We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Macchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Macchi
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We spent two nights here on a walking holiday. The rooms are comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the food good. Our only complaint was that our room at the front of the hotel (room 10) was noisy in that the hotel is opposite a supermarket whose noisy deliveries start at dawn. So ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    54
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
119
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel, the staff, the room and the food. Such a pity that the centre of Chatel is such a building site at the moment, especially in the location close to this hotel.
Luckily we were only staying for 2 nights as the noise and dust was very annoying.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Neal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Responsable réception at Hotel Macchi, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Finally the new indoor aquatic center is built and no more noise in the surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a amazing stay, we really feel like at home, everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The food was divine, the room are very cosy and charming. We highly recommend you the SPA, their masseurs have gold hands.
PS:You have to test their VIRGIN MORITO inspired by London!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

From the very first moment to the last, we found the staff and management exceptionally friendly and ready to help. The food is very good, the rooms are of a decent size, clean and quiet, and the hotel is in the centre of Chatel. Beware: when we were there (March) there was no direct access to the ski slopes, you'll have to take a shuttle or bus. Having said that, the free hotel shuttle works very well. But most of all, this is a feel good hotel, where the smiles of all around you ensure your stay is a happy one.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Echoing the comment below :" from the moment we arrived and had a personal show around the hotel, including meeting the hotel dog, we enjoyed every minute."

The receptionist and waiting staff were great- helpful, polite and able to give advice on walking options around the town.

There's a great little spa + pool and jacuzzi. Restaurant was very fine- especially for those of us who don't eat meat.

And the dog, if a little old, is very sweet.

Room Tip: Ask for one associated with a famous skier- the more famous the skier the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric M, Responsable réception at Hotel Macchi, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
We thank you for having chosen the Macchi hotel as your holidays and we are happy that your stay passes well.

See you again soon the next year.

Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Very cozy and cute as all get out - but not too Alpy. Very good food, extremely helpful staff and a spa -yay! Comfortable bed and neat and clean bath with a soaker tub.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front face the street, but it is not an extremely rowdy ski town, so this was not a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Nice experience in this hotel with walking distance to the ski station.
Hotel has a SPA, swimming pool, hammam very cosy and neat.

We had a set menu dinner: the food was good and the waiters are polite, available and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Floor 1 as it is set on the street level. 2nd floor rooms have balconies, and a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwadolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
#7 of 18 in Chatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#16 of 18 in Chatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.6 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#8 of 18 in Chatel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.3 mi away
Les Gentianettes Hotel
Les Gentianettes Hotel
#3 of 6 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macchi

Property: Hotel Macchi
Address: 94 Chemin de l Etringa, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macchi 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Macchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing