We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hideaway in France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2012

After having read about La Grenouillere in the Elle decoration magazine, we simply had to book a weekend here. And in short we totally loved it!!
We stayed in one of the wooden huts, had all the privacy we wanted and indulged in the simple luxury of our own little cabin. They are so well thought through and give you an unspoiled view into nature when you wake up in the morning.
The restaurant and breakfast was wonderful. Every morning we got a picnic basket delivered to our hut and we picniced while wathing the outside world. Our dinners in the restaurant were surprising and deliscious. We have eaten lots of great meals and are happy to find a place like La Grenouillere. The food was great and refined. We tried unusual combinations which worked out very well and were definitely not on the bonkers side.
The staff was super nice, help- and thoughtful. Our last evenings menu was created just for us, to give us the opportunity to taste all the chefs creations.
We didn't take a car to come, which made the stay even more relaxed. You can walk to Montreuil and enjoy the countryside by foot.
We'll come back and well done team!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

If you like things to be radical and innovative, you'll probably be thrilled. If you prefer the conventional, you'll wish you'd gone elsewhere.

For us, it was all a bit too much style and not enough conventional comfort. Partly our own fault, we were too tired after a long drive to face the gastronomic menu (8/11 courses, €85/€110), which had been our intention and is, I think, the raison d'être of the restaurant, and went a la carte, which was a disappointing experience.

The ALC options are extremely limited, esp as 2 of the 4 main courses are for 2 people min. I chose frogs legs in a lemon sauce with croutons, very good but at €32 it should be. My wife chose a crab and avocado dish which part-way through revealed a bit of a whiff of ammonia - so she didn't finish it. Our mains were a €40 monkfish dish, and we didn't order dessert (too tired).

However, possibly because of the issue with my wife's starter, we were offered the "bulle d'oseille" which I think is the signature dish - an apparently glass (clear crystalline sugar) sphere containing a sorrel sorbet which is smashed onto your plate in a very showmanlike gesture. This very unusual dessert was absolutely delicious and was the redeeming feature of our meal.

We did get some good fresh veg with our mains (unusual in our experience in France, where it seems that the more expensive the meal, the less veg you see!). However, the monkfish dish was very under-seasoned and pretty bland as a result, and luke-warm verging on cold. Again, the style over substance thing was partly to blame - instead of a normal plate, the food is served on a strange piece of partly glazed pottery which was not pre-heated.

The table had an orange leather top and no cloth - and with no side plates, you eat your bread (excellent malty brown loaf in my case) off the table. I may be old-fashioned, but when I'm paying a lot for a meal, I prefer some nice clean starched table linen, not a much-used and hopefully clean tabletop.

Our wine was a pricey (€50) but excellent Pouilly-Fuissé; the wine list seemed not particularly expensive by the standards of such places - starting around €30.

No complaints about the service, but no particular plaudits either.

Our room was fine, a very comfortable bed, big shower room, but all in black!! Shower room (open plan shower, no screen), had black tiled floor & walls, black radiator, white sanitary ware. 3/4 bedroom walls also black, black shutters and blinds.

Breakfast was the worst bit, epitomising the style/substance bit. A picnic parody in the garden room with a view of the "native plants" aka weeds in that part of the gardens. Somewhat uncomfortable and cramped folding tables & chairs. Coffee in a tin mug with a rolled edge which is unpleasant to drink from. Melamine plates. Elaborate brioche (too sweet for us) and a rock-hard white bread of some sort, unusual home-made jams, but no baguette or croissants or pain au choc. Fresh-squeezed OJ and a nice mixed fruit salad. But €21 each??

All in all, an interesting but disappointing experience. We won't be back, but don't let me put you off if the style of the place appeals to you.



  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DougTheMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

If all the comments are very different it's because some people understand and some other don't..

Please, stop saying the menu is "just" a piece of paper..IT IS a piece of paper! Is there any need to be more?
The use of all the materials in the restaurant carry a deep message.

But let's focus on the must important thing: The food! It is Artisctic, Smart, Gastronomic, new and original!

This french restaurant is not fancy and is just amazing.. Vive la France!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina070911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We booked for 4 nights. Of the dinner a la carte menu with 4 courses 2 were veal & 2 were for 2 people. This remained the same each evening. The next disappointment came at breakfast.We were shown to an unheated glass leanto room and
presented with no choice, no croissant, or baguette and coffee
from a thermos flask.21euros each!
After a second dinner we cancelled
our booking for meals and left a day
early. The staff were charming.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cliff1936
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

It will be interesting to see what the hotel/restaurant is going to be like after April 2011. It is being completely rebuilt. I had a drink with the owner in his other simpler place - "Froggie's" and he assured me that it would be open on time. He does have a michelin star now so it should be good. Review to follow in the Summer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We booked to stay at Le Grenouillere last week and received confirmation of my stay there. When we arrived we were told that our room was not at the hotel but at a B&B owned by the owner in the next town. As it was getting late and we had had long drive we had no choice but to take it. The cost was €125 when the typical local rate for Chambre d'Hote is about €50 - €55
The B&B was in a narrow oppressive alleyway off a dingy back street
There are plenty of pictures of the hotel on Trip Adviser so I thought I should add a few of the "extra" rooms.
This has completely ruined my holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
16  Thank davebowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The location is lovely as the auberge is situated in a park with a stream and lush woods nearby. Just up the hill is the back part of the old castle ramparts, which are great. The auberge is known for its food and did not disappoint with creative cooking and a few interesting surprises. However, it is pricey but, drinks aside, it is worth it.

Unfortunately the hotel is not. The room we stayed in was cramped, dark and noisy. Although the auberge is in a park setting, the hotel rooms are surrounded by gravel paths which create a surprising amount of noise when anyone walks past. The staff is indifferent at best. For example, when asking about WIFI, which is shown to be available on their web site, we were told they did not have it and that it was a silly question, "You are in the country, what do you expect?" When we pointed out the web site details to the owner, he just shrugged. Montreuil-sur-Mer has loads on interesting hotels so stay elsewhere but do have a meal here if you can afford it.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Westow_Yanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
318 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,697 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Grenouillere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Grenouillere

Address: La madeleine-sous-Montreuil, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range: £124 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge de la Grenouillere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Grenouillere Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing