We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful chalet, food, hosts & skiing. Perfect...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sue_W437
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful chalet, food, hosts & skiing. Perfect all round.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have been staying with Glen & Frances for several years in Les Frangins, Coer de Bois and this year a girls ski trip in Chalet Aaron. The chalet was as expected wonderful, immaculately clean, good food and of course the hot tub. As usual Glen & Frances were there to greet us and everything was organised for us. Right opposite the Linga bubble for direct access to the slopes but the bus also stops at the bottom of the drive for the 5 minute drive to Pre la Joux. Even though we had mixed weather, we still managed to ski loads of the huge Portes de Soleil ski area. Definitely will be back next year with the family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shona R
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, well equipped chalet and great skiing”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

The service from staff was excellent throughout - nothing was too much trouble. The chalet was very spacious and well equipped with a lovely view across the valet. The price was competitive. Chatel turned out to be a diamond of a ski area. First class on all counts.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctbehling
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Fantastic chalet ski holiday”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just come back from Chalet Les Frangines after spending New Year 2014 with our best friends. We took the whole chalet and it worked like a dream from the moment we arrived. The attention to detail of both Glen and Francis the owners, and Matt and Kat, our hosts made it a very special stay indeed. Lots of added little extras like champagne and canapes on New Years Eve, a personalised birthday cake for one of our party, lifts to and from the slopes, a prebooked venue for the night off, breakfast provided by the owners on the staff day off, the hottub, the sauna, the Wii, the games room, the really comfy living space and big telly......I could go on and on....The chalet is prefectly situated to stroll into Chatel ( which is traditional and sweet) which worked really well for our teenagers, but you could ski home (which our younger ones liked). The ski area itself is vast with something for everyone, so if you are looking for a really lovely family holiday then I would highly recommend this chalet .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Filters
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent skiing. Lovely chalet. Superb food. Great hosts.”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We stayed with a large group at Les Frangins for Christmas. The chalet is very comfortable. Our food was superb. Transfers were fine. Owners did all they could to accomadate us. The chalet hosts were lovely. Great drop of wine. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marmite11
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hosts and great chalet”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed at Chalet les Frangins for a weekend of mountain biking. There was 3 of us and we were lucky enough to have the place to ourselves. Glen and Frances made us feel really welcome for the whole weekend, from Glen greeting us when we pulled up on the drive to Frances waving us off as we left.

The guys went out of their way to help us on a number of occasions, checking that our rental bikes were sorted, giving us a lift up to lifts and more!

The chalet's location is great and a couple of mins walk from the centre of Chatel and the hot tub and sauna were both very welcome to rest weary legs after a days biking (after washing off the mud obviously!).

I highly recommend this chalet and Glen & Frances personally, would love to come back again for a ski break!

Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralphiesk...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Everyone should experience the chalet frangines at least once in a lifetime”
Reviewed 20 May 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Stayed here with a large group of friends in January 2013. Chalet Frangines is extremely comfortable and the minibus service to and from the slopes was very much appreciated by all. The service from Glen, Frances and the young hosts was outstanding - they even managed to catch a haggis in the Alps for us! We have stayed in numerous chalets over the years but enjoyed this so much that we are booking to return there next year.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave B
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place & Great hosts”
Reviewed 16 May 2013 for a stay in March 2011

I’ve now stayed with Glen and Frances on several occasions, solo and in a group, and I've never been disappointed. The Les Frangins chalet is a lovely place with excellent facilities and clean good size rooms. The welcome and hospitality you receive is 2nd to none in my opinion.

Drop off and pick up at/from the ski lifts at in the morning and afternoon is most welcome, and the cake and tea when you return from the slopes just hits the spot. The evening meals are lovely coupled with a good bottle of wine to wash them down. Glen and Frances are also a great help in organising ski passes, ski lessons, and anything else you might need help with.

Chatel itself is a picturesque place to ski and for the more adventurous skier the Portes Du Soleil region which links France and Switzerland is great. Again Glen and Frances’ local knowledge of the slopes is really helpful, and on the odd occasion they get some time are excellent tour guides, which is a great added value to the day’s skiing.

Other added bonuses are the hot tub, sauna, free wi-fi and games rooms, and the Boot heaters means the boots are nice and toastie for first thing in the morning :)

I’ve also stayed at the Aaron, which is also a great chalet and right at the bottom of the Linga Tele-Cabin, and the Linga slope is a great thigh burner to finish the day’s skiing off! Alternatively you can always take the more sedate and leisurely Tele-Cabin down!

I’d highly recommend either Chalet for an excellent week’s ski trip!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Ski area and Chalet hospitality
Liked least: Nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$471
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing