We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveling with a baby.”
Review of L'Escale Cote Sud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
L'Escale Cote Sud
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence
Batemans Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Traveling with a baby.”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

L'escale cote sud catered very well for traveling with our 14month old son. We had a sea view room which was small but adequate enough for a porta cot. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was fabulous and fresh. Parking was a little difficult to find - its usually the last thing you think about, and trying to wheel a suitcase and carry a baby was annoying but we managed. I found the interior of the room hilarious.....tacky disco lights then a bedhead made out of awesome driftwood......at least someone got it half right!! Overall great but I really do think a little over priced.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simone V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    63
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
121
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

L'Ile Rousse is a quaint little town and most of the hotels are either side of the small beach. L'escale is as central as a hotel could get with bars, restaurants and shops all around it and the beach a 2 minute walk away. We stayed here for 3 nights in a sea view room in the smaller older hotel. The hotela nd bar staff were really lovely. The breakfast is continental and fresh. Cheese, salami, fresh fruit, yoghurts and variety of drinks.


Our room was on the top floor with a door opening onto a small balcony right on the seafront. The bath merged seamlessly into the bedroom and featured a jacuzzi.

After we left Ile Rousse we realised that we had left a couple of items in the room. We phoned the hotel and they happily sent these back to London for us. Thank you L'Escale de Sud (especially Christelle), you are fab!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eat1Drink2Travel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This s a modern and well designed hotel smack bang in the centre of the village and meters from the beach.
We initially booked a city view (village view) and the room was lovely, but tiny, really tiny. The aircon was noisy and in our faces and so we couldn't sleep at all for two nights. Not a good start to a holiday. The noise from outside is bad if the window is open, so that was no good (but did show how excellent the noise insulation was !)
We paid extra to move to a sea view and wow was it worth it!! Much bigger room, quieter, tiny but adequate balcony with a little table and two chairs. Divine. Now, the jacuzzi above us kept us awake here for a while but that wasn't the hotel\s fault. Although, there should be a rule about night time use and hours etc.

There is a safe, a wall hairdryer, good towels, toiletries, comfortable beds - all good.
The highlight really was the breakfast which is leisurely and generous. The staff are so helpful too - and they provided gluten free crackers for the coeliac hubby - all good again! Breakfast can be in or outdoors, all stylish and slightly Eastern looking with giant Buddas and so no, very relaxing. The outdoor area is so close to the sea you can almost touch it:)

On our last night we were offered (not for free now) a room in their other building twenty meters down, for an upgraded experience and this room was a big wow - ohmygoodness! If you have the cash, go for it, but really the ordinary sea view a just lovely. I can imagine the luxury of the suites.... sigh...

No pool, but that is not a drawback, don't discount this hotel on that basis as we nearly did.
The shower cubicles while pretty, are badly plumbed and designed so do be careful that you don't burn yourself on the taps while washing. In the giant luxury room though this was not an issue and the shower is the size of a small house.
Well..
Also the luxury room had two fridges and a proper hairdryer, and a lot more storage. Beautifully decorated.

So I thoroughly recommend and would gladly return. Jacqui and Chrystal (apologies for the probably mis spell) were super helpful and good humoured - and indeed humerous!

Room Tip: Get a sea view. For sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zogabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is a design modern hotel bang in the centre or l’Ile Rousse. On one side, you have a busy pedestrian street and on the other side a fantastic sea view. The hotel is modern and is very well decorated.

We had a room with a sea-view and a balcony which was great for an aperitif before going out for dinner. The room itself was a little on the small side, but was fine. It was spotless and well decorated.

We found the service in the hotel and bar to be very friendly.
Poor pillows. It was also very warm despite the air-conditioning set at 20 degrees.

Our neighbour’s Jacuzzi in the suite upstairs woke us up at 03.30. I know it was the neighbour’s fault, but it should be hotel policy not to operate hot-tub after a certain time. The receptionist apologised and was kind enough to offer us a reduction.

The breakfast was fair, but nothing to write home about for the price we paid.

The bathroom was quite small, with a tiny shower cubicle. Be careful you don’t burn yourself on the taps when showering in this confined space!

If this has been helpful, click "yes"

Room Tip: The rooms with a view are much smaller than those without. The view and balcony is worth it if you e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a well furnished, good sized, room with a small terrace overlooking the sea. The Jucuzzi bath in the large bedroom area was a nice feature although somewhat impractical if you just wanted a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel has a contemporary bar/dining area overlooking the bay and breakfast here is a pleasure. The hotel is well located a short walk from the local sandy beach, with shopping in the town at your doorstep, along with a good many restaurants and bars. A few paces down the street you can find L'Escale's excellent companion restaurant serving up all the usual Corsican specialities. I'le Rousse is conveniently located for some great sightseeing along the surrounding coastline to Calvi and Porto as well as the high mountain areas inland. Good value, especially when we stayed, just outside the peak season. We will surely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed at L'esacle cote sud during June 2012. The hotel room was modern and very clean. The location is perfect: Just by the beach, but at the same time right in the city. The hotel offers free wi-fi, which was great.

The breakfast was very good, however the manager of the hotel restaurant offered me some flat bread he guaranteed was gluten free, although its ingredients was mainly water and wheat (I have coeliac disease and get very sick if I eat wheat). If you have any food allergies I will advice you to be careful if you eat breakfast at the hotel restaurant since you obviously can't trust the hotel personal with your food allergies.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marisoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel has a perfect location literally a stones throw away from the beach, and its right in the heart of the village where all the restaurants are. I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and thought it was excellent value for money, particularly given what we were paying for other accomodation on the island.

All the staff we encountered were very friendly, cheerful and helpful. The breakfast was nice and the view in the morning is really nice. I rarely go back to the same place twice but I woud definitely stay here again if I go back to L'Ile Rousse.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Melsh81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ile Rousse
0.3 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.2 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Santa
Hotel La Santa
#5 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liberata
Liberata
#4 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
#9 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
53.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Ajaccio Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Escale Cote Sud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Escale Cote Sud

Property: L'Escale Cote Sud
Address: 22 rue Notre Dame, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ile Rousse
#2 Family Hotel in Ile Rousse
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ile Rousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Escale Cote Sud 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of the old town and at few metres only from the beach of fine sand, the hotel is determinedly contemporary. Its design with its pure lines, its intimate spaces, as well as the noble materials will seduce you. For your moments of relaxation or restauration, the Lounge Bar "Le Rendez Vous" and our restaurant "L'Escale" are opened every day of the week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your L'Escale Cote Sud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Escale Cote Sud Corsica/Ile Rousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing