We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, and a lovely stay”
Review of Le Renard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Renard
Ranked #3 of 12 Chatel B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great food, and a lovely stay”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Have just returned from a stay at Le Renard and can thoroughly recommend it - very friendly and helpful staff, clean and tidy rooms and topped off with a fantastic varied menu. Ending a day on the slopes with a dip in the riverside hot tub was a bonus. Highly recommended and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Just back from a totally fantastic week staying at Le Renard. The food and service at this small chalet hotel is nothing short of superb. Every single meal was delicious but the Christmas and NY feasts were outstanding - beautifully presented and very high quality. It's a totally unpretentious place and the rooms are of the traditional small chalet style - it's not swanky, but our room was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and there was always plenty of piping hot water. It's only a short walk to the bus stop or the Linga lift so it's also in a convenient location. I would highly recommend this place, Rob, Mathilde and the staff are lovely - I hope I can manage to go back sooner rather than later !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PocketReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin/ Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We visited Le Renard in February. We had an amazing time and were well looked after by Rob, Mathilde and all of the front and back of house throughout our stay. The food was fantastic and portions were huge. The atmosphere in the bar was very warm with lots of different people coming through every evening sharing their tales. Rooms were warm and cozy if not luxurious. The hot tub is situated right by the river with overhanging snow covered trees. Beautiful! Hotel is located right beside the bus stops with the option to go up to Super Chatel, to Linga lift or Pre la Joux - if you're not fussy where you start the day then just take the next bus that comes along. The hotel is not located in the centre of Chatel but rather at the bottom of the town (near the Linga lift). This means that there are not lots of bars or restaurants nearby so it's a bit quieter than the main town. For us this was perfect. The restaruant is regarded as the best in the village so you won't want to go anywhere else! Similarly if you want to have a drink in Chatel after skiing you can get bus back to the hotel. All round great stay and lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cambodiaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Friendly helpful staff, beautiful food with a choice of starters and mains as well as pud. Very palatable wine and a convivial bar where one was led astray.... ha ha! Our balcony looked out over a babbling brook, it's ight by the bus stop and we couldn't have asked for more.We will be going again.

Room Tip: Ours had the bathroom across the landing... maybe an en suite room might be better.... but not by mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edagarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Had a wonderful week at le Renard. Rob and his team made us feel extremely welcome, the rooms were clean, the food fabulous. The recommended ski hire was quick and easy, the Linga lift walkable, however the bus stopped right outside the hotel. All in all an excellent week. We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onjjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Le Renard and it wont be the last.

We were 7 40 somethings and were made to feel extremely welcome, by Rob, Mathilde and all the staff.

The rooms are exactly what you need, basic, yet clean, warm and very comfortable. The food was superb as it was last year, and the bar area exactly what you want after a hard days skiing.

There is a bus stop opposite the Hotel that takes you to the Linga lift, where you can either start your day or go on to Pre la Joux. Or take a bus to Super Chatel which is in the town of Chatel. The skiing and variety is excellent at all three. Super Chatel is quieter but is offset against the number of button lifts.

Definitely a place to visit for all parties be it families, couples or friends.

See you next year Rob and Mathilde and thanks again for another excellent stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo4354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in January and it was wonderful.
The rooms are basic but immaculately clean and warm and sure you don't spend much time in your room when on a ski trip.
The food was exceptionally good and matched by the hospitality of all the staff.
Bit difficult to access the town as the bus service was not great at night but we didn't need to go anywhere as we had everything we needed in this hotel!
For skiing, the bus stopped right outside the door so it was great!
Fab trip and we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigtni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.6 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
L'Ensoleille
L'Ensoleille
#2 of 7 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
1.0 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#8 of 29 in Chatel
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Renard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Renard

Property: Le Renard
Address: 270 route de la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Renard 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are passing through the region on your way to Italy or the South of France, or intending to spend some time discovering the Haute Savoie, Le Renard offers you the warmest welcome in the region. Its cosy accommodation and comfortable restaurant offers the ideal base for skiing in Chatel and mountain biking in Chatel and its superb countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Renard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing