We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter Wonderland”

Review of Chalet Le Reve

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
kirir0se
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The chalet was gorgeous very comfortable and cosy! A great place to go with a group of friends who are up for a good ski in the day and for a chill out in the evening with the log fire! Chatel is a very pretty village with lovely restaurants and plenty of apres ski too.. Thank you Lawrence for a perfect week, for looking after us so well and for ensuring we had a great week! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2017
Thanks so much for the excellent review and pleased you enjoyed a perfect week. Delighted you all loved the chalet and Chatel so much and that it's great for a group of friends. We have tried to make it feel comfy and cozy and a lovely place to chill out by the log fire. Thank you for staying and hope to see you back very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viki S
1 review
“Fantastic family chalet”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in April 2017

3 families, Easter 2017 and our first self catering trip for years after being looked after while kids where young and we were expecting a bit of a bump, but we couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised.
Booking was simple. Lawrence is easy and lovely to deal with.
Chalet was perfect, cosy, comfortable and brilliantly well equipped. We ate full home cooked 3 course meals , baked cakes, cooked breakfasts, packed lunches...
The rooms were very spacious, warm and welcoming and communal areas well designed to accommodate us all. Lots of bathrooms made life easy for everyone and never short of hot water.
Given spring conditions we drove and parked, which was easy too and hardly queued even at busy times. We and our now teen kids ski - all day, every day and they cant wait to ski the rest. In fact, we immediately rebooked and are really looking forward to the spring and our return visit.
The Colchester Contingent

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you for such a fantastic review, so pleased the group enjoyed the chalet so much and met all your needs. It was specially designed for large family groups like you to provide comfort and space and be well-equipped. Many groups like yours drive and I'm pleased that it all worked well for you. Delighted you rebooked, thanks, and really looking forward to having The Colchester Contingent back wishing you a safe trip, another fantastic holiday and more ski runs/bars/restaurants to discover. Best regards Lawrence
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chalet was clean, well equipped, ideally located, but most of all it had the spce such that everbody could gather in one place or , could easily re-locate into any number of
Liked least: This chalet has no obvious shortcomings.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Many thanks for such a fantastic review and delighted that Chatel and the chalet were perfect for your group and everything was so easy. It was a pleasure to help you to arrange things and hope that made it easier and was more relaxing. I know you are keen skiers and location was important so I'm pleased that the chalet enabled you to enjoy all that the PDS has to offer, arguably the best skiing region in the alps and so varied. Thank you for being such terrific guests and looking after the chalet so well and look forward to seeing you next season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
rupert123...
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sensational holiday in a lovely well run and very well equipped chalet”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful holiday at Chalet la Reve last week. The weather was challenging, regular white outs but decent snow conditions for the time of year and in our group of 10 we had a lot of teenagers who needed to knuckle down and revise for various exams.

Being well equipped and over three floors the chalet worked incredibly well for us all, everyone had space to do what they wanted to do after skiing. The fire was a particular feature on a cold foggy day (loads of logs) and there are a good number of bathrooms and hot water so, despite all the teenagers, no one was queuing.

The chalet is in a good cul de sac location, private and good views over the river fro most of the rooms.

The shuttle bus up to Linga was easy and we went in to Chatel a lot on our way back from the slopes. We have been skiing the region for 30 years now but this is the first time we have stayed in Chatel and we were impressed by the relaxed village atmosphere and friendly English locals.

The terrace outside was great, big comfy chairs and a wonderful view of the river.

Supermarket is a 5 minute walk away, well stocked and good value.

The owner, Lawrence, couldn't have been more helpful.

Highly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your excellent review and so pleased you had such a great time and the chalet worked so well for you all, especially all the space and comfort. Sorry about some white days but how lucky to have powder snow in April. Everyone loves relaxing by the fire after a good day's ski. As a regular PDS skier it was a challenge to find the perfect place for you. Chatel is so popular and just gets better & better. The village atmosphere is relaxed and unpretentious and offers exceptional value. You were a large group with different needs and it was a pleasure to help you all to arrange things. The ski bus to Linga works very well and the bus stop is only 50 metres from the chalet. On the way back it goes through the village so always good to stop off for some apres ski. Leaving all your stuff at the ski shop by the piste at Linga was also very easy and convenient. You were fantastic guests and it was a real pleasure having you stay. Thank you for taking such good care of the chalet and hope to see you again next season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie H
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Exceptional traditional chalet in great location, suitable for large group.”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have used this chalet many times and this was our second visit this year. Excellent communication with the English owner. Our needs always catered for. Beautiful chalet in a great location, ideally located on local free bus route to the nearby slopes. Fantastic ski runs, part of the Portes du Soleil area. The chalet has great facilities, with plenty of space for a large group. Open fire makes large living area cosy.
Also located to nearby supermarket also on the local bus route. Ski equipment could be hired directly across the road.
We have always enjoyed our stay here and look forward to more visits in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and space of the chalet for our group
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Many thanks for another fantastic review from our most frequent guests and so pleased you enjoyed your two week visits so much again this season. You picked a great week in March - one of the best of the season - with lots of snow and sun so you could enjoy the whole of the PDS under blue skies. Having the bus stop, ski hire and supermarket so close makes it all so easy and convenient. I am delighted that you have always enjoyed your stay at the chalet so much and look forward to welcoming you back for many more visits in the future. A huge thank you for being such great guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petervdg2...
Sevenum, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy home for large group”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After booking we had a lot of contact with the owner, who was gracious and ever helpful. We came with three families, ages between 14 and 83, 14 people in total. It was a cosy, wooden chalet type house,with a large communal space with fireplace, with space to dine for 14, and a kitchen to match. Decoration was homely, and the kitchen well stocked with plates, utensils etc. (as well as cleaning products). Lots of (English) books to enjoy.
A second living room downstairs with TV and DVD's could provide separate entertainment for the younger part of the group.There were ample bedrooms for the whole group, with lots of bathrooms. Parking space for 4 cars is provided, and It was practical for skiing (close to a bus service, heated ski & boots storage space). Skis and ski passes was at the house, very nice.
All-in-all a thoroughly enjoyable place perfectly suitable for the holiday we had in mind. We heartily recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living room, to dine and drink together, with fireplace
Liked least: crums under the couches cushions
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Mar 2016
Many thanks for this superb review and for your very kind personal comments. It's always a challenge satisfying all the needs of such a varied and large group but working hard together it seems that it all worked very well for the whole group, especially for mother aged 83 who is an active walker. Pleased that my chalet manager arranged skis and passes to be there for you. Well done for taking full advantage of all the PDS has to offer - even making it over to Les Gets and back one day. The chalet is well-stocked with English books so please say what Dutch books we should have. Thank you for taking good care of the chalet and I hope to see you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tankManch...
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“revisit to Chalet Le Reve”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Back for our second visit and a roaring success again. Came with same group of people and everyone had a fabulous time. The skiing was fantastic and it was wonderful to come back to the chalet, light the fire and open a bottle of wine. Chalet is perfect for a group to enjoy. And as usual, Lawrence kept us up to date on weather and conditions. Merci beaucoup!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2016
Many thanks for returning to the chalet and such a great review. So pleased you had such a wonderful time and enjoyed being back so much. Hope to see you back again soon. Merci beaucoup!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing