We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate Boutique style Hotel for a romantic weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bienvenue Chez Nous
Ranked #1 of 4 Bergues B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“First rate Boutique style Hotel for a romantic weekend”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

if you are looking for somewhere to stay for a romantic/relaxing interesting and different kind of a weekend/overnight stay then we would recommend this Hotel. However if you find narrow stairs and narrow corridors and room at the side of the bed a challenge then perhaps this hotel is not for you.
Each room is individually characterised and is an absolute step back in time and ambiance. Very tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. The breakfast room is amazing and the breakfasts equally so. We checked in mid afternoon and were told to help ourselves to cold drinks or make ourselves teas and coffees from the breakfast room.
Apropos Dinner. Don't miss enjoying a superb Dinner in the Hotel restaurant but you do need to book as it gets really full with the locals enjoying family meals there.

Make sure you find time to have a look at Bergues itself. Although small it is very interesting and rather quaint. There is a superb cheese shop on the main street.

Room Tip: They are probably all equally as good. We had the carnival room which was lovely but there wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    31
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
75
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

French, Fabulous, Quirky, Stylish, Great host, wonderful food especially the Duck. I highly recommend this Guest house and restaurant . Comfortable beds, spotlessly clean room, Can't wait to stay again soon, my husband and I loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barwicks_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

What we liked:
- The quirky, shabby chic decoration of our bedroom and breakfast room (the owners obviously put a lot of thoughts and love in designing each room)
- massive bedroom with all amenities needed
- comfy bed
- fast and free wifi
- the friendliness of the owners
- lovely garden
- hearty breakfast
- delicious dinner reasonably priced
We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this very charming and hospitable hotel. There are four guest bedrooms, each of which are blessed with old world charm. Indeed the hotel is beautifully and tastefully appointed throughout. The host , Jean-Pierre will make you feel most welcome and nothing is too much trouble to ensure that his guests enjoy their stay.

Other useful pointers- the breakfast room is rather lovely, and the inclusive breakfast really sets you up for the dat. Also, I always worry about where to park. While he hotel does not have its own parking, there is ample free and safe parking in the lovely quiet street in which the hotel is situated.

If you're going to Bergues, this is simply the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend in Bergues, 10km in from Dunkirk. We were inspired to go there by the film "Bienvenue Chez les Ch'tis" by Danny Boon which features one of the best pieces of modern slapstick. The hotel is fun by Jean-Pierre a jovial man always around and about and ready to help make sure that someone can communicate with you in English (despite the fact I speak French). There are only 4 rooms, but ours and the others we saw all had heaps of character - each expressing an aspect of this fabulous little town. The restaurant was fantastic and full. But I would caution against seafood, I don't think that is their forte. I had duck and it was absolutely superbly done. My wife had Thai prawns, and well, maybe it's best just to stick to the regional specialties.

One tip - if you are cycling - like us and they accommodated our bikes without any fuss - be aware that the ferry into/from Dunkirk no longer sails from the centre of the city but 18km to the west. A good map will give you great routes, but any less will be confusing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

-Resto : tres tres bon, tres belle deco, differentes salles a theme , tres original et tres bien agence.
-Chambres : Tres bien, tres grandes, tres propres, tres bien meublees, unique theme par chambre , tres original , tres recherche, tres bien decorees. Choisi une chambre de lune de miel et les enfants a cote dans une chambre plus traditionelle avec 2 lits.
-Petit Dejeuner : tres convivial, tres familial, tres bon , pain chaud frais du matin ...
-Acceuil : tres charmant, tres professionel
-Proprietaires : tres chaleureux, tres serviables, tres gentils
-Une tres bonne experience inoubliable
-Une Adresse a recommander.

-Restaurant : very good, beautiful architecture and decoration. Themes for each room makes it very unique.
-Bedrooms : Some are very large, very clean, furnitures are great and well chosen based on the themes of the room which is unique to each of them. Bed was very comfortable Chose a honey moon room for me and my wife, kids staying in a room next door in a more traditional room with 2 beds.
-Breakfast : Very friendly, common room for all customers, great breakfast room , large, lot of choices to drink and eat . Very good warm bread cooked from the morning.
-Service : very nice and very professional
-Owners : very friendly and very helpul
-An Excellent and unforgettable experience.
-Address to recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler69007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We chose this restaurant with rooms for lunch, on the basis of reviews on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. It's an interesting place, with four linked dining rooms; we ate in the 'Boudoir'. Decoration is a curious mix of jazz souvenirs, nostalgia and kitsch, with a variety of clocks and bronzes for sale that look more impressive than they are. The pictures of the bedrooms and their prices looked tempting, if one was staying. Clearly it has a good reputation locally, because lunch was popular with locals - and I am not surprised, because it is also very good value. Of our four courses (33 euros) the first two were interesting but each slightly flawed: the carpaccio spoilt by an unnecessarily lavish dressing, the crevettes slightly over-sauced, the grenouilles a bit small if prettily presented... they weren't bad starters, it was just not absolutely right... However, our main courses were exceptionally good: a great dorade royale for my wife and a stunning carbonnade for me, with a rich, beery sauce to die for and barely a hint of fat in the beef. Desserts were fine, if unexceptional. Wine list okay, maybe a bit dominated by Bordeaux. Service was very good indeed; we didn't feel lost. The size of the bill surprised us by its reasonableness: was that all? Maybe we could live with the starters... Or we could have just had that carbonnade, for a silly price...

We'll go back. Probably more than once. We like Bergues a lot, it's a beautiful town, with friendly people and interesting shops, and this restaurant is more than adequate. Much more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergues
0.2 mi away
Au Tonnelier
Au Tonnelier
#1 of 1 in Bergues
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel La Cuis'in
Hotel La Cuis'in
#3 of 13 in Dunkirk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.6 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
5.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Dunkerque Centre Gare
2.9 mi away
La Meunerie
La Meunerie
#1 of 1 in Teteghem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bienvenue Chez Nous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bienvenue Chez Nous

Property: Bienvenue Chez Nous
Address: 25 rue du College, 59380 Bergues, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Bergues
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Bergues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bienvenue Chez Nous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing