We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2* hotel in Chatel”
Review of Logis le Roitelet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Logis le Roitelet
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here for here for 4 days and 3 nights 20-23 December 2013, the hotel itself is extremely clean and tidy as are the rooms ( we started in No:16 and moved to a better view in No:9 (a nice touch by the manageress who did not need to do this), the staff who work the restaurant and bar are superb and work extremely hard to help, all speak good English so if you don't fancy giving French a try you are okay. The Owner is a fantastic lady who cannot do enough to help and make your stay great. we ate in the hotel once, should have been more often 4 course meal was 24 Euro each and extremely good value and quality, breakfast is 11 Euro per person and kept us going until dinner. The only minor negative point would be the walk in ski gear to the super Chatel lift, I would not do it, as its to far up hill to be comfortable, however the ski bus stops right outside the hotel, its fine to walk in every day gear. ( we had a car and drove to the La Linga lift as it has a large free car park, Chatel does not have a free car park near the lift but an underground one that is still a fair way to the lift station ! ) Overall this is a hotel to highly recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Chatel, Oh and they have a very cool cat that lives in the lounge/ boot room area.
Message me if you want any questions answered.

Room Tip: room 9. small double bedroom , first floor,rear right corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skichappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

So, this hotel is about 5-10 min walking distance from the centre. There is enough parking space if you are by car.
The rooms were relatively big and many of them have a balcony with a good view. Free wifi, small TV, fine bed. In my room the bath-shower combi did not have a spot to hang up the shower; so you have to hold it. Great way for a hotel to save on water, but annoying.
The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly. The breakfast in the morning was ok. Quite some choices, but nothing too luxurious.
Well, then you have the price. In summer you get a 2p room for under 60 eur.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back-side have a balcony with view. Sun form morning to evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ski-fanatic-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

The owner of the hotel was very kind, inc. the staf. Every morning and evening she came to have a little chat, and was always interested! We booked half board, and the diner was excellent! The kitchen is well known as a very good restaurant. One night we had raclet or cheesfondue. If you're looking for a very good price and good quality, than you've found it. En ben je een zeikerige nederlander, dan moet je maar de portemonnee trekken als je beter wil.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nederlander j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was on a cycle tour and arrived soaking wet (the only two hours rain of the week though). No problem, the bike was safely stored downstairs and wet clothes put in the drying room overnight. I had a diouble room at the rear of the hotel with balcony overlooking the valley.The bathroom was modern with shower an everything was very clean. Had evening meal and breakfast and both were excellent.
The owners really made me feel welcome and I would love to have stayed longer. I would certainly stay there again if I was to visit Chatel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We booked having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. We are frequent users of Logis and 2* doesn't mean room service, fluffy towels and maitre d's. Our quiet back of hotel room with balcony and views over the Abondance valley met requirements with ample storage and good bathroom (no shower). The whole hotel is very clean and managed personally by the engaging wife and skilled husband chef. We ate 7 excellent dinners from the demi-pension menu.The majority of guests were French with a smattering of other Europeans and no English (across all age ranges). Terrace eating when weather allows.

Room Tip: request a room at the back for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dazler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2010

We, a family with 2 kids aged 13 and 17, stayed here for a full week of skiing. We stayed in room 19 and 22. Room 19 is small and has a tiny bathroom, but with a shower, toilet and sink in it. Room 22 is the one in the top of the hotel. This room is slightly bigger and has a separate bathroom. The beds were not really comfortable either, giving all of us some restless nights. Both rooms are on streetside.
Location of the hotel isn't great either. It is uphill to get to the village center where the ski-lift is. This is only about 700 meters, but walking that on skiboots....However, there is a busstop next to the hotel. About every 30 minutes the bus drives you to the village center where you can take the lift, or step in another bus to Linga or Pre la Joux, the other ski-areas of Chatel.
I would not recommend to hire a car though, as mentioned in a previous review. It will take you as long as the bus and you'll have to walk far from the parking to the lifts. And it pollutes the fresh air!

That were the negatives about this hotel. The positives:
- very friendly staff. Owner Marie is a really charming lady, whom brings a good atmosphere in the hotel. Supported by Benoit the waiter and the 2 young lady waiters.
- good food. The chef makes out of the standard dishes a delightful meal. Most of the time we had a 4 course diner with in the middle of the week a fondue/raclette evening.
- parking. Lots of parking places, even during this busy week, either next to the hotel or at -1.
- ski room. Large and easy accessible.

Still, I would not recommend this hotel to a friend, for the 2 reasons mentioned at the beginning.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonsmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

Stayed there a few years ago with a group of friends. This place is run by a very nice family and they make you feel at home (dried our wet jackets after a wet ski day). The food was great (racklette!), the rooms were very clean. Short walk to the ski hill. I think this hotel and Chatel in general is the the best value ski resort in Europe.

  • Stayed: February 2003, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mont-Tremblant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
1 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#4 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
#12 of 18 in Chatel
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
#15 of 18 in Chatel
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis le Roitelet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis le Roitelet

Address: 731 route de Thonon, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range: £66 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis le Roitelet 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roitelet is located at the edge of Chatel ski resort, near the village centre and the ski lifts. It offers free Wi-Fi access and chalet-style accommdation. Most rooms at Le Roitelet have a private balcony overlooking the Alps. They are all ensuite and have a TV. Guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast and regional cuisine at the Roitelet's restaurant. It features a terrace with panoramic mountain views, where meals can be served during the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Logis le Roitelet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing