We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kevin m

Great stay at Hotel Macchi

Review of Hotel Macchi
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Mar 2024
We would highly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Chatel. The staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. This is a lovely traditional family run hotel fully equipped with a spa and ski hire.
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.1 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.2 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.1 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free parking
The Chalets d'Angele from the street.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Pool
3 pièces
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
0.4 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hôtel le Kandahar à Châtel station des portes du soleil
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
0.8 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hôtel
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • eDreams
0.7 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Hotel Macchi
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
    1.0 miles from Hotel Macchi
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Chatel
    Reviews (470)
    Filter reviews
    470 results
    Traveller rating
    369
    81
    12
    6
    2
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    369
    81
    12
    6
    2
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews traditional hotel excellent hotel lovely family run hams an indoor swimming pool hotel is situated walking distance each morning ski slopes steam room yogurt lift mountains cheese supermarket equipment
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1 - 6 of 470 reviews
    Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

    Thank you to Peron and Max for a totally brilliant stay. We booked through Booking.com and, in our experience, as Brits abroad in a post Brexit Europe, when you contact the hotel the response is a little stilted. Not here. The communication from the Macchi team was really great, particularly Valentine. We were able to pre book ski hire and Spa treatments without any problem.

    Our booking was for four nights. We took the red eye flight to Geneva, so we could get on the slopes in the early afternoon. Whilst our room wasn’t ready when we arrived at around 1pm, Valentine arranged so we could get changed into our skiing kit in their dedicated changing room and store our luggage in their dedicated luggage room so we could get skiing straight away. A nice touch.

    Peron, the owner and a French skiing champion as a youngster, helped us with our skis, boots etc. from their on site ski hire shop. The kit was perfectly fine for average skiers like us. Now for three really great skier friendly things Hotel Macchi does. 1. Your own dedicated locker with boot and glove warmers; 2. The skier entrance is 30m down some steps to the free bus service stop that takes you to Pre la Joux, the skiing area that opens up Portes de Soleil. 3. The hotel lays on a free shuttle service to Linga, another portal to the wider Chatel skiing area.

    Our Cosy room was perfectly fine, with a great view of the mountain. I’d always prefer a few more hooks on the wall for hanging jackets and goggles etc. but risking being picky here.

    We pre booked a full body massage in the Indian themed Ayurveda treatment area of the Spa and had an amazing time. Don’t be put off by the price, it is great value for money. The couple that run this service are great professionals and the whole experience was just perfect after our second day on the slopes.

    The breakfast was lovely, the staff including Alexander were really attentive. Make your own fruit juice and the seeded baguette were particular favourites, along with the egg station, the poached eggs were perfect. We were too late off the slopes for the pancake party except our last day, another really nice touch and it’s always good to see the owners mixing so kindly with the guests.

    The Spa is another perfect touch; the swimming pool big enough to enjoy a stretching swim, the jacuzzi relaxing, steam room and sauna small but they do the job. A perfect end to a decent ski day.

    Max was running the bar on a couple of our nights, and what a nice guy. Unassuming, warm and fun.

    Finally, it was nice to meet the resident Golden Retriever, being black lab owners ourselves.

    We’ll be back, it would be stupid not to.

    Date of stay: March 2024
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    Thank Breageside
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hôtel Macchi, Autre at Hotel Macchi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

    Dear Sir, we would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay. It was fantastic to welcome you. Your feeling is very appreciable and constructive. We will share your message with our team. We hope to see you again during our next stay.
    Take good care and see you soon. Macchi Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 February 2024 via mobile

    Lovely traditional hotel close to the centre. We stayed in a privilege room with amazing Mountain View’s. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. Enjoyed the spa and swimming pool to relax in the evenings. Shuttle service provided to the lifts was great, thank you to this guy he was super friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely and freshly made but we felt that the price of food & drink was very expensive.

    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank L9613FRjulier
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 8 January 2024

    The hotel is beautiful, the staff exceptional and the whole experience was perfect. We loved the spa, the staff and the rooms. Facilities were perfect for our ski holiday even having ski noire within the hotel. We would recommend this hotel .

    Date of stay: January 2024
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank lorrainereeley
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hôtel Macchi, Autre at Hotel Macchi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

    Warmest greetings from Hotel Macchi.
    We thank you rof your kind review and we hope to see you again.
    We pass your appreciation to the staff. We appreciate so much
    Hotel Macchi Team

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

    Some people will read this and think I am expecting too much from a small hotel in the alps and being too picky. However when you pay €350 per night for a room (we had 2 rooms so €700) in a hotel I expect a certain standard from that hotel. The rooms were clean but tired and I think are in need of some attention. There is no where to hang ski jackets and salopettes apart from 4 small hooks - very easy to rectify. We had light bulbs missing In the toilet and bathroom which made it seem dark. We had a kettle in the room but no tea bags or any milk, again easy to rectify. The Sauna is not open until 4pm, Why ? If you take a day off from skiing you want to relax and have a sauna and a steam but you can’t. The clock next to the pool has nearly all the numbers missing and doesn’t work! Either repair it or remove it. Furniture in the pool area also very tired.

    Breakfast was a joke!! Literally 5 industrial tins with some fruit in to put into a juicer. Tables are not set you have to get a tray and some cutlery from trays at the end. Like the school canteen.
    2 bits of stale bread to choose from - come on - the French are the kings of making bread, put some thought into it. Some cold sausage and a bit of cheese was another alternative. Then you come to the egg station 🤦🏻‍♂️
    It’s not the fault of the boys and girls but I don’t believe they have been shown what to do. I asked for 2 fried eggs and they came burnt on the bottom and slimed uncooked on the top - because the oil was boiling - I sent them back and asked for 2 more and told the girl to turn the temp down otherwise she will keep burning them. My wife asked for a soft boiled egg - the girl brought it raw and said it’s been in for 2 mins. My wife asked for it to be runny and it came back hard boiled 🤦🏻‍♂️ and here is the kicker. So for 2 fried eggs and a hard boiled egg we were charged €50! Yep €50.
    On check out we queried the bill as they had put €96 on per day for 4 breakfasts, we actually on had a total of 4 breakfasts, which they did remove off the bill.
    Oh and a beer 🍺 in the bar is €11.60, make it €8 and we would have had a few drinks in the bar and as we were a party of 15 in total invited our friends down to have a drink, however at those prices forget it.
    Positives are location of the hotel and the beds are very comfortable. Also the guy in the ski shop is great and the shuttle Service he gives is also fab but that’s about it I am afraid.

    In my opinion the owners of this hotel need to have a nights stay and take a look around at what they offer as I think you need some help on what other nationalities expect from a hotel. Trying to make more money by having less staff works if you get the basics right but if you don’t then it’s a double whammy. Maybe it’s just me being English but I’m damn sure the Germans and Dutch would expect more also.
    We won’t be back

    Room tip: Good location with parking and comfortable beds.
    Date of stay: January 2024
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank stubbsmeister1973
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hôtel Macchi, Autre at Hotel Macchi, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

    We can't please everyone, however our teams do their best to make our guests' stay a pleasant one.
    We're sorry you didn't enjoy our breakfast, but let me stress that our products are prepared in-house. We regret that you did not enjoy your experience. We take note of your comments, but you should know that we have an organization concerning the opening hours of our spa, the access hours are communicated to each of our customers when they arrive. It's like taking the train, there's a timetable to keep to. We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your suggestions and comments.
    Hotel Macchi

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 January 2024

    We felt this hotel was tired, spa only open from 4pm so if you want to relax in the day you can’t. Bar was very overpriced, 12 euro for a pint of larger.
    Breakfast was overpriced and the quality (stale bread) and range of food was minimal.
    Light bulbs missing in the room, body wash in shower was empty and never filled up. No drawers in the room & no where to hang & dry wet ski ware.

    Room tip: Dont book the breakfast Room was freezing all the time.
    Date of stay: December 2023
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank lornas364
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hôtel Macchi, Autre at Hotel Macchi, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2024

    Dear Mrs Lornas, We thank you for message. When our guests arrive, we inform them of the opening hours and facilities available. We can't respond on a case-by-case basis, as we have to maintain a certain standard of conduct. We regret that you did not find our breakfast pleasant, as most of our products are prepared in-house. In the future, please do not hesitate to ask the housekeeping team to do so, for example. They will be happy to answer your request.

    Kind regards
    Thomas Charles

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews