We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chalet Tzigane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Tzigane
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wellow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Nine of us have just returned/ recovered from a week at Chalet Tzigane! There is not one aspect of our holiday that can be faulted. Ali, Cam and Becky were the perfect hosts and guaranteed that we had an amazing time. The chalet was second to none, being spotlessly clean and a home from home. The meals were outstanding and we particularly enjoyed the variety of meals from roast duck, a raclette evening and even a barbecue. The airport transfers were seamless and Ali was hugely accommodating when we booked Saturday to Saturday by accident, by placing us in an alternative chalet for our first night. We were welcomed with champagne and finished off (literally) with lime vodka shots! Nothing was too much trouble and the best bit was that there were no hidden extras unlike previous experiences. Our favourite day was a day skiing around Portes du Soleil guided by Ali and Cam. They were patient with us, despite our very average skiing ability, and gave us the confidence to go it alone the next day. We've already booked for next year, as all nine of us agreed that it couldn't be beaten in any way. If you've not tried Chalet Tzigane, you really are missing a gem!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny OB O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Booked for a week with a group of friends on the 9th to 16th February 2014. From start to finish the week was superb. We were met at the airport and driven right to Chalet which was truly made to feel like a home from home....albeit this home having a hot tub and Alp views. The chauffering to and from the lifts were spot on and flexible and hassekl free meaning that we could come and go as we pleased.

I've been on quite a few Ski holidays now and can say that the service, food, hospitality and chalet itself have been the best. It will be definitely be a chalet I return to. In fact some of the group I wnet with are back out there now. Thanks again to Al, Cameron and Becky, keep up the great work! Mark.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Returning for a second time to celebrate a friend's 50th birthday the experience of staying in the Chalet Tzigane was every bit as good as the first time. Al, Emilie, Cameron and Becky were all brilliant hosts and made us feel very at home and special.

Thank you guys for another amazing ski holiday.

Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else when visiting Chatel.

Room Tip: Room to the left of the boot room is where we have stayed both times, very quiet and out of the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Had a brilliant week. The chalet is spacious and comfortable and the service is great. Nothing was too much trouble. Great place to have a relaxing holiday especially good for groups. Many thanks Al and team

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here in at the start of March and had a totally amazing week. Thanks so much to Al, and Cameron for looking after us so well. We really didn't have to think about a thing, everything was taken care of for us which made such a nice change as a group of mums usually running after all of our little ones. We had such great food, wine, and laughter. The guys totally let us decide what we wanted to do with our time - taking us to and from the lifts and even showing us the best places to eat on the slopes or drink after our time on the slopes. The hot tub really helped to ease some of the aching muscles at the end of the day. Such a great time, we will definitely be back. Thanks again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tebbers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The food was fabulous, and the wine kept flowing. Thank you Al, Cam and Becky for the most welcome of stays. The chalet is modern and spotless, with a wonderful hot tub. I would thoroughly recommend staying at Chalet Tzigane, and let Al and the team take good care of you.
Only a 5 min drive to the slopes, but Al and Cam were always there to get you to the slopes, bars and town. They also came skiing with us, and was a lot of fun. Going off-piste and helping to progress our skiing ability.
They made us feel really welcome.
Had a wonderful time and Looking forward to coming back....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raceystace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twicken
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

If you like average, this isn't the place for you. Best week of skiing ever...just don't tell too many people! Great wine, great food, open fire, wifi, boot warmers for the morning and fab hospitality by Cam, Becky, Al and Emilie. Door to door service from slope to hot tub (yes lovely hot tub on the decking) and the guys are more than happy to show you the slopes...and the bars! I can't recommend it highly enough. Just please don't tell too many people!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 9 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#8 of 28 in Chatel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residence Le Grand Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Tzigane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Tzigane

Property: Chalet Tzigane
Address: 20 Chemin des Vorres, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Owner run independent luxury catered chalet in Chatel offering great value ski holidays and fully catered mountain bike adventures in the Portes Du Soleil. Free transfers,Open fire, wifi, hot tub and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing