We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No change - management still awful!”
Review of Castel du Roy

Castel du Roy
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castel du Roy
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breil-sur-Roya
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No change - management still awful!”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just bringing the reviews up to date having stayed here only two nights ago. Grumpy grumpy owner, alleviated only a little by hard pressed female associate. Didn't eat there (see below for comments on Breil's eateries) so can't say about food. Pool 'closes' (why?) at 7pm, despite wonderful evening sunshine. Breakfast dismal. Interior decor hideous even by French standards. Room small and poorly maintained. What a shame - this heavenly location deserves much much better.

If eating out in Breil, there are a number of cheap pizzerias serving the young and presumably cash strapped canonying community. Three places of note - the Flavie, a bit stuffy and too pricy for us, but food sounded nice; the Moulin, again a bit pricy and no outdoor terrace; finally, the creperie at the very far end of the village, beyond the church - here enjoyed a delightful though simple meal, served by charming lady (owner, waitress and cook I think).

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool. There are some suites, though I only glimpsed one while it was being cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    7
    11
    35
See reviews for
26
27
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I used to stay here regularly, and found that it was pure Basil Fawlty with a french accent. He used to have a good chef, but he has probably left. The lady is-was- his young wife. When I last saw his child, he was about 2, and my wife said-in french-what a nice little boy,is he yours?The response was, why? Did you think that I was incapable of siring a child? He's amazingly rude. I suspect that he is in the wrong job,but if you are staying for only a couple of nights, then it is a lovely place, and if you find Fawlty towers funny, then why not sample the real thing?It's the best place to stay to see the Vallee des Merveilles, and that's a truly wonderful sight.

Room Tip: They're all good for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westrj200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We discovered this hotel just en route as we wanted to sleep somewhere and stayed one night. Our experience was better than described in other reviews. We liked the area and the swimmingpool. We could order a dinner without pre-booking and even my son who does not like vegetables had no problems here. The lady ( probably the owner ) was very friendly and helpful even if we do not speak French at all and English was not easy for her. The room was a good standard, clean but could be bigger. I will be very pleased to come again and spend some days in this area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The setting is very nice, with the swimming pool and a forest area, but the owners were awful! We were told we couldn't have dinner at the restaurant, since we haven't pre-booked it. Also when we asked if we could at least have some drinks there after dinner out - we were told no :(

The breakfast was worth about 1 EUR, coffee tasted like flavoured water and the "buffet" consisted of croissants, yogurts and stale cheese...

The owners were rude to us when checking out...

Real shame, as it could be a very nice hotel under different management.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maaacka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Breil-sur-Roya hotels

Cote d'Azur
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

Terrible place, lovely landscape, all the other review are right.
I found 13 spider in my bedroom,so i don't think i need to say anynithing else.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tana13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

Hotel itself is fine in a pretty setting, though a bit out of the lovely town. A wonderful part of France - very beautiful. Sister/wife of proprietor tries hard to make it pleasant, but that is the problem - the manager. The tour company declined to book us into this hotel as they said they'd had bad feedback about the management being "cold" - yet we unwisely went ahead on our own as we wanted to walk the area and the other hotel was full.
However, the manager was difficult. He even put the fear of god into some of the polite women guests when simply asking for breakfast. As one of your french reviewers said, the hotel is run in a military fashion, and the manager seemed incapable of communicating on a friendly or civilised level. At first I thought he just wanted to show the world he felt embarrassed to have guests.
I paid extra on my phone booking when he said I could have a specially good room - this turned out to be incorrect - it was a small box-room just bigger than the bed (room 12) though it is right to say it had a nice view - but I was in no state to debate this by the time the bill was presented as the manager was rowing dismissively out loud with his wife/sister at her kind offer to run me and my wife to the station as she had volunteered she had the time and inclination to do so, and my knee was injured (from hiking).
I recommend you read the other reviews.
The meal on the terrace was indeed very nice - no choice, but enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mountainlifeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is in a beautiful setting next to the river with it's own park. It is a very relaxing place.

The proprietress was very helpful and friendly and always there when we needed something.

We were half board. The evening menu is set (written on the hotel menu board in the morning) and was always good. The weather was good enough for us all to sit outside for dinner - under the trees and by the river which was delightful and a real change from home.

It is a walk into the town - but when we were there, the local council was building a wide path away from the road which will make the walk into town easier and is probably open now. It's the nearest hotel to the station which was good for us as we didn't have a car.

For us, the only downside for us was that the beds were very soft which we are not used to and made it difficult to sleep.

  • Liked — the setting - trees and river, dinner in the evening
  • Disliked — the soft bed
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Breil-sur-Roya
9.1 mi away
Hotel le Mirval
Hotel le Mirval
#1 of 1 in La Brigue
96 reviews
10.5 mi away
Le Prieure
Le Prieure
#1 of 1 in Saint-Dalmas-de-Tende
64 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Valdeblore
Hotel Valdeblore
#1 of 1 in Valdeblore
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
La Bonne Auberge
La Bonne Auberge
#2 of 6 in Saint Martin-Vesubie
49 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Les Chamois
Hotel Les Chamois
#1 of 1 in La Bollene Vesubie
186 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel du Grand Capelet
Hotel du Grand Capelet
#1 of 1 in Belvedere
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel du Roy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel du Roy

Property: Castel du Roy
Address: 146 route de l Aigara | Breil Sur Roya, 06540 Breil-sur-Roya, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Breil-sur-Roya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Breil-sur-Roya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Castel du Roy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing