We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Stunning Views, Simply Styled Quality Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our family group recently stayed in 2 rooms at the Fleur De Neige Chatel. My daughters party included a baby staying in suite 43 on the 2nd floor. The baby equipment and fresh baby food were superb and the space extremely accomodating of ski and baby luggage.

Our refurbished room was on the top floor 53 and again it was of lovely quality and comfort. Both rooms were extremely spacious with the most outstanding views of the valley below and aside the hotel down towards the Village. Each refurbished room was in a simple chic style with pastel grey colours , matching curtains, fur throws and quality bedding making for a very comfortable sleep. The floors and wardrobes were light oak with panelled beams. Rooms had either a bath or shower room and in 43 a seperate wardrobe area and toilet. My daugters room even had a lovely view from the shower as well as the 2 big windows and balconies which could be enjoyed from the bed.

The free, Vonnes ski bus stop I is right next to the hotel which will take you to the centre, where you either have a short walk to the Super Chatel lift or to pick up another bus A to the pres La Jour lift Avoriaz, bus c Petit Chatel or the Linger lifts.We have stayed at Chatel previously in a hotel now closed on the bus route to Avoriaz which was a little more onveneient for skiing however often the bus was aready packed with skiers so all in all our outside bus stop was more convenient.

The manager offererd helpful responsive advice prior to our stay and arranged ski passes for us at a discount. The ski locker room with heated racks were a bonus. We also booked the local child nursery Les Mouflets near the centre of Chatel and the childcare here was excellent and our baby happy and well cared for.

We took the HB hotel option with a set 4 course evening meal and continental breakfast. Both meals were extremely ample , lovely quality croissants, breads, jams, cheese deli meats, cerials, yogurts, coffee, juices for breakfast. The evening meal consisted of a chef taster, salad or entree, main course, cheese selection and sweet.If there was soething that you wanted to change you could change if needed. We however liked every morsel we were served including the baby food made fresh every day. As others have commented, the cheese selection was second to none.The local red and white wines at the lower price tag of 14 and 18 euros were extremely palitable and although we deviated to more expensive choices we returned to the local and excellent priced wines.

A cosy lounge with the fireplace was somewhat under used considering the outstanding views and cozy ambience.The pool and the Jacuzzi were also a very nice bonus and we enjoyed taking our grand daughter in the wellness suite.

The best thing about this hotel overall was the quiet simple style and the quality of the comfortable beds and bedrooms with outstanding views. The pleasant staff compliment this all-together excellent hotel.It was a fair walk to the centre up hill in ski boots hence the bus stop being quite conveneient.We would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel and to return to lovely Chatel.

Room Tip: Suite 43 was spacious with lovely valley village views, shower seperate loo and room 53 excellent wi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LillyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

A group of us stayed at the Fleur De Neige for a long weekend in March 2013. The hotel was excellent. We were booked into the non-refurbished rooms, and whilst they were a little "dated" they were large, comfortable, clean, warm and had great views of the mountain. The staff were fabulous, with Stephane the owner being particularly helpful and attentive. As per other reviews we found the food excellent and great value for money, with a good and affordable wine list. The health facilities were also good. We didn't use the pool but the sauna and hammam provided a welcome relaxation after a hard day ski-ing. As regards location, the hotel is about 500 metres from the Super Chatel lift, and the bus that takes you to the other local lifts. There is a free bus operating on the road the hotel is on, so if you don't fancy the walk into town with your skis the bus stops at the hotel every 10 mins or so. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel for families, or friends. We also looked at the reburbished rooms and they are beautifully finished and impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have mountain view. Reburbished rooms are great but more expensive.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed at the Fleur de Neige for a week at the end of February 2012 and had a wonderful time. The staff were fantastic and their attention to detail was amazing. The newly refurbished rooms are lovely. The highlight was the wonderful 4 course dinner every night and especially the fantastic cheese trolley - as good as in many top restaurants. My companion was a non-meat eater and the staff never had to be reminded of this - an appropriate and delicious alternative dish always arrived unprompted. And the special offers on aperitifs and digestifs were great value. All in all a fantastic experience and I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the valley side are quieter and have better views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We booked early directly with the hotel and received a very good discount on our stay and lift passes. All staff were extremely helpful responding quickly to emails and when there they were also very charming. We stayed in a double refurbished room at the front of the hotel-although it did not have as good a view as the rooms on the valley side it was a lovely room and was not too noisey although it was on the road side. The hotel food was very good for a 3 star hotel, although their was no choice, there was a set 4 course meal which was of a high standard. We were told if we did not like any of the choices to inform the staff and they would provide an alternative. The spa was very welcoming after a hard day skiing, with a great steam room, jacuzzi, pool, sauna and robes which made it easy to go from your room to the spa. Chatel was a great ski destination with frequent ski buses to Pres la Joux which did mean a short bus journey into Chatel Centre from the Hotel and then another bus-the journey took mininum 20 minutes but could be longer if you had to wait on buses. We booked our ski equipment from Germain Sports-Ski 2000 in Chatel. We were not happy with the service or equipment we received from them and would not recommend them. The Hotel recommended a shop called Twinner which I think would have been a better option.
To summerise a brilliant Hotel, helpful and friendly staff, good location and value for money. This is a Hotel we would certainly consider going back to.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room on the valley side for a better room. You may need to check if the room h...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CL3X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This is a comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed here during a ski trip to Chatel, on a room only basis, and enjoyed our stay.

Some of the rooms in the hotel have been recently renovated and are of a very high standard. We stayed in one of the older rooms, however, but still found it to be very spacious with nice, comfortable beds. A dressing gown and slippers are also provided for you in the room. Each room has a flat screen television with many channels, although only a few of them are in english, and these are news channels. Free wifi is available in the rooms though.

In the bathroom, there was a bath with a handheld shower head. It was almost impossible to have a shower, though, as there was nowhere to attach the shower to the wall and you therefore had to hold it in your hand. There was also no shower curtain, which meant that the floor got soaked!

We were also not entirely happy with the daily room cleaning service either. One day, we were left with no toilet rolls, and another day our room was not cleaned at all, after having had the "do not disturb" sign on the door for a short period one morning. We were also not given any new bottles of shower gel throughout our week-long stay.

We ate in the hotel on one night and found the food to be a little bit too fancy for our liking and not worth the money we paid. The hotel is only a short 4 minute walk from the centre of the village and we preferred going there to get dinner.

The wellness centre was well worth a visit after a long day skiing. It has a pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi and all were clean and in good working order.

If you stay here for a ski holiday, a heated ski room is provided in the garden of the hotel, so our boots were always dry the next day!

Overall, I would recommend this hotel. Despite the few small things mentioned above, there is an overall feeling of comfort, the rooms are lovely, with beautiful views and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms have views of the valley, some have a view of the street. There are refurbished and non-r...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Châtel, Haute-Savoie, France is charming town in a welcoming region.

Hotel Fleur de Neige was the perfect place to stay for exploring the surroundings. The staff did all they could to make us feel at home and the restaurant was excellent (staying with half-board).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ErikBehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We stayed at Fleur de Neige, Châtel, for a full week and had a great time. The hotel is suitable for both adults and families. Kitchen is top level for a 3-star hotel and the wellness-level with swimmingpool is attractive. Hotel management and all service personel were a positive experience. Free WIFI.

Strongly recommendable - only 18 kilometers from highway and a worldclass ski area in walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NissenDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
281 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#1 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Le Tremplin
Hotel Le Tremplin
#12 of 18 in Chatel
30 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
0.5 mi away
Le Kandahar Hotel
Le Kandahar Hotel
#5 of 18 in Chatel
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige

Address: 564 Route de Vonnes, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range: £101 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing