We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent supper”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos Des Capucins
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Restaurant only review:
A very reasonably priced meal and the food was excellent. Innovative but thoughtfully so. Service was perfect - not intrusive but prompt. We were eating before the Shuttle so needed to be away promptly and we were.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank foodfanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2011

We didn't stay here but in the Hermitage. The restaurant was super, however, and the staff (both M. and Mme) attentive and friendly. Our meals were excellent, and the caramelized pear tart was pronounced "the best pudding in the world, ever", by Charlie (9). The menu is innovative and offal is present in most dishes, so it was a relief that they were able to provide a plainer alternative for the children.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank jonpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We had an attic room in this 2* hotel - small and basic but very clean (although the carpet was a bit tired) and a comfortable bed, with pristine sheets. Excellent value at 54 euros for the room and ideal for a stop over. There's a market on Saturday in the square in front. Ate at the restaurant - excellent lamb!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CWils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Clos des Capucins is a restaurant with, I think, some rooms attached. We ate in the Restaurant for dinner on one of our two nights in the town. We stayed at the Coq Hotel which is VERY comfortable.
We had eaten before at the restaurant when the cuisine was tasty, rustic style. Under new owners, the inside has been tastefully modernised. We could not say the same about the food. Nouvelle cuisine it may be in looks but the amuse-bouches were very salty thin bouillon. We chose the EUR 29 menu which sounded innovative. The egg and foie gras had tasteless fois gras. The scallops came with pieces of coloured boiled sweets, and a weird mix of not properly cooked vegetables. The fig had little flavour. Home made bread was dull. Wine was expensive. The staff, though attentive, seemed embarassed by the efforts of the kitchen. We paid EUR 90. We will not return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Since my last visit (food was brilliant) the place has been modernised. The dark and the old beams have been replaced by clean modern decor which has brightened the place considerably. We had the 21.50 euro menu and it was excellent. A jellied veg terrine was bizarrely presented with a fried egg, caserole of escargots with creme d'ail was gorgeous. We both had confit od epaule d'agneau: it wasn't shoulder but shank. ??? veg accompiniaments were first rate as was the meat. Wine is expensive.
Tripadvisor needs to split places when they are hotel and restaurant: we just use the restaurant. I will return.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NewcastleHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed here for one night on a short trip to Montreuil and felt that it represented excellent value for money at only 54 euros for a double room. Booked by phone and spoke to a charming lady who spoke in perfect English ( which was a relief as my French isn’t perfect by any means).

The hotel is in a large square with loads of parking and we were able to leave our car directly outside. We arrived at midday and walked into the restaurant a bit sheepishly, assuming that we would be told that it was too early to check in. Instead, a really nice man (again speaking in perfect English even though I’d greeted him in French) came out from behind the bar and showed us straight to our room.

Although we’d booked a double room ours actually contained two single beds as well as one double and was twice the size of roms in many 3* hotels that I’ve stayed in. It was bright and airy with whitewashed walls and nice modern furniture. The best thing was that it was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit basic but clean and roomy with a shower cubicle that I wouldn’t describe as large, but I’ve had a much, much smaller in far more expensive establishments. Loads of soaps and shower gels were provided – far more than we needed. Plenty of towels too although they were a bit small.

We didn’t bother with breakfast and neither did we eat in the restaurant ,although the menu looked nice, so I can’t comment on the food.

This isn't luxury accommodation, but they don't charge luxury prices. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank talitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We popped over on a cheapie chunnel fare for 1 night in Montreuil-Sur-Mer and had always stayed at the Coq Hotel before. With the exchange rate and being broke we looked for somewhere cheaper and as it was a Bank Holiday weekend we were short on choice. Found this on the tourist info web-site. Plus points - on the main square, pretty building, easy to park, lots of choice for food etc., We were greated by Madam with a grunt and shown to our rooms by her more gracious daughter. (Madam had a rotten cold we discovered the next day, but she was hardly the genial hostess). The rooms were #6 & #7 right under the eaves up a lot of stairs. The rooms were very tiny (ok for us as we were only singles and only for 1 night). The sloping ceilings accentuated the limited space. Bed and bedding clean and comfy. Carpet old stained and needing replacement. Rooms smelt a little stale but ok once aired. Bathroom tiny with a tardis shower that was small even for me. Did some good squats in an attempt to rinse the shampoo off my hair! Breakfast for additional €9 was ok - warm fresh bread, pastries, croissants jam, fruit, yogurts and great coffee and served by a charming young man. Overall ok for 1 night but grubby and tired. If they are given a lick of paint a new carpet and turn bathrooms into wet rooms - would be great. Did not eat in the restaurant although it looked nice - went to Le Touquet to Swiss Village - Fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bazzer_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreuil-sur-Mer hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
114 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Capucins

Address: 46 Place du General de Gaulle, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Capucins Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing