We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant stay.”
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile


We received a good welcome from Frederico, the manager, when we arrived.
Our room had plenty of space for the two of us, was clean and warm, and the balcony overlooked the street at the front of the hotel. Frederico & his staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay. He even opened the restaurant and prepared a meal for just us two one evening when other local restaurants were closed. The breakfasts were very good, & the selection of foods to suit all tastes. There is a limited selection of restaurants in this part of Chatel, but would recommend Le Renard which serves an excellent Menu du Jour. The Eliova L'eau Vive was quiet during the 6 nights of our stay, but the sound of snowploughs did wake us bright & early 3or 4 mornings! It's a great budget hotel, & access to the Linga gondola within 3 mins walk from hotel. Also good shuttle bus service between the 3main lift areas. All in all, would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IngridNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    18
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed here with 3 female friends from the 12th - 15th of January 2014. The hotel is virtually next to the main lift up to the P du S ski area. The hotel manager - Frederik is the most friendly and kind hotel manager I have ever met. He speaks excellent English and can arrange anthing from a ski instructor at short notice to a taxi, transfer or (personal collection in our case when we were stranded in Chatel). Nothing was too much trouble. As Frederik is also the chef he can give you great recommendations on where to eat.

Considering the price of the hotel the continental breakfast is excellent, the room is spacious and clean, with brand new quality fittings in the bathroom. There was even a hairdryer available for use at reception. The only minor issue was that the pillows are like cushions - but this is no reason to not stay here.

We had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room with three beds at the back of the hotel. All you can hear is the soothing sound of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is situated outside Chatel in a small village called Villapeyron. It is a short walk to the Linga ski lift. You can ski from Linga all over the Portes du Soleil if you are a decent skier.

We drove about 10 minutes to Pre La Joux as it had a larger ski area. As the children were beginners Pre la Joux has some great lower nursery slopes as well as some great easy greens and blues on the mountain.

We stayed 5 nights in one of the family rooms.

The couple who run the hotel, Frederick and Emily were so lovely and couldn't do enough for us. The room was spotlessly clean with a modern en suite shower room. We had room 109 which was on the first floor over the front door. There was a little noise from the snow ploughs early in the morning and a bit of noise from the stairwell but not too bad.

The breakfast was good with a large selection of cold food including, cereal, croissants, ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs.

We had dinner there every night. Villapeyron only has a small selection of shops and restaurants.

The food was traditional for that region of France. A lot of cheese, we had a fondue, raclette as well as steak and pork dishes all were delicious. They did ask what the children would like to eat and if we told them in the morning they were prepared to cook especially for them.

Overall I would recommend this hotels for families wanting a good value ski break.

Room Tip: It would be quieter if you had a room at the back of the hotel however you may not have a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaycharlie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Recently spent a great weekend at the Hotel Eviola l'Eau Vive at the end of business trip to Geneva. We were happy that we were able to book only 2 nights given that most places only reserve by the week. Knowing that we had booked a 2 star hotel, the accommodations were adequate, clean, a little small, and pretty much as expected. And with the Linga gondola a short and easy walk away, it was exactly the kind of place we wanted to maximize our skiing time (if you're looking for more of an apres ski scene, stay right in Chatel). We also liked that 25% discount deal on rental skis that the hotel has at the ski shop across the street. Breakfast was fine (cereal, yogurt, fruit, pastries) and enough to get us on our way before the lifts opened. We also had a traditional Savoyard dinner at the hotel the first night, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food and reasonable cost. What exceeded our expectations most was the staff. The manager was very attentive and helpful from everything from general advice to dinner reservations, and the rest of the staff was great too (and spoke enough English that language wasn't an issue). If you're looking for a luxurious stay, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you want a reasonably priced, convenient (almost ski in/ski out), and clean hotel with a friendly and helpful staff, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philryan835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

the hotel is very average, the bathrooms were renovated (but not the rooms) so clean but not so nice but there is no lift, the rooms, the ski rooms and the breakfast was very basic (one of my friends found mold on a breakfast cake) yuk!

Its more 1 star than 2 and you are 2 Km out of Chatel but 100 m from the linga lift. I wouldnt stay here again. i wouldnt really recommend it. The ski room was flooded one day and is crowded and small. There seemed to be no system with the rooms - there were family rooms next to single rooms and the sound of children running in the halls and crying early in the morning seemed to follow us around. Maybe all the families could go on one floor?? And I am a mum!!

Chatel is nice - no apres ski though - you have to book restaurants if you want to get a table - we had nice dinners at Chesery, Vieux Four, and Fiarce..

Best lunch was in avoriaz at the bistro!

porte des soliel is an amazing ski area - massive off piste! Enjoy

Room Tip: one with no kids next to you ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rackiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a newly refurbished 2* hotel. Clean, simple but with well appointed rooms and brand new bathrooms. The staff were friendly. The breakfast offered a variety of food item generally found in fancier hotels. The hotel has a very practical ski room and is minutes from the main Gondola. This is a little gem of a hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank vcassar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fleur de Neige
Hotel Fleur de Neige
#2 of 18 in Chatel
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Tremplin
Hotel Le Tremplin
#10 of 18 in Chatel
29 reviews
1.4 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#7 of 18 in Chatel
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
Hotel Chalet d'Alizee
#16 of 18 in Chatel
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive

Property: Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive
Address: 209 route de Pre la Joux, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Chatel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the 'Portes du Soleil', discover Châtel, a charming typical village of the Alps. The resort, with its many ski slopes and lifts that straddle the border, offers the originality of being able to ski into Switzerland. The hotel ELIOVA L'EAU VIVE is located 100m from the Linga ski lifts, which connect to the 'Portes du Soleil' ski area. Free shuttles to the centre of the resort. This hotel is particularly recommended for skiers wishing to be accommodated at the foot of the ski lifts. Its warm atmosphere is also relaxing and restful. On floors 1 and 2, 28 bedrooms with 2, 3 or 4 beds with a private bathroom, with shower and toilet. All rooms are non-smoking. Flat screen TV by satellite in all bedrooms. Opportunity to stay in bed & breakfast, half board or full board. If you would like lunch on the slopes, packed lunches are available on request (please order the day before at reception). Restaurant, Bar, lounge with newspapers, ski storage. All Public and Private spaces non-smoking. Free ! Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel free of charge. Free ! Free private parking is possible on site (limited number of spaces, no reservation in advance) Credit cards accepted: Visa, Eurocard / Mastercard. Pets are not allowed in our hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eliova l'Eau Vive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing