We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great restaurant”
Review of Le Renard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Renard
Ranked #3 of 12 Chatel B&B and Inns
Asse
1 review
“great hotel, great restaurant”
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Le Renard is a lovely hotel/restauant. Situated in Chatel, there are busses to go to the slopes or to the village with al his shops and bars. But walking to the slopes will take you only 5 minutes. The rooms are just what you need to have a great holiday, nicely furnished, cosy and clean. Outside you have a jacuzzi to relax after a great day of skiing, mountainbiking or walking, downstairs you'll find a nice lounge/ tv room. And then you have the restaurant, it is serieusly the best restaurant in the village, Rob (the owner)is a great chef, always prepared to surprise his costumers with a great diner. Last but no least the staff is very friendly and will always try and help you in every way possible. So for a great holliday I would recommend this hotel/restaurant with his fine food prepared by a great chef and served by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soeteke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-On-Trent, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We stayed in the hotel during a mountain bike holiday. Rooms were just what we needed and buses run up to the lifts every morning from just outside. Rob is a great cook and we ate here every night with a continental breakfast in the morning.

We also spent time in the jacuzzi and evenings in the bar before making a short walk up into town for the night. The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed and good fun if you manage to catch a Boules tournament.

We plan to head back there in January for some snowboarding.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e111s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We have stayed at the Renard many many times over the years and always enjoyed our time there. This small and friendly hotel offers fantastic service and top notch cuisine. Over the years we have recommended many friends too and they have neaver been disappointed. We have had 'adult only ' and familiy skiing parties and all are catered for so well. Rob , the proprietoer has always catered really well out our party mix, from 'boys' only skiing trips to a 40th birthday celeebration in April! And last but not leaset the skiing area is just phenomamal! We have always had great snow. Our daughter wants to live in Chatel and Rob has promised her a job when shes 18 but only if she keeps learning the French! C'est magnifique!

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soom98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Le Renard is a friendly hotel with an excellent restaurant a lounge /tv room and a hot tub ,in fact everything you need to relax after a day in the mountains . the hotel is within walking distance to the ski slopes and is five minutes walk from the bus stop , where there is regular service to the village and the slopes further up the valley.I've stayed at the hotel in the winter snowboarding and in the summer mountain biking and have found it to be an excellent base for both sports .
The staff are very friendly and are always wiling to help in anyway they can to make your stay enjoyable. i have recommended le Renard to many friends and none of them have been disapointed .

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwindonIAN81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
262 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
273 reviews
0.6 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant le Castellan
1.1 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#7 of 29 in Chatel
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Renard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Renard

Property: Le Renard
Address: 270 route de la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Renard 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are passing through the region on your way to Italy or the South of France, or intending to spend some time discovering the Haute Savoie, Le Renard offers you the warmest welcome in the region. Its cosy accommodation and comfortable restaurant offers the ideal base for skiing in Chatel and mountain biking in Chatel and its superb countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Renard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing