We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Au Bois de Lune

Au Bois de Lune
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Bois de Lune
Ranked #2 of 12 Chatel B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Our family of 3 stayed here while visiting the area and were not disappointed. This is a family-run hotel with exceptional service. The owner is a delight and visited with us daily going to great lengths to make sure we were enjoying our visit. She called a restaurant to ask them to stay late when we arrived late and almost missed dinner being served. She gave us discount coupons for attractions in the area. She worked hard to make sure my husband had a place to work with internet service, when the service was spotty in our room. Our room was large, very comfortable and quiet, even though it was street front. We had a car and could easily go to the town up the hill. We loved our stay and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Our front room had a queen bed and bunks along with a kitchenette and bath. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texastravelingmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Five of us (two dads and 3 sons aged 21, 18 and 17) stayed for four nights 23rd - 27th Jan on a long weekend skiiing. We stayed in a five bed room, which was surprisingly spacious and fitted us all in with no problem. Room is very clean, maid service and clean towels each day. There is a small kitchen and dining table in our room so we ate Pizza one night. Other nights we went out. Breakfast is lovely, probably the nicest buffet breakfast I have had and I have stayed in a lot of business hotels! There is no lounge to relax, this was fine as we used our bedroom for this. The dining room was available in the evenings with board games put out.
The hotel is 100 yds from the ski-bus stop, and the buses came fairly reliably every 20 mins. Plenty of space on each bus. We ate at Table Antoine which will pick you up and drop you off. This saves a 20 min walk each way up and down a hill, very tiring after a days skiing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This is a small but lovely family-run hotel in Chatel. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a more low-key place to stay, as it is not in the center of town. It is about a 25 minute walk or 10 minute ride on the free bus to the town and the slopes. The rooms are very clean, with a small kitchenette and the bathrooms have recently been renovated. The places has the feeling of staying in a home but, you also have your own privacy. The breakfast was also nice, with a variety of fresh foods. The owner is very friendly and accommodating. I hope to go back again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

A nice mountain hotel, with a wonderfull view, lots of attractions in the area, tasty breakfast, a must to see the lake in Chatel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernest68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

We really enjoyed our long weekend at Au Bois De Lune. The breakfast buffet was immense with enough choice to cater for everyone's taste. The rooms are clean and spacious and the kitchen area well thought out with everything you need. The host made our short break perfect; she was extremely helpful and friendly. As we were there for the snow it great to find a bus stop only a few yards away which took us straight to the slopes.
I would happily recommend this hotel to groups and families alike.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatcat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.2 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
#8 of 18 in Chatel
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
#16 of 18 in Chatel
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
269 reviews
1.1 mi away
L'Escale
L'Escale
#3 of 18 in Chatel
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Bois de Lune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Bois de Lune

Property: Au Bois de Lune
Address: Route de la Dranse, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Au Bois de Lune 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Au Bois de Lune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing