We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful stay in Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Clos de la Glycine
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Arriving in July and expecting tourist overrun, we were very pleasantly surprised that such a tranquil environment existed. We loved the hotel, town and location that was close to lavender and other authentic villages that gave us a taste of the real Provence.
Everyone at the hotel was very welcoming and very helpful with information about the area. The Angelique was a most comfortable room , cool in the heat of July, overlooking the ochre quarry and we enjoyed exquisite food in the restaurant.
Breakfast under 'la glycine' was relaxing and generous. The resident snail became a daily attraction as we followed his progress around the water feature with interest.
The reserved parking space was a godsend.

We would recommend this hotel to friends but selfishly we would like to keep it our own secret.
Thoroughly enjoyable and want to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for Le Clos de la Glycine
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in the room with a large terrace and a jacuzzi. The room overlooked the fabulous luberon valley and the ocres. Located in the centre of the village and right beside the restaurants. This is a great spot as part of a tour of the valley.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I stayed here on our travels through Provence and the Luberon. The hotel is situated in a perfect stop atop the small town of Roussillon. The hotel rooms have beautiful views over the valley and the room was as nice as any 5 star hotel in France. If you have the time this hotel is definitely worth a stopover even though the town can be seen within an hour. The restaurant inside the hotel was superb and it also overlooks the valley. Make a reservation for a good table when you check into your room. Also make a reservation for a car spot since it is free and right next to the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the valley. Almost all the rooms do.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greg56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our family of four stayed at Le Clos de la Glycine from July 6 - July 8. The hotel is located in the centre of Rousillon. There is free parking if you have a rental car and it's easy to walk around town from the hotel.

We selected the half board option. We stayed in the suite, "Le Laurier Rose". and I must say that the pictures online don't do justice to the suite we had. Quite simply, it was beautiful, a decorator's dream!

Our teenage children slept in the living room on a pull-out sofa and we slept in the master bedroom which was located on the second floor of the loft. There was a master bathroom on the first floor (lovely with Jacuzzi and shower) and a small washroom off the master bedroom on the second floor. The absolute best part however was the balcony - it was very large with a hot tub and the most incredible view over the ochre cliffs of Rousillon. Our jaws dropped when we saw our room and the view from the balcony.

While there are many restaurants in town, we had no regrets about selecting the half board option at Le Clos de la Glycine. We had marvellous, creative dinners each night at Restaurant David, again with seating looking out on stunning views and breakfast was brought to our room and we ate on the balcony. The breakfasts and dinners were both delicious and ample.

Special thanks to Lea who was so friendly and truly made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We would highly recommend Le Clos de la Glycine to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Livvy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I don't speak French well enough to fill this all out. The hotel was great, nice clean rooms and a beautiful view from the terrace rooms. I asked about a parking space an one that was very convenient was saved for us and it was free. Good location. Best to leave Roussillion for the day a sits crowded, but it is beautiful when everyone is gone. Staff was helpful.

I did not se any fitness room, if there was one... I was looking for a not applicable button.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We spent 2 nights in Le Clos de la Glycine, in the Eglantine, with a view of the valley. The hotel is really well situated, at the entrance of Roussillon, within walking distance of the ochre cliffs. The room was beautifully decorated in the Provencal style, with a beautiful terrace. There is a small refrigerator in the room, and coffee and tea making supplies. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The person who complained about parking should have requested it in the first place. The restaurant David was excellent. We had the 1/2 pension with breakfast and dinner, which was well worth it. The dinner was of exceptional quality, both the taste and presentation, the wine from the region was also excellent. We went to several vineyards the next day to stock up on the wine. All in all we had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the best food in the Luberon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clearly described on the hotel website.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtravelor09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The modest entrance of the Clos de la Glycine does not give credit to this lovely hotel. Our first welcome was by a very friendly and helpful girl at the reception. We had not booked a car parking space, but she immediately came outside and directed us to one of the hotel’s own spaces.

As our room was on the top floor, it did not have a terrace in front of it, as most other rooms seemed to have. Instead we had a most spectacular view from our north facing window. The room was large and clean and comfortably furnished in Provence style.

We dined at the restaurant and again enjoyed excellent service. We asked for an outside table, but none were available. Instead, we were give a corner table inside with stunning views towards the Luberon valley on one side and the flood lit ochre cliff on the other. Very delicious and well composed set menu.

After we had checked out, the ever helpful girl from the reception came running after us at the car park with a jacket we had managed to forget in the room. Another evidence of the efficient service with a big smile that we experienced at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussillon
1.7 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 5 in Roussillon
276 reviews
3.4 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
3.6 mi away
Auberge de Carcarille
Auberge de Carcarille
#11 of 24 in Gordes
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
Hotel Les Sables d'Ocre
#2 of 5 in Roussillon
241 reviews
4.8 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
263 reviews
4.9 mi away
Le Mas des Romarins
Le Mas des Romarins
#12 of 24 in Gordes
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Clos de la Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos de la Glycine

Address: Place de la Poste, 84220 Roussillon, Gordes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Gordes > Roussillon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Roussillon
Price Range: £115 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Clos de la Glycine 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of one of the most beautiful villages in Provence, Le Clos de la Glycine invites you to discover the good life in Roussillon. In this little Provencal paradise, the atmosphere, light and sense of well-being are unrivalled.The sophistication, choice of materials and use of elegant warm colours create an immediate feeling of comfort and serenity. Everything is designed for your total satisfaction. All our bedrooms vie to be the most charming, comfortable and refined. Superbly appointed, they offer sublime views of the Apt valley, the ochre cliffs, the picturesque village or majestic Mont Ventoux. Designed to reflect the intimacy of Provence, the furniture is painted in traditional Provencal tones. All our bedrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with minibar, a safe, flat-screen TV, telephone and free WiFi Internet connection and some even have their own terrace. The lobby also features a business corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Clos de la Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos De La Glycine Hotel Roussillon
Le Clos De La Glycine Roussillon, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing