We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Week”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Recently returned from a week at the chalet and can honeslty say what a wonderful experience it was. We stayed as a large group and was made to feel so welcome by Al, Cam and Becky who were only too happy to help in anyway they could. The Chalet was very cosy and we could unwind after a days skiing (falling) in the hot tub and by the large open fire! I would definitely recommend this chalet and liked it so much that we have booked again for April!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just got back from spending a week here and couldn't have asked for anything more. The Chalet was great, as were the food and drinks. The hospitality we all received from Al, Cam and Becky was second to none. They did everything they could to make it the best experience possible for everyone and left no stone unturned. Would recommend this place unreservedly and i'll definitely be going back again! Cheers again Al, Cam and Becky!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Came here last week Skiing, and had a great time. Fantastic place for skiing as you have so many choices of slopes in the area. The host Al really makes you feel welcome, and was brilliant when requested for anything like sorting out skiing lessons for the following day. Had a nice hot tub, where you can sit and chill out after a hard days skiing with the beautiful mountainous scenery. The food was fabulous, and the rooms are spotless. Will definitely come back and look forward to some of Al's banter.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bert1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just got back after spending 5 days skiing with 12 of our friends to celebrate a 40th birthday. Chatel is a really amazing place to stay but what really made it was the hospitality of our hosts Al, Cameron and Becky at the chalet. The couldn't do enough to help us and make us feel welcome. They took the whole hassle out of everything we did. The chalet was immaculate, clean and well maintained.
The hot tub was an added bonus after the hard days skiing. Plenty to do even if you don't ski as well. Cameron even joined us for a days skiing which was really great, as he encouraged us to do better skiing by the end of the day. Thanks Cam. The food and wine was excellent and we never ran out. Had a awesome time and would stay there again given the chance. Thanks again Al, Cam.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

So we were a part of a group booking for this Chalet for a 40th Birthday party. I personally didn't get chance to look at it prior to arriving and just turned up! From point of clearing Geneva Airport and Meeting Al and his team it was very clear we were going to get exceptional Service!!!! I don't think words can express how easy, fun and exciting the team made our break. The chalet team were some of the best I have ever experience Big thanks to Cam and Becky! The food was great, booze free flowing and laid back atmosphere. The hot tub GREAT fun. All & All I would say this team, Location and service was AWESOME. The smallest details even down to the which bar are at happy hour are all thought out. AL, Cameron, Becky and even little Oscar get a SUPER thanks for making our trip so Special. Excellent thank you. If I go back to Chatel I never want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Best room is just off the entrance/boot room. Away from everyone else, easy to once your ski boots a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time in Chatel at Chalet Tzigane. Al and Cam were excellent hosts, great fun and catered for our every need, including some crazy skiing! Highly recommend going for lots of fun and an amazing holiday. Thanks Guys.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Wow what a great trip! Ski-Ride Chatel did an amazing job. We were a group of 12 celebrating a 40th birthday and Al and team just couldn't have done any more to make it the most memorable of 40th birthdays. From booking a restaurant on the mountain, to organising chocolate birthday cake and plenty of fizz to wash it down with back at the chalet. It really was great. Nothing was too much trouble and we were ferried around to the lifts and bars and then back to chalet. Whenever we need them the guys were there in the 2 minibuses to take us to the next destination.

The chalet is modern spacious and luxurious, the food fantastic and the staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Everything so well organised you can't fail to relex and enjoy yourself. The hot tub is a must to soothe those aches and pains after a hard days off piste with Al and Camo.

Would love to make this an annual trip and may very well be back with the kids in tow next season.

Thanks team Ski-Ride Chalet, hope see you again soon

Room Tip: Go for the apartment at the bottom if you can. Self contained and huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 9 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#8 of 28 in Chatel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Le Grand Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Property: Chalet Tzigane
Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing