We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting rustic modern huts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were very excited to arrive at our hut - a bold design with huge floor to ceiling windows looking out on to a wild meadow. When you sit outside on the little terrace to the hut or leave the door to the hut open, the sound of birdsong is a joy! The owners have done really well to create a calm and tranquil environment but there is a constant sound of distant traffic which is a bit distracting (obviously nothing can be done about this).
The hut had a huge and very comfortable bed. However, while the bathroom area at the back of the hut had a great 'design' feel to it, the black stained wood combined with minimal lighting makes it slightly impractical. All in all it was a great experience for one night, though I'm not sure we would have enjoyed staying for a second night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very nice place in France, clean rooms, very calm. If you can combine with the restaurant, your stay is really a succes.
There is an open kictchen and the restaurant has a well diserved Michelin star. You aso must visit the city of Montreuill.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Amazing place to stay right on the river and modern rooms and delicious food!!
The only draw back was the rather dark bedroom as the walls were dark brown and lights poor so hard to read anything but the rest made up for it!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Studd2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My partner booked us for a romantic dinner at la Grenouillere having read good reviews. We had the 11 course taster menu and the wines to go with it and it was worth every penny! Creativity reminiscent of the Fat Duck, all absolutely delicious especially the frogs legs. Best of all we stayed the night in the very comfortable room which is only a stones throw from the restaurant!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kate2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Walking around La Grenouillere is a delight. These are wetlands and forest. There are narrow canals everywhere and the houses are all islands. You can walk on a footpath up the hill and reach Montreuil town through a hole in the ramparts in about 15 minutes, and back down in ten. It's a beautiful location.

The auberge itself was undergoing some serious gardening work, including re-laying the paths to eliminate the muddiness. It has rained a lot during the year.

When I booked, I asked whether it was better, in November, to stay in one of their huts or in a room; the room was suggested, given the possibility of poor weather.

We stayed in the best available room, and this is in the courtyard. Whilst the room itself is comfortable and well equipped, it is on a corner, fronting onto two roads. This means you hear every car and any guests that may be around, but worse, it means that the windows are permanently shaded to maintain privacy. So it's dark, and the lighting is ineffective. It's OK for a night, but one wouldn't want an extended stay.

We looked at the huts; they are charmingly done and would be really fun in the summer, but quite miserable in winter.

The restaurant is stunning. The open kitchen provides a ballet in three acts, the preparation, the plating and the clearing up. We ate a la carte, two ways with frogs legs, ris de veau, and pidgeon.I chose a relatively obscure wine from the very comprehensive list, and our friendly young waitress knew it immediately. The food was well prepared and presented, but the highlight for me was the arrival of a pair of phallic brioches of exquisite taste and texture, with which to mop up the gravy.

My advice is to put up with the imperfections and enjoy the dedication which surrounds this place and makes the experience such a joy.

Room Tip: Chat about it when booking by phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

"This is my first ever review as I am still so upset that we spent so much money visiting this place, that I wanted to warn other people. We visited this restaurant/hotel some 8 years ago, and always vowed to come back. What a disappointment. We went with our friends (having sorted out children etc). We arrived at 4pm. We were shown down a wet soggy, muddy track to two eco huts, two lots of shoes ruined. Basic and unwelcoming. The woodburners were empty and had to be laid by us, no lights were on, and it was bleak, lighting is extremely poor inside. Trying to get dressed in near darkness is no fun and unless you open the bath, there is no full mirror to see yourself in. Forget the high heels for what is supposed to be a luxury dinner, as the mud trek was even worse on the way back, as more rain had fallen.

We never found the coffee machine nor is there wifi in the room as advertised. Only available in the main house. There is no turn down service or replacement of towels, if used in the evening.

Onto the restaurant. We chose the tasting menu at 115 euros a person. It was bland, weird, unseasoned and miniscule. They insisted on presenting each course on a full dinner plate, why. One scallop per person is not going to fill a dinner plate. This was the same for each course. The froths tasted of nothing, the main course of veal consisted of one piece of veal, medium warm, with a swirl of cold puree potato. Forget that I myself was not able to eat any of the previous 5 courses, as they were either too bitter, unedible or so cold to be tasteless, the waitress did not seem to notice and if she did, just shrugged her shoulders. We sent back one course of monkfish, one cube, again, luke warm and undercooked. They did recook it. Thank goodness we had bread to fill ourselves up on. Having been to Midsummer House, Dinners and Hutong in the last two months, don't waste your money on this place and go to one of these where you will have tastes that excite you, and you will be full at the end of the meal.

Onto breakfast. On the website, it says breakfast will be served to your hut and looks as if this charge is included in your room rate - oh no - remember 250 euros per hut with no luxuries. We were not offered breakfast in our room and when I asked when we checked into our rooms, were told this was not available and to go to the breakfast room in the morning. They charge 21 euros per person for the following which we were not aware until we checked out as there is no notice of this on the tables nor does it say it is an extra on the website with the blurb about the room. For 42 euros for the two of us, we were offered the following, orange juice, coffee out of a thermos flask, a pat of butter, two yoghurts, one brioche and one round roll, two soft boiled eggs, a small pot of rice pudding, a small pot of fruit salad - do not think exotic fruits, think cheap fruits, orange, pear and apple with two grapes - , a pot of jam. That was it for 42 euros. Our friends paid the same - so 84 euros for double this. The weekend for each couple cost 650 euros (over 1300 euros) including wines. Someone is making serious money by ripping of customers."

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SuzanneG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

First of all it is a concept of nature and ecology. Design is everywhere, a true art brut manifesto.
The rooms are huts (there are more traditional bedrooms in the main house). Wooden, refined, with stunning view on the very wet land. Comfortable. We lit the stove as we switched off the lights and listened to it until we fell asleep.
In the restaurant room, high ceiling, dark concrete, steel, armchairs and table covered with a dark brown leather, looking at the kitchen on one side, and the beautiful countryside on the other side. Stunning.
Then it is a generous place. All staff are extremely welcoming, really friendly. We felt like home. Really. We did not chose the 9 or 11 courses set menus but rather starters and mains a la carte. We were brought besides each dish, a whole pan of our choices, so there was really plenty to eat and we were all full before the cheese and the desserts.
Breakfast is also extremely enjoyable. The level is really of 1 star Michelin, not 2 nor 3. It misses sometimes precision on cooking. But it is a lot of pleasure anyway.

+:
unexpected place with a lot of character giving the feeling to be part of the nature
breads at dinner truly outstanding, as well as the frog legs
all staff and very god wine list

-:
calf sweetbreads slightly overcooked
breakfast rice pudding slightly too sweet

We stayed only 1 night, and travelled in 4 with our two boys who are 14 and 9.
All of us LOVED this place and highly recommend it

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdliinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.6 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
338 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Coq Hotel
Coq Hotel
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
322 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
Hotel Barriere Le Westminster
#3 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,733 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Grenouillere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Grenouillere

Address: La madeleine-sous-Montreuil, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range: £122 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge de la Grenouillere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Grenouillere Hotel Montreuil-Sur-Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing