We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“World-class petit déjeuner at Le Coq” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coq Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coq Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“World-class petit déjeuner at Le Coq”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Le petit déjeuner at Le Coq is certainly the best we've had anywhere in the world; freshly squeezed orange (always a reliable measure of a good hotel), unlimited proper coffee and a fantastic selection of cheeses and charcuterie, breads and confitures. Montreuil is a lovely little town with a history and ramparts to walk round. We were to arrive on my 65th birthday for our last day in France after visiting the Normandy beaches and Bayeux. Le Coq Hotel's facade is classic French and where the dining room and kitchens are located, overlooking a very pretty little square-fleurie. Most chambres, as ours, are at the rear in newer buildings, off a very narrow street. These are modern comfortable rooms, recently carpeted and furnished and well appointed with kettle, flat screen TV, good shower, bathroom and hair dryer. Unfortunately dinner was not being served on this Thursday evening and we ended up having a disappointing meal in the main square (which you can read about here on TA). The worst feature of this hotel, like many others I suspect in Montreuil, is the parking; limited space and a costly 10 Eu per night. Navigating the narrow streets is a problem in this little town not designed for cars. All things considered, if we return to Montreuil as well we may, we would stay at the Coq, but on days when they are serving dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    102
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
68
172
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked our second night in Montreuil at Le Coq which is just opposite our favourite restaurant Le Darnetal. We had hoped for two nights at Les Hauts de Montreuil as it is much cheaper but heyho what's another £45 for a Double Room! A lot!

The hotel is beautifully located and appointed. The main house has vaulted rooms and there is a sense of luxury and a hint of history. Our room was fine and the shower divine - there was also a fridge in which we placed all the stinky cheeses from the Saturday market!

We dined across the road so cannot comment on dinner. The breakfast, however, at 12 euro a shot, was classic! Rillette, pate, fine cold cuts, marolills, camembert, fruit, yoghurts, rustic bread, pats of creamy butter, cereals, croissants = a sumptuous banquet fit for royalty!

What was encouraging was that there were five groups of people at the trencher - and two couples were French!

Being a cheapskate, next time I am in Montreuil, I shall stay at Les Hauts and sneak in to Le Coq for breakfast...or is that flouting the rules?

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are best. Avoid the 10.50 euro parking charge by parking on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We were so pleased that we had chosen this hotel. Our room was spacious and well equipped, the hotel was located right in the centre of town, but with none of the noise that might be associated with such a position. The staff really did go out of their way to be helpful, without ever being intrusive. We felt that this was a place where we could really relax. We truly would like to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

There are some pretty smart hotels in Montreuil sur Mer. Le Coq is one of the more low-key and discreet buildings, even though it’s centrally located.

Reasonably priced, very comfortable – the family room is enormous (the one in the main picture at the top of this page) and set apart from the hotel itself – and with an excellent buffet breakfast in the morning. There is parking in the courtyard for €10 and everywhere in town is in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElinorEastlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel is a real find. We have visited Montreuil many times, but this was our first stay at this hotel. The staff was charming and helpful, the room was spacious and beautifully finished and the shower room and WC were impeccable. There is a charming little bar for your aperitif, and the dinner was fabulous. I haven’t seen a better breakfast anywhere in France; no machine coffee, but limitless fresh filter coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice and everything else you could possibly want. Really a great little hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GastonSorbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My partner and I Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Montreuil staying at the Coq Hotel. We arrived just after midnight and Brigitte had arranged our room keys and check in in advance for us. Kindly one of the hotel staff trundled out at this time and gave us a hand with our luggage.

The rooms and hotel are tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast in the quaint dining room is excellent. We stayed in the new section which is well appointed and I did not feel that it made the stay less enjoyable by not staying in the old townhouse. Our room looked over the gardens which were a bit sparse at this time of the year but the must be beautiful in the summer. The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the town and the ramparts. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavajelly01494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This charming old bourgeois house-cum-hotel is situated slap bang in the centre of Montreuil and therefore perfect for a pedestrian visit to the town (although also providing parking at 10 euros per night if you have your car with you).

We had asked not to be on one of the top floors if possible and also to have a shower rather than a bath, and this was exactly what we got; a lovely room on the ground floor with a walk-in shower and opening directly on to the charming little courtyard, which I would imagine is a perfect spot to sit and have a glass of vin in the summer, but even in our visit there were drifts of snowdrops everywhere which made it magical. The room was comfortable and more than adequate, with a lot of thoughtful touches including tea and coffee-making facilities which are sometimes missing in city centre hotels.

We ate at the hotel on our first night and it was lovely; the food lovingly and carefully cooked and presented; my only hesitation would be to say that the lofty height of the ceiling in the dining room tends to take away any feeling of intimacy or romantic dining, but I guess if you were with friends you would be able to ignore this!

Breakfast was probably the best I have ever had in France; pretty well everything you could possibly think of and then some, with a unique, modern and very posh "orange squeezing" machine which at the press of a button dropped down several oranges, sliced them in half and then squeezed your own personal glass of juice - very impressive! Coffee also lovely, as was the huge range of pains de campagne and spreads of choice. Couldn't fault that meal at all and just wish I could have managed more!

We will definitely be visiting again as we love Montreuil, and only managed to walk once round the ramparts as the wind was too fierce to make it a truly enjoyable experience! Lovely hotel, lovely food, lovely people.

Room Tip: You might want to choose a room on one of the upper floors if visiting in summer, as I can imagine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anniebelle_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hermitage
#3 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Castel Victoria
Hotel Castel Victoria
#4 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#1 of 22 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
14.5 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coq Hotel

Property: Coq Hotel
Address: 2 Place de la Poissonnerie, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coq Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Coq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coq Hotel Montreuil Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing