We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with superb restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend skiing in January. The hotel staff were very welcoming and the room, although small, was very clean and with high quality fittings. Free internet was also a bonus.

Breakfast was good quality but expensive however the dinner was superb value and excellent food. Unfortunately we didn’t try the restaurant until the 3rd evening after eating in the village restaurants for the first couple of nights. We wished we had eaten there every evening.

The pool, sauna and steam room are a little basic but clean and a definite plus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loungeseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien T, Propriétaire at Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments posted on TripAdvisor further to your stay with us in January.

It was a real pleasure reading that your stay was a very good experience and that you found our service warm and welcoming!
We were delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and our restaurant with very good quality food.
Happy that you found your room ans SPA clean! It's very important for us that all guests are comfortable and feel good.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future at Fleur de Neige.

Best Regards,

Sébastien Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

I booked an overnight stay with dinner in the restaurant to celebrate my husbands birthday in January. Our room was very comfortable. well decorated & clean with a balcony giving us a lovely view of the mountains, there was a facility to make tea & coffee in the room, a great shower, plenty of towels provided, plus dressing gowns & slippers. We used the pool, jacuzzi & steam room in the spa area, very enjoyable.The staff are very friendly & professional, nothing is too much trouble, our meal in the restaurant was excellent, with good advice as to which wine to choose & a lovely atmosphere. The hotel is very well situated in the village & as other guests have commented, the restaurant is frequented by locals, we live a 45 minute drive away & had previously dined in the restaurant. Although we only stayed overnight, we both felt totally relaxed, as if we had been away for longer. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Visit the Fleur de Neige website, it shows each type of room very clearly, helping the client make t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroE823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien T, Propriétaire at Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Caroline & Keith,

Many thanks for taking time to share your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
It has been our great pleasure to welcome you to our hotel.

The title of your review “wonderful hotel & restaurant” is a tremendous compliment and we would like to extend our most sincere gratitude for writing this.
We are delighted to learn that you deeply appreciated your accommodation, view, SPA. It is a real pleasure for us to know that you appreciated the staff efficiency . It is really important for us to know that our clients will keep good memories of their stay.

We are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant. For us is the highest possible compliment anyone could possibly make.

Me and my family would be more than happy to meet you during your next stay at Fleur de Neige (maybe for your Birthday...).

Thanking you again for your appreciation and we do look forward to welcoming you back among us in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Sébastien Trincaz and all family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Spent a long weekend here in January. Have stayed in few hotels in few ski resorts over the past couple years and have to say this is by far the best I've come across. The hotel has clearly been recently refurbished to a high standard in reception and I think most of the rooms. There may be more basic rooms in the lower ground floor. The hotel is family run and the staff were all very welcoming and warm and very willing to help. It was easy to get lift passes arranged and ski hire discount coupons. The rooms are to high standard of decor with a good wifi connection and plenty hot water and heating. We have a view from our balcony down over the village.
We ate in the hotel on two nights and the standard of food was excellent. The dining room was popular with non residents as well which, as others have said, is a good sign.
Look forward to returning.

Room Tip: No lift to upper floor. Not a problem for us but you might want to consider if needing access by lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien T, Propriétaire at Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We were very touched by your kind comment on Trip Advisor. We very much thank you for taking time to share your experiences at our hotel.

Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service’s affability is most important for us, and we will be certain to share your comments to all the team.

We were also very pleased that you appreciated our restaurant, definitely a signature by our Chef, Philippe Trincaz.

We sincerely hope that your stay amongst us will remain unforgettable over time to come.
We look forward to welcoming you back again at Fleur de Neige.

Yours sincerely,

Sébastien Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My firends and i have just had a fab holiday in chatel with excellent sking in january 2014, what made it so good was the excellent hotel Fleur de neige, Located in a great posistion near to the centre of chatel. easy access for the free bus service and also night life in chatel.
The views, accomdation and service in the hotel was fantastic very frendly and homely. Good size rooms and the resturant food was one of the best in chatel. we noticed when using the resturant that many people travel to the hotel just for the resturant, which is a good sign. Very good value as well.
The spa areas was lovely as well with swimming pool, sauna, jacuzi and steam room and also a good size. We are returning this this hotel again and I have not hesitation to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien T, Propriétaire at Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at Hotel Fleur de Neige and for your kind words regarding the service and kitchen that you experienced during your stay.
I will be sure to pass on your feedback with all of my team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to "our house" in the future.

Best Regards,

Sébastien Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2014. The location is within walkable distance of the town centre, and a free shuttle to the ski hills stops right in front of the hotel. I stayed in a renovated room that was very nice (looks just like the photos on the website). The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a great heated towel rack. The elevator didn't reach the top floor, so it was a bit of a hike with the suitcases to the room, but I just considered it a warm up for my day of skiing. The breakfast was great, and the views of the mountains were beautiful. One of my friends had lunch at the restaurant and had nothing but good things to say about the food.

My only comment/complaint was that it wasn't made clear when we checked in that there's a code to access the building after 12am. My group was out late, and when we got back to the hotel, we were locked out. It took 40 minutes of calling the main number for someone to finally respond with the access code. It turns out that it was written on the envelope the room keys came in, but it wasn't explained to us at any point. The locals passing by made some jokes at our expense as we waited outside the hotel trying to figure out a way in.

Other than that, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room. Rooms on the street side could be noisy for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanitsirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien T, Propriétaire at Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear guest,

I would like as a start to thank you for having chosen Hotel Fleur de Neige for your holiday in Chatel and for your gracious comments regarding our service and quality of food.

I would like to apologize for you wait in front of main door. For your safety the entrance of the hotel from midnight with code. We have well noted your comments regarding check in which are very important and constructive. Please be sure that we will take them into account.

Thanking you again for your comments, we wish to be able to be of your service again in the future

Best regards,
Sébastien Trincaz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Our family group recently stayed in 2 rooms at the Fleur De Neige Chatel. My daughters party included a baby staying in suite 43 on the 2nd floor. The baby equipment and fresh baby food were superb and the space extremely accomodating of ski and baby luggage.

Our refurbished room was on the top floor 53 and again it was of lovely quality and comfort. Both rooms were extremely spacious with the most outstanding views of the valley below and aside the hotel down towards the Village. Each refurbished room was in a simple chic style with pastel grey colours , matching curtains, fur throws and quality bedding making for a very comfortable sleep. The floors and wardrobes were light oak with panelled beams. Rooms had either a bath or shower room and in 43 a seperate wardrobe area and toilet. My daugters room even had a lovely view from the shower as well as the 2 big windows and balconies which could be enjoyed from the bed.

The free, Vonnes ski bus stop I is right next to the hotel which will take you to the centre, where you either have a short walk to the Super Chatel lift or to pick up another bus A to the pres La Jour lift Avoriaz, bus c Petit Chatel or the Linger lifts.We have stayed at Chatel previously in a hotel now closed on the bus route to Avoriaz which was a little more onveneient for skiing however often the bus was aready packed with skiers so all in all our outside bus stop was more convenient.

The manager offererd helpful responsive advice prior to our stay and arranged ski passes for us at a discount. The ski locker room with heated racks were a bonus. We also booked the local child nursery Les Mouflets near the centre of Chatel and the childcare here was excellent and our baby happy and well cared for.

We took the HB hotel option with a set 4 course evening meal and continental breakfast. Both meals were extremely ample , lovely quality croissants, breads, jams, cheese deli meats, cerials, yogurts, coffee, juices for breakfast. The evening meal consisted of a chef taster, salad or entree, main course, cheese selection and sweet.If there was soething that you wanted to change you could change if needed. We however liked every morsel we were served including the baby food made fresh every day. As others have commented, the cheese selection was second to none.The local red and white wines at the lower price tag of 14 and 18 euros were extremely palitable and although we deviated to more expensive choices we returned to the local and excellent priced wines.

A cosy lounge with the fireplace was somewhat under used considering the outstanding views and cozy ambience.The pool and the Jacuzzi were also a very nice bonus and we enjoyed taking our grand daughter in the wellness suite.

The best thing about this hotel overall was the quiet simple style and the quality of the comfortable beds and bedrooms with outstanding views. The pleasant staff compliment this all-together excellent hotel.It was a fair walk to the centre up hill in ski boots hence the bus stop being quite conveneient.We would not hesitate to reccomend this hotel and to return to lovely Chatel.

Room Tip: Suite 43 was spacious with lovely valley village views, shower seperate loo and room 53 excellent wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LillyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A group of us stayed at the Fleur De Neige for a long weekend in March 2013. The hotel was excellent. We were booked into the non-refurbished rooms, and whilst they were a little "dated" they were large, comfortable, clean, warm and had great views of the mountain. The staff were fabulous, with Stephane the owner being particularly helpful and attentive. As per other reviews we found the food excellent and great value for money, with a good and affordable wine list. The health facilities were also good. We didn't use the pool but the sauna and hammam provided a welcome relaxation after a hard day ski-ing. As regards location, the hotel is about 500 metres from the Super Chatel lift, and the bus that takes you to the other local lifts. There is a free bus operating on the road the hotel is on, so if you don't fancy the walk into town with your skis the bus stops at the hotel every 10 mins or so. I have no hesitation recommending this hotel for families, or friends. We also looked at the reburbished rooms and they are beautifully finished and impressive.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have mountain view. Reburbished rooms are great but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BroonNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
#8 of 18 in Chatel
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
#16 of 18 in Chatel
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige

Address: 564 route de Vonnes, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Portes du Soleil > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range: £142 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel restaurant Fleur de Neige is situated in Chatel in an exceptional environment at the heart of the Portes du Soleil resort and the Abondance valley. At an altitude of 1200 meters, amidst the total calm and near to the ski runs, the center and the Lake of Vonnes, a charming mountain style hotel in a most privileged position with panoramic views over the mountain summits and the village. Philippe Trincaz and his son Sébastien, along with their wives Christine and Karolina welcome you simply in a warm, family way. The hotel has 23 rooms of which 17 have been recently renovated. Each room has a balcony with breathtaking views over the mountain and the village. Double, family duplex rooms and a suite offer a cosy atmosphere. An area with a hammam, sauna, jacuzzi, massage room, heated pool (open air in summer), shaded terrace. Relax by the fireside to share your family moments or a drink with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing