We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Le Mas Destonge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Mas Destonge
Ranked #2 of 10 Roussillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

It has taken me a while to write this review...perhaps because I wanted to keep the beauty of this place my secret! We spent 5 weeks travelling Europe and this stay was our favourite.
We stayed here last July (2013) for five nights. Robert and Christiane were wonderful hosts.
We rented a car in Avignon and the directions Christiane gave were easy to follow. The breakfasts were wonderful! Christiane's homemade preserves and yogurt were wonderful and I just couldn't say no to the warm croissants every morning. We were able to try fresh figs Robert picked off the tree each morning.
Christiane was very good about helping with our daily itinerary so we were able to see many of the little, hill towns and experience the area fully. Roussillon is a lovely little town, 5-10 minutes drive away. We ate dinner there every night and were very happy with that. The lavender was in bloom when we first got there but near the end of our stay they began cutting it. The smell was heavenly. We spent some time laying by the pool relaxing but mostly spent our days exploring. There is so much to see.
It was extremely hot while we were there but the rooms were cool and comfortable.
If you get a chance to experience the tables d'hôtes don't miss it! It was a wonderful evening!!!
If I am ever in France again I will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marvin123911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Beautiful scenery, comfortable rooms, great breakfast and really lovely hosts. Christiane speaks great English but Bob does not. It's ok he still is very eager to please. They both are. You feel the comfort here to come and go as you please, to leisure over your breakfast on the patio or by the pool (yes pool!). It allowed us to feel incredibly indulgent on a shoestring budget. Our bathroom was also recently redone, and it was as nice as a 5 star hotel bathroom. (Rodin room). We loved travelling over the countryside seeing the beautiful and unspoiled hill towns and fields of lavender. It's true the lavender is in full bloom in mid-July, but we were there at the end of June and you could certainly tell what the crop was and the purple in the pictures was great. We know we'd love to return to Roussilon and definitely Le Mas Destonge!

Room Tip: Just a couple, we liked the Rodin room. Overlooks the courtyard area, great new (huge) bath and simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harmons531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Firstly was a little bit upset because of the high price (over 100€ in a low/middle season) and far away(around 20min. drive) from city.
Afterwards, the B&B is a pretty big hause with nice decoration, we had a room on the roof, very spacious and nicely decorated, very clean, quiet, with a little balcony.
The breakfast is as the common french breakfast.
The hosts are very nice, the hostess can speak good English, which helped us a lot by hotel reservation, restaurant tip and travel tip. The father of the hostess was also very nice...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystalyuan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We recently spent a week in Christianne and Robert's mazet (cottage). We thoroughly enjoyed it and they were great hosts.

The cottage itself is a reasonable size and in decent condition. The kitchen, lounge and dining area are not huge but were certainly big enough for the two of us. The bedroom is a good size, with a large built in wardrobe. And there is a lovely private terrace, equipped with a table and chairs, coming off the kitchen and bedroom, where we ate many of our meals. All the necessary equipment is available to cook in the cottage, including a dish washer.

The real highlight is the pool - it had the sun all day and was a great area to sunbathe, read and generally relax.

There were also a few benefits of renting a self-catered cottage on the site of a bed and breakfast. It meant we had the benefit of being able to ask Christianne for assistance in organising activities (she booked us a tennis court at a nearby hotel, for example). We were also able to partake in a dinner that she was cooking for the hotel guests one evening. This was a very genial affair, and though our GCSE French wasn't quite enough to fully partake in the conversation, the meal was delicious, the wine flowed and it was great fun!

The location of the cottage allowed us to visit a number of nearby towns (Rousillion, Apts and Gordes), a couple of markets (Rousillion and Gordes) and a number of local vineyards by bike (too many to name!).

All in all, a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the loft of this beautiful property. It was an excellent jump off point for touring the many hill towns in the area. But what makes it special is the hospitality of the owners, Christiane and Robert. They were always willing to help with whatever you needed. On our last night, Christiane cooked an excellent meal for many of the residents, and a great time was had by all.

Leave your needs to be connected to TV and the Internet behind and relax in this beautiful setting with great hosts.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Utahtravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights there and we have a great time. Christine and Bob were simply the best. We not only felt at home but also at a nice hotel, right in the middle of a gorgeous property. We not only got great recommendations about local vineries, but also restaurants and other local attractions. Strongly recommend for anyone looking to have a pleasant time in the south of France.

Patrizia & Leandro (or as Bob would call me, Patrick Bruel!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalleMule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have just returned from a stay here. The place is lovely. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The breakfast was nice and fresh everyday. The pool area was always very clean and tidy...my only negative was the pool was too cold to get in fully but that really was my only negative. Very good value for money. Christiane and her husband are lovely people who cant do enough for you and made us feel very welcome. You would neecd a car to stay here as its auite remote. Definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
4.9 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#10 of 24 in Gordes
252 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
289 reviews
22.4 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Le Crillon Hotel
Le Crillon Hotel
#2 of 2 in Murs
155 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Mas des Etoiles
Le Mas des Etoiles
#1 of 52 in Gordes
345 reviews
2.7 mi away
Les Passiflores
Les Passiflores
#1 of 10 in Roussillon
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Mas Destonge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Destonge

Address: Hameau les Riperts | Hameau des Riperts, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Roussillon
Price Range: £98 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Mas Destonge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas Destonge Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing