. We didn't risk another hour for desert but they gave us some champagne as an apology.

Here is a place, recently awarded a single Michelin star and clearly in quest of a second without adding more kitchen staff to produce that food at an acceptable pace. The next night we ate at their bistro, had much better food and it only took an hour for the first course to arrive. We booked an outside table the next night but that was a mistake - the sun is merciless and as there were no inside tables we ate at the village auberge which was in the shade.

To sum up, then: a gorgeous place to stay, shame about the food and bev department.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2006

Tremolat is a charming River village. Vieux Logis is a perfect setting with service to match. Even if you are not staying in the hotel, by all means dine there. The food was exquisite...we were invited to speak with the chef, who proved amiable and tres talented. This is a gem of the Dordoge.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tremolat
1.8 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
165 reviews
14.5 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
223 reviews
14.3 mi away
La Chartreuse du Bignac
La Chartreuse du Bignac
#1 of 1 in Saint-Nexans
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
525 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
292 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Edward 1er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Vieux Logis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Vieux Logis

Property: Le Vieux Logis
Address: 24510 Tremolat, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Tremolat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tremolat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Vieux Logis 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Vieux Logis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Vieux Logis Hotel Tremolat
Le Vieux Logis Tremolat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing