We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great chateau just over the channel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau de Montreuil
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great chateau just over the channel”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

this is a beautiful place in what some think of as a dull part of france. it is';t. the chef patron is really talented and we had a memorable meal and a great chat with him about his speciality of bone marrow and caviar. the pool was cool and the nice receptionist opened it specially for me on a dull and rainy day. a great place.

Room Tip: we had a room on the top floor. really quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hnwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    63
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
40
173
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

staying in monrteuil was amazed to find they had not one but two michelin star restaurants, to celebrate my birthday we chose this one and i have to say for the first time in my life i was stunned by everything that was on offer. the menu was wonderful, the service excellent, and just an overall wonderful experience. nothing was too much trouble for this team of waiters, and i was especially lucky to have them sing happy birthday to me. if you are around these parts, try it, you wont be dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonfitzpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We recently spent a weekend at this charming hotel, celebrating a birthday with our grown-up and very discerning family. We were all exremelt comfortable in our various bedrooms, each quite differently but charmingly decorated with excellent bathrooms en suite. The standard of both the cuisine and the wines was very high, the service very good. and the staff were all friendly and efficient. The Chateau has a lovely garden and is ideally placed near the ramparts and only a short walk to the town centre

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nereida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The Hotel is about 45 minutes from the Chunnel and is a reliable Relais & Chateaux member. The rooms are comfortable and the restaurant good. Staff all helpful. Nice port of call to start and end your holiday if from the UK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed with friends for one night in order to pick up some wine from the Wine Society. The Chateau is in a splendid setting by the town’s ramparts, which make an excellent evening walk. The gardens are splendid, ideal for afternoon tea on the lawn or aperitifs. Check-in was straightforward, having booked beforehand. Getting into the spacious room (4) overlooking the garden was a bit of a challenge because the locks are stiff. The room’s decor is, to say the least quirky - kind of Wedgewood motifs with swinging monkeys! My wife found these images somewhat disturbing waking in the night. Traditionally rather than elegantly furnished/appointed. Not exactly shabby but showing signs of wear. Comfortable bed, desk, easy chairs, large closet (which was difficult to get into because of a) a thick floor rug and b) a chair parked in a corner obstructing the closet door), no safe (taken out, according to the check-in person, and obviously not replaced). The bathroom was spacious, but again with some quirky and awkward features. Large bath (which we did not use); excellent shower in glass cubicle, expansive washbasin and surfaces, copper panelling (!) and an awkwardly placed loo. (Either your knees or backside were forcibly wedged against the wash stand!) I would also be wary about how warm the room would be in winter.

I mention all these quirks because of the high cost of staying at the Chateau. However, the real value of the Chateau lies in the splendid dining room, first class service, and excellent food served in the restaurant. Following aperitifs on the lawn, all of us opted for the €95 7-course meat and fish gourmet menu. It really is excellent: imaginative, tasteful, and served by efficient, friendly, and knowledgeable wait staff, all of whom are a credit to the Chateau. Wine ordered at extra cost from the card is extensive, with a wide range of prices. Our meal really was a great occasion and, if we were to return to the Chateau, this would be the main reason.

These are the positives. As for the negatives: at something like €260 a night for a double superior room does not represent good value. Enjoying a cup of tea on the lawn is also quite an expensive business. The Chateau offers wifi but the signal is so weak/slow that it is not usable. Logging on to the Chateau's network with an iPad was also an unnecessary challenge and involves a process I have never encountered anywhere else in the world viz. rebooting one's iPad to access the network. The Chateau charges €12 per night for parking, but safe and free street parking is available outside.

Would we return? To enjoy the service and eat at the restaurant, yes. To stay, no. There are other options in Montreuil or in surrounding towns and villages.

Room Tip: Depending on your wallet/purse, rooms overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed for one night in room 1 which was a four-poster room overlooking the front gardens and entrance. The bed was comfortable, furnishings and finishes to a high standard although the bathroom ceiling appeared to be lined with copper panels which was rather unusual.

We had a professional but warm welcome from reception; efficient brisk service in the restaurant from a band of obviously highly experienced waiters who guided us expertly through the menu, wine list and cheese trolley. The cuisine was of a high classical French standard - particularly divine was the hot passion fruit souffle with mango sauce and campari and orange sorbet.

Its not cheap but given its location (overlooking the town's ramparts) and attention to detail in all aspects I would say it offers good value.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliePLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Have spent 2 long romantic weekends here. cost me an absolute kings ransom but I would do it again and again. Its a class act.

Room Tip: Either go for room 1 for its shear romantic splendor or go for the annex for its jacuzzi and space
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
704 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,629 reviews
14.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Montreuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Montreuil

Property: Chateau de Montreuil
Address: 4 chaussee des Capucins, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Montreuil 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, charming hotel, set in lovely gardens with a very good restaurant. The rooms are all different and cosy with space to relax. There is also a drawing room with an open log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Montreuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Montreuil Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer
Château De Montreuil Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing