We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel for Skiing in Auron”
Review of Le Chalet d'Auron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chalet d'Auron
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Hotel for Skiing in Auron”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at Chalet D'Auron at the beginning of January on a Groupon offer of about 50% off. Small resort but great for skiing for 2 to 3 days.
Classic room comfortable (but slightly small) on the special offer so would recommend the larger superior rooms.
Very friendly staff, especially Florence, on Reception who speaks perfect English and was very helpful. We used the Sauna and outside (but covered over) Pool and Jacuzzi.
Restaurant was quiet but good standard of food as we had a la carte dinners. Our deal was on a B & B basis, but normally they only do half board. The only downside is that the daily room cost is normally high with the cheapest room (Classic) starting at 390 Euros per night and then going up to 440 Euros for the Superior Room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    10
    16
    13
See reviews for
32
59
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in Jan 2011 for three nights . We chose this hotel having read all the reviews of auron hotels even though it had received mixed reviews. The welcome was warm and the initial impressions were good. We had booked the Marmottes room so we were expecting small, but it really was minute! about a foot of space one ach side of hte4 bed and at the base of it so not much room to manoeuvre. Plus the bed was very short and not terribly comfortable. The bathroom was fine.
But the main problem was the smell. As soon as we entered the room we could smell drains. On commenting to the staff member he said "Oh yes, i think there was a smoker in this room before you." I speak fluent french so there was no confusion over what was said, but he was making a blatent attempt to bluff us as this was most certainly not the smell of smoke. He admitted there was a drain smell and when I asked to be moved to another room he said that was not possible and he would sort it. he returned with an air freshener spray! We were heading out to collect skis etc and I asked him to get rid of the smell before we returned and he had aired the room and placed some candles in it which worked for a time. The smell came and went over the duration of our stay. It is clearly an ongoing problem for them. Dinner and breakfast were generally good quality and plentiful. There was a good selection of wine starting at 28euro. Each evening we had a pre dinner drink which came with complimentary canapes in the lounge which was nice. Our only other problem was that when the owner is away the staff were not so attentive. On the owner's night away we were asked to show up for dinner earlier (maybe so that the staff could leave earlier?) and when we asked to finish our wine and cheese in the lounge by the fire we had a nightmare getting them to actully light the fire! Three times they made a poor attempt (in between standing, smoking outside on the terrace with the door open) and three times it went out. Eventually another staff member came over and said it was a 'fire hazard' after ten o'clock.??? In a pretty lounge with an open fire as its centrepiece, not to be able to sit and enjoy it was somewhat bizarre.
One the whole though this hotel was fine. The room was warm, the sauna was never crowded, the food was good and staff generally warm and pleasant. We popped our heads into some of the other hotels in Auron for future reference and would not rate them on first impressions so would most likely return to the Chalet D'Auron if going back with the children. The hotel was just a six to eight minute walk from the main telecabine. Just to add that we were allowed to take a shower and change in the steam room changing area before leaving as we were heading down to the coast that evening after our last afternoon's skiing.The resort was good and skiing great for three days.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingstar68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed at the Chalet D'Auron last February. It was very expensive but as we were only skiing in Auron for three days, we did not mind the expense. Unfortunately, our Easy Jet flight was diverted to Lyon due to Nice Airport having been closed due to snow. Consequently, we did not make it upto Auron for our first night's stay. I telephoned the hotel to let them know. We arrived the following day and checked in. We had a lovely two night stay, however when paying the bill (we were fully prepared to pay for the night we did not have as we had rooms reserved) but to be charged for four people for a five course dinner that we did not have I think was completely absurd. We tried to argue our point in our not very good french - however, when the Manager threatened to call the police we just paid up and left. It is a pity that the prettiest hotel in Auron has a family running it that are arrogant and rude. We will never stay there again - I wish I had had the nerve to ask for the 350 euro food we were charged for. I would have loved to have given it to the homeless shelter in Nice.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Besse-sur-Issole, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Auron has a limited range of accommodation and this is the best of what's available (and the pricest!) In summer the price is not bad; winter (when they make you pay dinner too...) can be over the top we think. the rooms are small (one was just bigger than a double bed) and have limited views but the location and atmosphere were good. service was average.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

We stayed at the hotel early January 2009 over a week end. We called a couple of days ahead and there were two rooms available, so we picked the cheapest (not that cheap actually) as this was our first visit. The room, called Marmottes, was very small but really cute, with its own shower room and lovely decoration. It was on the ground floor, conveniently located near the sauna and steam room, both nice and clean. During high season, half board is compulsory, so your fare includes breakfast and dinner. Dinner is exquisite, although think about going early as Raclette was already gone by the time we headed for dinner (8.30PM)... Lots of other choices, though... Beautiful dinner venue and nice views around the chalet... Our stay was gorgeous except for two things: firstly, at Eur 125 per person per night (cheapest room... Most at 175 per head), it is not cheap and beverages are on top (they are expensive!), so is any hot breakfast option, cheese or ham & charcuterie (in fact, breakfast itself is pretty basic: only bread, croissant and cereals...).. And so are deserts at dinner, as we found out as well... Secondly and, in my opinion unbelievable for a hotel of this calibre, there is no proper changing room and no shower offered if you ski all day on the second day of your stay and want to shower/ change before heading back to the airport in Nice... we were showed to the toilets to change and denied the right to a room to shower, even though the hotel was far from full. The lady at reception didn't find anything better to say than that we were teh first ones to ask and walked away when I told her that all hotels of this calibre do offer the service, certainly similarly prices ones in Verbier, Courchevel or Val D'Isere... A Real shame, which makes us seriously doubt whether we would return...

  • Liked — Very cute chalet, lovely rooms, clean and modern
  • Disliked — The staff and general service, the fact they don't disclose extras, the lack of changing/shower facility
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brokeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2008

I have stayed in three hotels in Auron and this is the best. Yes more expensive than all the others, but worth it! Rooms are clean and modern. I had heard of some problems with other guests and toilets/plumbing and have smelt some of these problems too! However my stay was without incident in these areas. The staff do not speak English, but that’s rural France! The restaurant is above average for most small ski resorts ad there is a good wine list. The terrace is a sun trap and lovely for the mornings or afternoon when not skiing.

There is a sauna, which is adequate, but necessary after a hard day skiing.
The walk in to the town is about 10-12 minutes, a little difficult when carrying your skis, so I recommend if hiring, to leave them at the store each

  • Liked — Position
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auron
0.1 mi away
Hotel L'Ecureuil
Hotel L'Ecureuil
#1 of 6 in Auron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Donnas
Hotel Las Donnas
#4 of 6 in Auron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
Restaurant Hotel le Bataclan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
New Chastillon
New Chastillon
#5 of 6 in Isola
3.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Le Pas du Loup
11.4 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Terrasses d'Azur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chalet d'Auron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chalet d'Auron

Property: Le Chalet d'Auron
Address: La Voie du Berger, 06600 Auron, Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Alpes Maritimes > Saint-Etienne-de-Tinee > Auron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Auron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chalet d'Auron 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Chalet d'Auron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing