We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stuff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, very nice room with same bathroom. Nothing to complain... Nice aircon, view is good and balcony good for some sunbathing. No pool, dark hallway, rest was a-ok. Best thing was the diner. Nice restaurant, with pleassant staff. Good day menus, for good rate. Go there! Breakfast was also the best one we got in Corse. Value for your money!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sikkeman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    115
    34
    9
    7
See reviews for
47
143
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We've taken about 10 trips to L'Ile Rousse over the years; on the third one we discovered this hotel, and since then, we've never been tempted to stay anywhere else. The location is tops! The hotel is situated on an island that is connected to the town by a dam. A walk into town takes about fifteen minutes, over the dam and then along a lovely seaside promenade.

Going in the other direction, one can follow the road to the top of the small island where the L'Ile Rousse lighthouse is located. From up there, the view over the town is breathtaking, especially in the early morning light. Speaking of views, those having reserved a room with sea view (highly recommended!) are truly in for a treat: the hotel is buil right on the Mediterranean, and from the balcony that each room has, one has a glorious view of it.

The rooms are simple but very clean, and they all have A/C, free WiFi, and comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast buffet is great, though we wish they served real coffee instead of the drip variety.

One caveat: for people who are not very mobile, it may not be the best choice. Most of the rooms are one or two floors up, and there is no elevator. Also, the fifteen minute walk to town is not everyone's cup of tea, even though we enjoy it. Yes, you can take the car into town, but parking is a hassle and driving in town is, too). But for anyone who is reasonably mobile, this just has got to be the best place in L'Ile Rousse. Highly recommended!

By the way, we've just come back from Corsica and stayed at the La Pietra hotel from May 9 through May 12, but the photos we've added are from May 2012. There are more of our photos of L'Ile Rousse and other places in Corsica here: <http://photos.kiechle.com/corsica>.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkiechle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Everything was excellent, view of the ocean directly from our balcony, we could hear the waves at night when we went to sleep. Excellent location, water view and surrounded by natural environment. Super friendly, smiling staff, very accommodating to our needs. Big variety for the breakfast buffet, delicious! Clean and comfortable rooms. I would go back any day!

Room Tip: can't go wrong with a water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

I spent 3 lovely nights there. The hotel has a magnificent location, directly facing the sea, and has all the comforts. Rooms are clean, silent and modern. We decided to not having the breakfast there, and definetely is the best choice. The city is full of very good boulangerie where you can have suberb breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nareran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This hotel is right next to where the ferry comes in from mainland France. Our room had a really nice modern bathroom but the rest of the room decor need updating as well. Our view from the balcony overlooking the sea was fantastic
The French staff refused to speak English eventhough they understood what I said as they answered my question given to them in English but since we checked in late and left early and all was prepaid prior to our arrival, we did not need to communicate very much.
This old feud of French hating English and vice versa is getting very boring and old.

Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lune2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Arriving at the hotel, I was a amazed about the location: close to the lighthouse ant the end of a small peninsula. Disadvantage is that it is located next to the dock with the ferry, but that is out of sight when being in the hotel. The staff was really friendly, answering all questions and always there for a friendly conversation.
From the hotel is indeed a 15 minute walk, but if you don't mind walking it is a lovely walk, passing by the liitle harbour and having all the time to enjoy the scenery of the mountains and sea.
And the best part is the breakfast 'room', you can take a seat on the terrace which is overlooking the Mediterranean and the beaches. Both days I stayed in the hotel I was on my own having breakfast, enjoying the breakfast as a perfect way to start the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pmversteege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2006

Ile Rousse is a pleasant town on the busy north coast of Corsica.

This hotel is the ugly square building beyond the ferry port, on the way to the lighthouse. Views out of it are therefore much better than views of it. It’s a bit out of town although probably only 15 minutes level walk to the railway station and another five to ten minutes to the shops. The excellent location made up for any niggles with the hotel.

The room was comfortable and reasonably clean although the furniture on the balcony was so encrusted with sand that we suspected it had not built up in the last 24 hours. Likewise the dining room windows, which you could hardly see out of, which was a shame as the view would be superb. The hotel is a bit pricey for the lack of attention to cleanliness.

The buffet breakfast was plentiful although the hot drink machine was out of order which was inconvenient as the staff couldn’t really cope with serving coffee to all the guests. We gave the evening meal a miss as it was expensive and there are plenty of restaurants in town.

There is lots of free parking, and walking up to the lighthouse to watch the sun go down is a pleasant evening stroll. If you fancy a trip to Calvi, it is best to take the train, which goes right along the coast. The road goes further inland and is more fast and furious than anything else we encountered in Corsica.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ile Rousse hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Santa Maria
Best Western Santa Maria
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
427 reviews
0.5 mi away
L'Escale Cote Sud
L'Escale Cote Sud
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
216 reviews
0.4 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Casa Rossa
Hotel Casa Rossa
#14 of 18 in Ile Rousse
19 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel La Santa
Hotel La Santa
#6 of 18 in Ile Rousse
175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Davia
Hotel Davia
#4 of 18 in Ile Rousse
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Pietra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Pietra

Property: Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Address: Way of the Headlight | Chemin du Phare, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Pietra 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Pietra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Pietra
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra Corsica/Ile Rousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing