We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic country retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

If you prefer to stay in a small hotel with character, charm and individuality then you will love this place. Do check a detailed map or GPS before you set off- the hotel is set in the middle of nowhere in glorious, rolling countryside via a paved track off the D2 to the north of Roussillon.

The hotel sits on a hillside overlooking the Luberon mountains and in the near-distance beautiful Roussillon glows warmly in the setting sun. They provide a pool and jacuzzi and a lovely fresh breakfast was served on the terrace by the pool while I was staying there. The hotel provides a small library with a diverse selection of French and English reading material.

Parking is provided under shady canopies and all around the grounds are wild flowers, lavender trees and the sound of crickets. The charm of the setting is mirrored in the welcome of the owners who are very friendly and kind.

The room was decorated in a quirky, almost bohemian style, with shutters to close at night for the bedroom but only a thin voile curtain otherwise and no curtain at all for the bathroom window which looked onto the next room's patio! Each room has its own mini patio with table and chairs which were lovely after a hard day's sightseeing. The room wasn't perfect- it had poor soundproofing- so you have to hope that people in the adjacent rooms or in the lobby share your bedtime- either that or invest in good earplugs! Wifi was barely functional while I stayed there but the bed was comfortable and the shower was powerful so they get the key things right.

The Cle des Champs comes highly recommended as a hotel to 'get away from it all' in a beautiful setting, attended to by charming hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank City99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

My first thought when we arrived was, why did I just book one night here??? What a relaxing setting in a well appointed small inn folded amidst rolling country outside of the unusual and scenic perched village of Roussillon. My only quibble was that breakfast was too expensive. The pool is just lovely.

Diane and Paul from Seattle

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeandPaul007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My wife and I were there in early May for our honeymoon. We didn't know much about this hotel other than seeing very good ratings on both tripadvisor and booking.com. Well, we enjoyed every moment here. Gilles (owner/operator) was so nice and friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious (fresh squeezed OJ with local ham) with nice setting outside next to the pool. So wonderful to wake up in the morning and enjoy the pleasant views and environment. One regret my wife and I had was that we only stayed for 1 night (traveling through Provence). Would love to come back again. It was such a memorable and wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Some errors in an navigation caused a delay in our arrival but our host was very accommodating. Our suite was clean, with lots of room for a family of five, one room with 3 single beds and one with a larger bed. Breakfast was fresh, with a little extra for the kids, hot chocolate! Lots of parking and well located for access to not only Roussillon, but many nearby hilltop towns. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalABtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

This is a delightful, small hotel of 9 rooms with classic views of the French countryside, and surprising relaxation-oriented amenities; a pool and jacuzzi, sauna, free wi-fi, good wines, great coffee and a modest breakfast buffet (14 euros). Our room was very quiet and private, our hosts Gilles and Monique friendly and helpful. We had rented a small car and this was a perfect base for exploring Roussillon, Gourdes, Isle sur la Sorque and all the charming hill towns and rich history of the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have recently returned from 12 nights here. A wonderful location and a wonderful stay. Gilles and Monique were fantastic hosts - we could not have asked for any more. We will definitely return. Faultless. Mark and Lucy

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were good and most were facing South towards Roussillon which all had good view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very enjoyable stay with excellent hosts Monique and Gilles. The hotel is very clean, lovely bathrooms, great breakfast and you must try the dinner! We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
2.2 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
4.4 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
285 reviews
4.7 mi away
Le Jas de Gordes
Le Jas de Gordes
#5 of 24 in Gordes
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#10 of 24 in Gordes
502 reviews
3.4 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#9 of 24 in Gordes
252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#3 of 5 in Roussillon
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Cle des Champs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Cle des Champs

Address: Appartement D2 route de Saint Saturnin | 222 Chemin Garrigon, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Price Range: £133 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Cle des Champs 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cle Des Champs in Roussillon, a beautiful story in the Luberon. Between Gordes and St Saturnin les Apt on the D2, take the small path that leads you to the hotel. In the shade of pine trees, nestled in the scrub that is an authentic Provencal Mas or the relaxing atmosphere appeals to you upon your arrival. You are at home here. Enjoy your newly decorated room with a private terrace facing the village of Roussillon. Laze beside the heated pool, enjoy the steam room and Jacuzzi or take the time to stroll in the garden surrounded by lavender fields. In the morning, quietly, enjoy a sumptuous breakfast and dinner treat yourself in our market cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel la Cle des Champs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Mas De Garrigon Gordes
Hotel La Cle Des Champs Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing