We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent dinner pokey room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de la Corniche
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rolleboise
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Although the menu doesn't change for the entire summer the food was excellent and served with a smile. A good wine list with some strange older vintages was also reasonable with bottles starting at about 25 euros. . The junior suite that we stayed in was very pokey with beams to bang your head a constant problem. Air con was included which was necessary. Come here though for the food which showed a chef who understands flavours and combinations. Menus started from 41 euros

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovefoodLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,081)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de la Corniche
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 1,081 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

We stayed here the last night in France. We had a River Side room with a huge terrace overlooking the spectacular view of the Seine. We sat out there for hours. It was one of the finest hotels that my wife of 45 years and I have stayed in.

We used the pool and had it all to ourselves. It was very refreshing after touring Monet's House and Gardens during the oppressive heat wave.

We loved the resturant, good food with spectacular view. We found the price of the hotel to be reasonable considering the overall experience. We expected the price of dinner to be more than we are used to and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlav48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Despite booking a Junior Suite, we were given a basement room in the Annex - a converted car garage space in which a tiny bathroom separated a small living room and an almost completely dark bedroom with only a one foot by two foot window. Being on the ground floor, we could not leave the living room doors open, so we ended up (fortunately for one night only) in a hot, dark, unpleasant room. Trying to change rooms was impossible, the staff could not have cared less.
The terrace was pleasant, with a lovely view of the Seine, but the food only adequate. The breakfast was not worth the 16 Euros charged.

Room Tip: Avoid the Annex building if you can - or, better still, avoid the hotel all together.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BVRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paikan66, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear client,

Bad strike for us with our British guests! Obviously, you didn't like your room, number 60. It's a 50 square meter suite with, in an old cellar the room with, in fact a very little window; but the also offers a living room opening on a private terrasse... Between the room and the living, a large bathroom with separate toilet.
In fact the colours like in many of our rooms are "strong"; red, purple, blue... this is our style and I would advice the people reading this answer and who want rooms clearer to warn our receptionnist.

Once again, sorry for your disapointment.

Kind regards,

Jerome Crépatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked a riverside room in February. When we arrived they had allocated us a pokey little room which was 3 classes below what we had booked. Basically they had "bumped" us so that a wedding party could have exclusivity in their rooms. When we complained they asked us to pay 50% of the cost for the first room and they would move us to the proper room the next day. Only a threat to cause a lot of fuss in front of the bridal party made them agree to not charge us for the first night .
Dinner in the restaurant was overpriced, pretentious and salty.
The decor is all dark and outdated with the inside bar painted black with black and chrome furniture, very oppressive and I inviting.
The whole place needs a makeover as much of it is looking shabby.
We left the next day. I was so upset at how we had been treated.
I don't remember any form of apology being offered when I explained how I gelt as we left. I was do looking forward to our stay there. Instead the end of our holiday was ruined.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Howe58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paikan66, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Dear client,
First of all, I would like to apolize for your disapointment. I don't understand what you mean by "a room 3 classes below". We offer basically in our 3 buildings 3 categories of room. You booked a riverside and were a junior suite wich, in terms of rates is the same. Anyway, we shouldn't have changed your room without warning you. The fact we gave you a 50% discount has nothing to do with the fact there was a wedding party in the ballroom near the reception. Our policy is, when we feel we're not up to our clients' expectation to offer a real discount. Once again, please accept our apology.

Kind regards,

Jerome crépatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is an overpriced dump with a dreadful but pretentious restaurant. When we checked in, we were told we had been upgraded to suite with a river view. A good start but the lift was tiny and battered so rather off putting. We went into the room up in the eaves and OMG! Two tiny dormer windows, no head room over half the floor area and the ceiling in grey, the walls dark red and the carpet dark purple with a black bed spread. The loo was in a room like a cupboard and the bathroom was small and gloomy without a proper shower. The lighting was dismal and the whole effect was claustrophobic. We went back to reception and a very helpful receptionist showed us several other rooms, all just as horrible. She then showed us a room in 'Jeanette', an adjacent building. This was a small room with a big French window opening on to a little balcony with a wonderful view. Painted in a dark green with a poky bathroom and a shower which worked eventually. The sink drain was blocked, I cleared it myself, the light over the shower worked sometimes and the general condition of the décor reminded me of a low priced, beaten up airport motel I once had the misfortune to stay in in Toronto. We went to the restaurant for dinner; big mistake! The Maitre D was officious and pretentious. The menu was very limited and spent more time telling you about the wonderful chef. Well he didn't appear to be there that evening! I had lamb which was all fat and gristle, chips which I did not ask for which were dry and tasted like oven chips and vegetables which were dry and overcooked. My wife had some rather unpleasant veal and a fondant potato which was raw in the middle. Desert was mediocre and hugely overpriced. We complained and had some money taken off the bill which was a token but poor compensation for one of the worst meals I have ever had in a restaurant, anywhere in the world. We didn't bother with breakfast, we went into Rolleboise to the boulangerie and brought our own. Rolleboise is a grimy little town with nothing to recommend it and no restaurants as an alternative to the hotel.
So don't go there. If you are visiting Giverny as we were, try to stay in one of the many B&Bs in Giverny itself, they all looked ok from the outside, and then move on to Rouen which has plenty to offer when you have finished in the gardens

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pjandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is very romantic...legend has it that King Leopold built it for his mistress around 1900. it sits on a bluff overlooking the Seine. Rooms are a bit quirky...we were in a suite which was in the attic of the main building...very large with a sitting room and good views...all done in red and purple..it was really very fun...only problem was the very, very soft water and only a hand held shower. Be careful which room you choose...our other option for the same price was very small and cramped. It is a bit expensive but if the weather was better and we could have played tennis and use the pool it would have been worth it. Breakfast was very good but the best was dinner overlooking the Seine and very good food with surprisingly reasonable prices. Its' a lovely palce to stay for visiting Giverny.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ConnieLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paikan66, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Sir, Madam,
Thank you very much for your post. All the staff of the hotel works hard to make your stay up to your expectations and your comments invite us to keep up our dedication to your wellness.
Kind regards,
Jérome Crépatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were given a stuffy room under the eaves. It had extremely dim lighting and only 1 tiny window to provide additional outside light and air. Room was completely painted a deep red with dark furnishings, further contributing to the dimness. We have no idea whether the room was clean or not because we couldn't see well enough to tell. Doubt it was especially clean because housekeeping couldn't possibly see what they were doing, either. Husband hit his head numerous times on the very low, sharp support for the attic or roof. The eaves were so low and at such a sharp angle, it was Impossible to get around the bed without severely ducking heads. Bath area was open to the room with no door, and there was no space to set anything near the sink. (Toilet enclosed on opposite side of the room so that we had to risk the eaves to get around the bed to wash hands in the sink). Our "countryside" room faced the road.

Few restaurants nearby so we opted to eat at the hotel -- big mistake. We both ordered the John Dory special, and thought they must have offered it as the special because it was getting past its prime. It was very fishy tasting and a huge disappointment.. Service was very slow. Views from the restaurant are lovely, but certainly not worth the price of our terrible room and disappointing dinner.

Location is relatively convenient for visiting Monet's Garden at Giverny and the view of the Seine is lovely, but there isn't much else of note nearby.

Room Tip: There may be better choices in Giverny or Vernon.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paikan66, Propriétaire at Domaine de la Corniche, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Sir, Madam,
I feel as disapointed as you reading your post. Obviously you didn't have a stay up to your expectations in my hotel.
In fact, the rooms on the second floor of our hotel located on the upper part of the castle have small windows overlooking the Seine valley. I invite the persons readind this to check with our reception details about our rooms wich are all different and propose a variety of atmosphere. I regret that we didn't get the opportunity to propose another room.
You were also disapointed by our restaurant. I don't understand what you mean by fishy tasting which seems quite normal for John Dory fish. We buy our fishes directly to small fisherman's company and are very much concerned about the quality of our products and on the way we prepare the dishes. I feel really sorry we didn't get to please you.
Kind regards,
Jerome Crépatte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rolleboise
5.3 mi away
Le Jardin des Plumes
Le Jardin des Plumes
#1 of 2 in Giverny
292 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Musardiere
La Musardiere
#2 of 2 in Giverny
282 reviews
12.1 mi away
Les Canisses
Les Canisses
#1 of 2 in Le Goulet
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Les Jardins d'Epicure
Les Jardins d'Epicure
#1 of 1 in Bray-et-Lu
142 reviews
23.9 mi away
Pavillon Henri IV
Pavillon Henri IV
#1 of 6 in Saint-Germain-en-Laye
483 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Normandy
Hotel Normandy
#1 of 3 in Vernon
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de la Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de la Corniche

Address: 5 route de la Corniche, 78270 Rolleboise, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Rolleboise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rolleboise
Price Range: £79 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de la Corniche 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Domaine de la Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine De La Corniche Hotel Rolleboise
Domaine De La Corniche Rolleboise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing