We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday”
Review of Residence Dary

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Dary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Residence Dary is a great find and I defy anyone not to be delighted with the gorgeous apartments.The accommodation is to a very high specification and beautifully laid out. The kitchen area is modern and well equipped and there is a huge terrace with each apartment.
Maud, who manages the redisence, is charming and efficient and goes out of her way to help. She printed out the Ille Rousse to Calvi railway timetable for us and organised a delivery of fresh baguettes. She will also recommend and book restaurants. She provided us with chilied drinks on arrival as we checked in.
The pool is lovely and was always quiet and the beach is right beside the apartment. A perfect set up.
A five minute walk into the little town takes you to a good selection of shops, bars and restaurants.
I recommend a visit very highly.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdinburghMrsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Residence Dary
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

...or as close to perfect as makes no difference. These apartments are exactly as described on the website. The standard of presentation and equipment is excellent; there has been no skimping. The furnishings are tasteful and functional. The kitchen is well equipped with good cooking facilities, a large fridge-freezer, plenty of crockery and utensils. The living room has a high quality flat screen TV with a good range of channels from a Canal + satellite package, though there are few English-speaking channels (take some DVDs if you want to watch at night) and there is a good music system with an iPod dock. There are two more TVs in the bedrooms, good beds and lots of wardrobe space. The manageress, Maude, is kind, friendly and very efficient and organises a morning delivery of fresh bread and croissants. The beach is a minute’s walk and a good selection of restaurants is ten minute’s walk away. The place is perfect for a beach holiday and the private heated pool is lovely with a Jacuzzi on the side. If you have a car (recommended) you can be in fabulous mountain scenery in 15 minutes and an excellent supermarket in about the same time. We loved it and would recommend it without qualification.

Room Tip: Try to book an apartment on the first floor, rather than the ground floor, because the view is bette...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarzanstripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our second visit to the Residence and we were just as impressed this year. Last year we visited in June and were a bit apprehensive about visiting in high season but have to say we enjoyed it more as the town and restaurants had more atmosphere. We never tired of the view out to the crystal clear waters and didn't really want to write another review as we'd like to keep this beautiful place to ourselves! All we can say is love it, love it, love it! Thank you Monsieur Dary for creating this amazing place, we will return.

Room Tip: Room 5 has the best views
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from an idyllic week's stay at Residence Dary. It was absolutely superb in every way. We were travelling with our two children - a baby and a toddler - and the apartment worked perfectly. We had a beautiful spacious terrace overlooking the stunning turquoise waters of the mediterranean (the sunsets are some of the best we've ever witnessed). The apartment was really well equipped and completely immaculate, and there was a maid service and a change of towels every day. We were so impressed with the owners' attention to detail and loved the early morning croissants delivered to our door (although if you do want to venture into town, we found a very nice boulangerie, Tomasini, just off the market square which I would recommend for sandwiches for lunch).

The Residence is incredibly well situated, just yards from a beautiful sandy beach with clear shallow waters for the kids to paddle in. The centre of L'Ile Rousse was an easy 10 minute stroll along the shore (on a path which was suitable for the buggy!) and there are lovely restaurants all along. We flew into Calvi (from Stanstead with Corsican Places) which was a straightforward 30 minute drive away. There are several large supermarkets in town which stocked everything we needed for the kids.

We had a truly fantastic holiday! The Residence Dary is a gem and felt like a top 5 star hotel, but with more space! We have already pencilled in our booking for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlexandJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed for one week last summer and found these apartments perfect in every way. The location is wonderful: lovely sea views but the advantage of the large beautifully maintained pool if the sea is too rough for swimming. Plenty of loungers and parasols for quiet sunbathing and reading as an alternative sometimes to the pretty beach. In the evening it is a pleasant stroll to romantic and friendly restaurants with tables literally at the water's edge, or into the town for music and people-watching with a coffee and liqueur beneath trees in the square.
The apartments are wonderfully light and spacious; they have every amenity with no expense spared on quality fittings, linen, utensils etc. We took advantage of the free cleaning facility: the cleaners whisked in every day discreetly at a time to suit us and kept everywhere spotless and fresh. The owners could not have been more helpful: fresh bread was arranged for delivery to us every day in time for breakfast and they helped us greatly with our follow-on travel arrangements.
We have stayed all over Corsica; love this beautiful island but this is the best accomodation by the sea that we have ever found. Expensive but well worth it. Booked again this year and can't wait!

Room Tip: For adults without children the first floor offer the best view
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed one week at Residence Dary last summer with our two children (8 and 12) and had a fantastic time there. The residence is extremely pleasant, and in line with the website description. The owner is present but nevertheless discrete, but when you need some help on anything (the flat, a restaurant to go to, a place to visit) he is always keen to provide assistance. We have already booked again for two weeks next summer, what else is there to say...
Looking forwards to our next stay at Residence Dary

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacques_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

As soon as we saw Residence Dary being advertised, we thought "Wow we must stay there". On arrival, we were apprehensive that they would not live up to our expectations, but we were not disappointed. They were amazing! A warm welcome came from the owner Julian Dary and his assistant Edith, who speaks perfect English.
The apartments are spotlessly clean with every gadget available, and the views of the med are awesome.Everything is 5 star, from the pristine wine glasses, crockery and cutlery to the fluffy white towels and premium bedding. There is a cleaning service but we did not use it, just loaded up the dishwasher every night.
In June, Ile Rousse is very quiet with many restaurants empty but at least the service was good! Food is excellent and not too pricey. There is a small supermarket and lovely patisseries to buy your baguettes and croissants.
We cannot praise the apartments and their wonderful staff enough. Yes they are quite expensive, but if you want 5 star accommodation in a delightful resort, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a first floor apartment for panoramic views of the sea and town.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ile Rousse hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
466 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Escale Cote Sud
L'Escale Cote Sud
#4 of 18 in Ile Rousse
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liberata
Liberata
#6 of 18 in Ile Rousse
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Perla Rossa
Hotel Perla Rossa
#14 of 18 in Ile Rousse
67 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Dary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Dary

Address: quartier Gineparo, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Ile Rousse
Price Range: £236 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Residence Dary 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront, 250 meters from the heart of the Ile-Rousse, the Residence Dary, located in the immediate vicinity of a white sand beach, is home in a very comfortable, 4 people in each of its six luxury apartments.The decoration and furniture design, offer you high quality services, with private terraces enjoying a sea view, heated pool, jacuzzi, hotel services, personalized services, for an unforgettable holiday in Corsica.Description of our Suites Apartments :-1 Living room in front of sea, with a LCD flat screen TV (Canal + and Canal Sat)-1 American Kitchen fully equipped open to living room : induction hob, fridge, freezer, oven, microwave, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, coffee machine, kettle, pressure cooker, mixer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Dary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Dary Corsica/Ile Rousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing