We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funtana Marina - we will come back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Funtana Marina
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Ile Rousse
Certificate of Excellence
Munich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Funtana Marina - we will come back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

Very nice place to stay at Ile Rousse, the hotel is situated on the mountainside with a panormaic view at the harbor and the sea. Nice, clean rooms and bath. All rooms have a balcony or a terrace. Nearly all rooms have seaview (also from the pool area). Breakfast is from 8 to 10 and is pretty simple: baguette, 3 types of cheese, 3 types of sausages and 3 types of jams, eggs and fruit salad. But its enough. Service is good, its better if you speak french however the staff tries hard to understand you. Guests are usually couples between 25-30 and over 40. Families with children are rather selten. This hotel is a peaceful place and children are unfortunatelly disturbing this peace.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anita-Munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    50
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
89
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Funtana Marina was a great hotel to base our stay in Ile Rousse. The air conditioned rooms were spotless and the staff were friendly and helpful. It's a relatively quiet family run hotel within walking distance (10 minutes down a hill) of Ile Rousse town centre. The pool area is very well maintained with great views across the bay. Good selection on the buffet breakfast - fruit, croissants, cereal etc. Excellent value for money and I would highly recommend it - surprised it's only 2 star!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2009

This hotel is run by a nice helpful family, is clean quiet and lovely for a relaxing holiday.
We were the only English couple there in late May which was wonderful.
The room was not big but adequate and the bathroom ok with an excellent power shower.
The hotel is a 10 minute trek to the town which had loads of good places to eat, ile rousse is a great place to stay and this hotel although basic is a perfect base. The swimming pool was warm clean and restful and had great views over the town The breakfast was again basic but we looked forward to it each morning we have no complaints what so ever about this hotel and would recommend to a friend

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mylillottile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We really enjoyed Ile Rousse and Corsica. Ile Rousse is a smallish seaside resort, but with enough going on to give it a bit of a buzz. Good restaurants in town - would oparticularly recommend L'Osteria in the town and A Pasturella in Monticello.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from town (fairly steep uphill) but really no problem unless you are elderly or not able to walk that kind of distance. The benefit is a great view of the town and the sea from the hotel rooms. The owners are very friendly and will advise you where possible.

Lots of interesting villages to visit in the vicinity - would particularly recommend Corbara and M Savelli's museum of local history (has to be seen to be believed!)

Slight downsides: room was pretty small and the bed was two singles pushed together rather than a double. But this is a 2* after all and was good value at €80 per night in September.

A nice hotel in a nice location - would recommend.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Siharris28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2007

The hotel is situated approx 2 KM outside the center of Ile Rousse in a residential area on the heights direction Bastia. If you are with your car it is convenient and not a problem. Without a car, have a courageous climbing upwards or use a taxi!.

The building is directed towards Ile Rousse and the sea and the 29 rooms on 2 or 3 floors have all view on the swimming pool and a splendid panorama on Ile Rousse and the sea. On the first and second floors you have a private balcony while on the ground floor you have a greater terrace access but it is not really private as others can pass in front. The rooms are clean and not too small. The only thing I regret is the lack of a little fridge and air-conditioning. (only 6 rooms are equipped with it). We had 2 fans but as we could open the window during the night (1st floor with private balcony) it was not a real problem.
There is no elevator.

A small garden around the outdoor swimming pool is well maintained and makes the whole cosy. A large private parking (free of charge) is available a few 30 meters from the hotel. During the night the parking is closed, but guests have access all the time with a code. The same applies for the hotel entrance after hours.

There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, with a terrace covered with plants giving place to approx 10 tables. The breakfast is in buffet style with cheese and some ham. There is a large choice of bread and cereals. To french norms it is plenty of choice.

For dinner, the choice is limited. Do not expect a top class restaurant. Food is fair and not expensive. (Some more spaghetti sauce would have been convenient) Of course it is easy but there plenty of restauranst in Ile Rousse.

The staff is overall friendly and helpful. No negative remarks on this point.

Conclusions:

- positive points: clean and nice hotel well situated with excellent view over the bay of Ile Rousse (if you have a car). Nice rooms, very nice swimming pool in cosy garden. Nice breakfast.
- Negative points: missing airco certainly on ground floor where you cannot open the doors while you are sleeping. A fridge in the room would be convenient.

I would certainly recommend this excellent 2 star hotel, even for a slightly longer stay. In that case I would take only the room with breakfast, as Ile Rousse has plenty of restaurants in different prices. Believe that the value you get for the price it is an excellent choice.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank jpver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2007

My wife and I stayed for fourteen nights at the Hotel Funtana Marina in September 2007. This is a small (27 rooms) privately owned hotel, run personally by a husband and wife team, supported by friendly staff. We were made very welcome, and the setting is great - overlooking the village of L'ile Rousse. We were in a standard room, which was fine. Superior rooms have been updated and have air con: not really needed when we were there, as the temperature at night wasn't too high.

Breakfast is a simple buffet - nothing hot, except coffee. No lunches were available and dinner with a limited menu was available every night except Sunday. This wasn't a problem as there are loads of nice bars/restaurants in the village and surrounding area. The hotel is a short walk from the centre but it is very hilly - uphill on the way back! And some of the road is not lit, so a car is very much recommended.

This was our first visit to Corsica, and we loved it. The scenery is superb and the pace of life relaxed. The island is unspoilt by mass tourism, and we certainly plan to go back.

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Difficult walk to village
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoffandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ile Rousse hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
BEST WESTERN Santa Maria
#1 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.6 mi away
L'Escale Cote Sud
L'Escale Cote Sud
#3 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Santa
Hotel La Santa
#6 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
L’Escale Cote Port
L’Escale Cote Port
#2 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
Hotel Restaurant La Pietra
#9 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Splendid
Hotel Splendid
#8 of 18 in Ile Rousse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Funtana Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Funtana Marina

Property: Hotel Funtana Marina
Address: route de Monticello, 20220 Ile Rousse, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Haute-Corse > Ile Rousse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ile Rousse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ile Rousse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Funtana Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Funtana Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funtana Marina Hotel
Hotel Funtana Marina Corsica/Ile Rousse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing