We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Les Hauts de Montreuil(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel LE VAUBAN(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Hermitage(Montreuil-sur-Mer)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Coq Hotel(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
US$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Les Remparts(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
La Tannerie de Montreuil(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge de la Grenouillere(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
L'Art du Temps(Montreuil-sur-Mer)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castel des Anges(Wailly-Beaucamp)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveller rating
192
72
22
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
72
22
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmichelin starmain coursespecial offeroverlooking the gardenon arrivalfirst floorno lifthuge bathroomseparate showerdressing tableone starbeautiful hoteldelicious mealspoke good englishamuse bouchestayed for one nightlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Stayed at the start of our summer holiday as a treat for our Wedding Anniversary.

Room exactly as expected with a dressing room too. Lovely furnishings and corner view of the garden. In my opinion worth the little extra to be in the main building.

Warmly greeted and shown to the room.

A good location for surrounding areas and not as isolated as others imply. It is very easy to walk in to town and eat elsewhere should you wish. There is a market on Saturday morning at least. Chateau interesting, just across the way.

I used the secure parking but may not be necessary.

We enjoyed some time in the garden too.

The staff were attentive and friendly and the breakfasts were lovely. There was a limited Room Service.

The only negative was the behaviour of male waiting staff who were old enough to know better. We stayed 2 nights and booked to eat in the restaurant on the night of our wedding anniversary.

I have eaten in many fine restaurants but do not behave like Michael Winner. When taking our order the waiter announced that we had to order our deserts at the time. When I asked why he said so that the kitchen knew. We were not in late.

Always dangerous when you let your business run your customers. My wife, as with many, usually knows when she has had the main course. As we finished our mains I tried to catch the gentlemen’s attention but he deliberately ignored me. Finally I asked for him verbally as he over fussed with a large table of noisy elderly golfers next to us.

He then sent us a colleague who whilst not exactly happy to take my wife’s desert order did so.

This behaviour would have been out of place in a hotel half the quality and was frankly pathetic. The younger folk serving breakfast, and supporting at dinner, were a credit

Would have been 5 without this.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

The hotel is very conveniently located for the Channel tunnel, in the attractive town of Montreuil sur mer. The hotel is housed in a very attractive building and has very pleasant gardens. The hotel is next door to the citadel and town walls, which makes for a very pleasant stroll. A very quiet town centre location.

Our 2nd floor superior room was a very good size, but with some restricted height due to the roof eaves. The bed was very comfortable and linen very good. Overall, very pleasant, comfortable and well maintained, but a little old fashioned. Very clean and well maintained. The bathroom was very large and reasonably modern. Not a major point, but we weren't so keen on the use of our outside corridor for spare furniture storage.

The restaurant food was very good, athough very much traditional French gourmet R&C style, which is a little over fussy and over complicated for my taste. Service was efficient and pleasant, but as is common in French R&C, some staff were rather too formal. Basic a la carte menu was EUR 75 / head, but with a good wine, apperitif and water at R&C prices, the final bill was nearer EUR 350 each evening. At that price level, I've eaten better in many cities. Like many good British provincial hotels, pricing is very much on the high side for the remote location.

The breakfast was good, but not great given it was EUR 18 / head.

Very much recommended for a short stay, and reasonably good value at EUR 235 room only. A very good R&C style restaurant, but expect to splash the cash.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmbklm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

We had a beautiful large third floor room with beautiful views of stunning old town Montreuil-sur-Mer, with an entry hall and bathroom as large as some European city hotel rooms. The private hotel grounds are lovely. We had dinner on the terrace with some of the prettiest and best tasting food ever. The staff was friendly and accomodating (not always the case for Americans in France). This hotel is a worthwhile destination in itself, but I cannot imagine being in the north of France and not staying here. Parking was easily available on the small street in front along the park.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxmillian_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We booked demi pension including the degustation menu - 400 euros for 2 - a special offer . Although we had been warned that the room we booked was small we were upgraded on arrival to a large room with big bathroom (rather than the shower room we had been promised.) The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed exploring the nearby citadel and the town of Montreuil-sur-Mer (not Boulogne) where the hotel is situated. The degustation menu was excellent, particularly the succulent fillet steak with foie gras. Drinks were not cheap and our bill for the stay came to 528 euros including 2 beers at 8 euros each. Staff were pleasant and spoke good English. The breakfast was good and included a loaf of freshly baked bread and an interesting dish of prunes with yoghurt topped with cornflakes. Secure parking is available for an additional 12 euros.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had one night to spend on our way up to Lille from Paris. We had stayed at Chateau Montreuil once about 10 years previously - our first ever Relaix and Chateau property! We had fond memories so expectations were high. We booked via their internet site - special offer E150. Upon arrival, without asking, they upgraded us to a very nice room with a huge bathroom and they had clearly renovated since we had last stayed there. Decor is comfortable, not particulrly stylish but very charming.
The restaurant is a one star michelin with a 75E set menu - not cheap for the middle of nowhere! We had a lovely dinner including the best "foie gras poele" of the entire trip.
The staff we very helpful and friendly and very professional in the restaurant - the sommelier was very knowledgeable.
I would highly recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fgsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews