We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah! the food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Clos Des Capucins
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ah! the food”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have stayed here many times for a few days. It is always a most welcoming place set in the corner of the 17th century town market square which is itself set within the citadel complete with high ramparts. The castle was the HQ for the British Expeditionary Force in the First World War.
The hotel is old fashioned and the rooms (only 4) have a time warp feel with a bathroom that needs updating. Nevertheless is was comfortable and very clean. The prize and star attraction is the restaurant. The room has recently been refurbished and modernized and seats 60+. The food is exquisite and not to be missed. It is also reasonably priced - but book beforehand as the locals like it as well

Room Tip: Try and avoid the all night burning street lights
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_bishop1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

You almost always get what you pay for in life. This hotel by today's standards is relatively cheap, and the rooms are therefore quite basic, but lovely crisp, clean sheets, and bathroom adequate. The best part of this hotel has always been the food, which over the years has been consistently good. There is also now a terraced eating area outside, lovely on a hot night. Charming couple run it. If you really want 'posh' go to the Chateau, but for my money I would opt for this one.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to rooms. 1st floor has a double and two singles in it, but bait of noise probably from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldieDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

What a lovely menu and experience diner here turned out to be on a sunny May evening.

Comfortable and well laid out restaurant , very nice welcome and good child friendless food, my 12year old was able to mix and match menus.


Foie gras and beef was scrummy and the fish and Caribbean flavours was delicious.

Real French cheeses on straw and a half bottle wine menu .

Not a les mis artefact in site.

Finally the chef gave us a lift to our accommodation gratuit !

Tres gentile

Room Tip: All food was lush !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acea50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I was so disappointed with this hotel. I booked after reading the reviews and it really was very poor. We stayed in Room 3 -overlooking the square. The sink was all cracked, the toilet not very clean and there were what looked like cigarette burns in the furniture. The bed and sheets smelt of cigarettes and the carpet was threadbare. Neither of us used the shower as it was awful. I couldn't wait to leave. I am sure the proprietors are lovely but the standard of the room was appalling. I know it is cheap, but we came from staying in a wonderful B+B in Josline which was cheaper, so there is no excuse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, UK
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

As someone has already commented, this is a restaurant with some rooms next door. However, it is clean and friendly and in a good location with an adjacent supermarket and free parking outside (although you may need to move the car on Saturday morning for the market!). Free wifi provided too.
The restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday and so, arriving on Sunday, we were given the door code number to gain access and, as promised, our key and a welcome note were on the table. Breakfast is quite expensive so we decided to 'do our own thing' for this.
The only slight problem we had was that we had a 1st floor double room overlooking the square but, despite the curtains, it was very light at night. I thought the street lights would go out at midnight but they were on all night. We can sleep through anything on holiday but a light sleeper might find this a problem and therefore want to ask for a room at the back perhaps?
Overall, a very good spot to stay for a night or two. Walking round the ramparts is a MUST!

Room Tip: See main review re light at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Judging by the other reviews,I think perhaps we went at the wrong time.My friend and I had booked to stay 2 nights,so we could watch Les Miserables in the Citadelle.I have stayed in Le Coq and Les Hauts de Montreuil but both were fully booked.After seeing the 1st room,at the top of two flights of stairs,on the way back down we saw another room,which was much brighter and not so claustrophobic and asked if we could have that room,which we did.the window opened onto the kitchen roof and although we could smell the food,it wasn't a problem.The room itself was large but with a tiny bathroom and the shower was some sort of pod and very small.Everything was very basic.
We asked for breakfast at 8 but by 8.15 no-one had appeared and we had to leave as we had things planned.When we mentioned this when we came back,the man insisted that we had asked for it at 9.A lady,who was very helpful and friendly,took us back up to our room to point out a very small notice,showing the times of breakfast.This would have been more hepful if it had been pointed out when shown the room,not after we had ordered breakfast.We did have breakfast the next morning and it was delicious.
I think perhaps that the owner's interest lies mainly with the restaurant and that the Hotel part is not so important.At least,that's the immpression that we formed.
In general,we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel part of this place is great for what it is. If you're looking for an overnight or two in low cost, basic but clean accommodation in Montreuil-sur-Mer (which is well worth a visit) then this place is perfect.
The restaurant part of the place is delicious.
The proprietors lovely. Couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.
It's useful though if you speak a bit of French.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
272 reviews
0.7 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
251 reviews
5.4 mi away
Auberge d'Inxent
Auberge d'Inxent
#1 of 1 in Inxent
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos Des Capucins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos Des Capucins

Property: Le Clos Des Capucins
Address: 46 Place du General de Gaulle, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Capucins Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing