We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of Coq Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coq Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We only stayed here for one night while passing through France but will definitely go back and stay longer. The Coq is in an excellent position in the centre of this beautiful little town. The rooms were attractive, comfortable and equipped with everything we needed. We didn't have dinner there but Wow, what a breakfast!
The only annoying thing was the lights being controlled by the door keycard which meant that when my husband went back to the car, taking the card with him, I found myself having a shower in the dark! Maybe there is a way to override that. I'll have to ask next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

As other reviewers have said, this hotel has a central location, but I should stress that all Montreuil hotels have central locations - the town is small enough to walk right round in under an hour and all of the hotels are close to the central squares. So I don't count that as a big advantage of Le Coq. In fact after 3 nights there all I can remember are the irritating little niggles that eventually led me to conclude we won't be staying there again.

First the parking. The on-street parking on the square is limited to 90 minutes with a special permit (we discovered later that the hotel has these permits but we were never offered one). There is space for 7 cars in the hotel's car park, but the system of managing this is so chaotic that despite having booked our parking space when we booked our room 2 months earlier, we were turned away on our last day because all the spaces were reserved for presumably more favoured guests. This was done in a very rude and offhand way and we were not given any direction to find an alternative location where we could park legally overnight despite asking for assistance.

The room was a very large family room but was so full of beds and armchairs that it felt cramped. It was up in the roof which meant that the window was very small and it was hard to get enough air in the room (in July it gets very hot up at the top of the building). It also meant a severely sloping ceiling above my side of the bed which I hit my head on several times (I'm only 5'5") before I remembered to walk bent double around the bed. There was also very little space to put things. The wardrobe had several large shelves but all of these were full of pillows, duvets and blankets. All of the 'drawers' in the room were actually false fixed fronts that didn't open.

The wifi was painfully slow and intermittent at best, but most of the time it didn't work at all. I managed to get it to work at one point only by sitting on the stairs on the floor below which the staff found absolutely hilarious when they should have been ashamed. By the end of the second day there was no wifi at all anywhere in the building, even when standing right next to the router on the ground floor.

Breakfast is not included in the room rate and you will be charged for it even if you don't have it, unless you tell them the day before (every day) that you don't want it. Really? Is that the best system they could come up with - for their convenience maybe but not for their guests'.

The only reason I'm giving this hotel 2 stars instead of 1 is that it is quiet and the bed is comfortable so we didn't sleep badly (except for one night when the heat kept me awake - see comment about the tiny window).

I don't expect perfection from a hotel charging around €100 per night (after multi-night discount). I'm perfectly amenable to making a few accommodations for small hotels which don't have the staff to give a 5-star service. Unfortunately, in the end it just felt as though making accommodations was all we were doing, in addition to paying for the privilege.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor in warm weather. Also be aware that the lift only goes as far as the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank UKExpatNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in order to see the 'Son et Lumiere' of Victor Hugo's ' Les Miserables' for which the town is famous. This hotel had been recommended by friends and it was excellent. The rooms are large and well appointed. The hotel is situated in the centre of town but the location is very quiet with plenty of off street parking, or pre-booked parking at the hotel. The breakfast is the best I have ever had in France with so many choices of local produce. The town has a lot to offer with many restaurants and cafés and interesting shops. All in all a great visit - and 'Spectacle Les Miserables' was excellent too with almost 400 local participants including horses! A must if you have never seen it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel last weekend and it was clean, quiet and welcoming. Great central location so we were able to walk to all the best hotels. Parking on site was secure. Will be back next year. Good value too considering we were a group of 8!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We only had one night here but hope to re visit as the hotel was superb. We had a large room with wonderful crisp white cotton bed linen. We ate in the courtyard as it was a lovely evening and the food was superb. The breakfast buffet was very generous too!! Overall, a lovely hotel in a charming town.N.B.Car parking is tight in the courtyard if you book a space which we did. But there is plenty of parking within walking distance madam said.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the courtyard are quieter I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have stayed in this hotel a number of times over the past few years, and are never disappointed. It's comfortable, in a quiet location, with off-street parking in a courtyard. The restaurant continues to produce great dinners, and the breakfasts are a must. A good place to stay for as a stop-off if heading further afield, but also an excellent base to stay for the historic region around the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Arrived quite late and were made very welcome and were allowed dinner! It was lovely. A modern hotel block behind a lovely old town house, charming staff, great Continental breakfast. The square is probably the prettiest in the town.

We had a lovely 3 night stay. Many many thanks. Highly recommended. Would have preferred if the rooms were in the old building though!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hepzibah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montreuil-sur-Mer
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
Best Western Hotel Hermitage
#2 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Hauts de Montreuil
Les Hauts de Montreuil
#1 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau de Montreuil
Chateau de Montreuil
#4 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
760 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel LE VAUBAN
Hotel LE VAUBAN
#7 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Auberge de la Grenouillere
Auberge de la Grenouillere
#5 of 9 in Montreuil-sur-Mer
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coq Hotel

Address: 2 Place de la Poissonnerie, 62170, Montreuil-sur-Mer, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Montreuil-sur-Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Montreuil-sur-Mer
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coq Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coq Hotel Montreuil Sur Mer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing