We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Clos des Cigales!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Clos des Cigales
Ranked #6 of 10 Roussillon B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Clos des Cigales!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We returned for the second year running, for twice as long (10 days). Excellent, comfortable, cool (it was August) room and ensuite shower-room. Perfect home-cooked breakfasts. Gentle breeze usually ruffles swimming pool and surrounding pines. Friendly other guests. Wonderful welcome and hosting by Philippe: makes place both convivial and private, depending on what you want. Cannot recommend it highly enough! (And a perfect part of France)

Room Tip: Both the independent rooms are perfectly places, as are the three suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnthonyGL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    18
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

This B&B had nice rooms but with minimal storage space. The breakfasts were very good with home made jam. My wife found the crickets annoying but I slept through them. The spot is not air conditioned and when we were there in late June the temperature was consistently in the mid to high 30's. But I guess that is normal for that time of year. Finding the location was a bit difficult. I located it on Google maps and used that visual location to identify a location on my GPS. A better approach might be to go to Goult and follow the D9 towards Rousillon.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryKinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
314 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Pleasant hosts, large room - one of two each with own patio in one of several buildings clustered around the swimming pool. Great breakfasts with home-made jams and home made cakes. The sound of the cigales (crickets) was so loud the first night that it kept me awake.

he but was the problem with the deposit which was a real irritation. Clos des Cigales do not take credit cards and we had to wire transfer E85 in February for first of our two nights as a deposit. This we did, with confirmation from our bank that E85 had reached their bank (we paid a $35 fee for this). Phillipe informed us that only E68 had reached their account and that, in addition to the second night's payment, we had to pay the E17 difference. When I questioned this (I had copies of the banks confirmation with me) he knocked it down to E15! This left me with a somewhat sour taste. Note you have to pay in cash.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Philippe and Brigitte could not have been more welcoming and friendly! We were greeted like long, lost friends and immediately made to feel very welcome.

Le Clos de Cigales is less than a couple of kilometres from the centre of Roussillon, a charming hill top town renowned for sitting atop the worlds largest ochre deposit.

Roussillon makes a great base for exploring the Luberon region of Provence, and staying at Le Clos de Cigales meant we came back to peace and quiet after a busy day.

There are 2 bungalows with 2 rooms (which I stayed in) and a couple of other double rooms all clustered around a pool amongst pine trees. Breakfast was served in our room as it was winter and a little chilly to be sitting out near the pool, but that would be a lovely way to start the day in summer. Brigitte makes her own jams and flans and each morning we were treated to a different variation in addition to fresh baguettes, croissants or pain au chocolate.

There is wifi although at the time we were there they had just installed a new router and we were having trouble accessing it from our bungalow. Hopefully they will have sorted that out by now as apart from that, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it without hesitation.

You can see more on Rousillion on my blog http://whereswiwi.com/2012/03/25/down-and-dirty-in-roussillon/

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiwi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

A beautiful location, in the pinewoods just about a mile outside Roussillon (easily walkable in daylight along lovely wooded paths - Phillippe will advise) Very central for touring to all the other villages and attractions in the area.
Each room or suite has its own patio, well-positioned for privacy + sunshine, also fridge, two-ring cooker and basic utensils. Microwave available. Ideal for a snack lunch or for feeding young children.
Rooms not large but very clean and airy. Good-sized shower.
Breakfast is a real feast, including Brigitte's homemade jams, a different choice each day, plus a large slice of one of her homemade cakes - and this despite the fact that, at the time of our visit, she was over 8 months pregnant!
This was such lovely, restful place, with very welcoming hosts. We look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2010

Philippe and Brigitte made us feel very welcome in this lovely bed and breakfast! Beautifully clean, spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfasts were delicious. Close to all the wonderful sites of the area. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

We were received by Philippe and Brigitte in this charming place of Provence at less 1 mille of Roussillon.

It's a peacefull place sunny with a swimming pool, as of the first beautiful days you can dive!

The cottages are placed around the pool in the middle of pine forest.

We have passed 2 days in a suite, which were awesome in this provencal atmosphere, and in Bonus the delightful breakfast, a typical french breakfast croissants, homemade pies, homemade marmelade, coffee, tea ...

And, what can we say about the Luberon ?! It is a very beautiful region,
Roussillon this village with the ochres cliffs.., the villages Lacoste, Bonnieux, Gordes and the Colorado Provencal “les gorges du verdon »...

There are still many things to discover in this region…


There are still many things to discover in this region…

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grind_manics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
0.8 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#3 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
La Maison des Ocres
La Maison des Ocres
#5 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Petite Auberge de Roussillon
2.6 mi away
Hostellerie des Commandeurs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos des Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos des Cigales

Property: Le Clos des Cigales
Address: 1 route de Goult, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Roussillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Clos des Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos Des Cigales Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing