We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property in a wonderful location”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MassiveSe...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent property in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Caribou in the summer of 2014. The owners were courteous and went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. The penthouse itself is luxurious and spacious, with great views of the surroundings. All of the rooms were spotless and very well maintained. The area nearby was beautiful, with great walks and activities available whilst being close enough to nearby towns to have wall necessary conveniences within travelling distance. I couldn't recommend the area and more importantly Penthouse Caribou highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The facilities witjin the property and the hospitality we received throughout our stay.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sophiewop...
2 reviews
“Amazing chalet in beautiful location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Everything about this holiday was fantastic! The chalet was stunning and huge, everything that we could have needed was provided and there was plenty of space for all 18 of us. The area was beautiful and there are loads of things to do nearby.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious chalet in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I spent a week here with friends in the summer. The apartment was fantastic - spacious, comfortable, and in a wonderful location. The bathrooms have all recently been refurbished and the bedrooms are all a good size. I had a really great week here and would recommend it to anyone.

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThatchDea...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“It just gets better and better”
Reviewed 18 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I stayed at Penthouse Caribou two years ago and was completely blown away by the size and quality of the place. Slightly worried that I may have been remembering things through rose coloured specs, I returned this year with a large group of friends, I can honestly say that if possible it was even better than I remembered. An extra bathroom has been put upstairs, meaning that each room now has its own private bathroom - absolute bliss after a long day on the slopes.
Other reviewers have talked about the luxury in the penthouse and I assure you that they are not exaggerating, having been a second time I feel we got to know not only the slopes better but also the local area. La Chappelle d'Abondance has got more than its fair share of fabulous places to eat and drink, which is great for apres ski, if you can tear yourself away from the apartment!
The owners were especially helpful, not only did they sort out a transfer, boot hire and lift passes for us, they also went above and beyond - one of our group had problems with their boots, so we contacted the owner in the evening to ask for advice. Within minutes we had a call back to say that she had arranged for the boot hire people to be at the apartment first thing in the morning, so we didn't miss a days skiing. I certainly haven't experienced that kind of service from other apartments I have rented.
I cant recommend this place highly enough - I will definitely be back.
Am tempted to try it for a summer break as well, as there seems loads to do out of ski season

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury, the village, the skiiing - in fact, everything
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJohn50
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent long weekend boys jolly!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This trip of 5 guys was the first to Penthouse Caribou, but hopefully not the last!!

It's 5 star luxury at it's best, we had fresh croissants and bread from the local bakery to start the day off, (it was only a five minute walk from the Chalet!!).

After a hard days skiing it was great to get back to the Chalet to chill out with a beer, before either cooking or visiting a fabulous local traditional french restaurant, recommended by Martin and Jackie, the chalet owners.

The village is small and cosy, with lovely local bars and great restaurants and is only a five minute drive from the larger resort of Chatel.

Martin and Jackie organised our lift passes and also arranged for a local mobile ski hire company to visit the chalet on the evening of our arrival, so we were all kitted up and ready to go the next morning for the first lift up!!

This is an excellent place to stay to discover the vast Portes du Soleil ski area and within easy access of Geneva airport, which only took about 1h 20mins by car.

Martin and Jackie were a great help, giving us tips and hints on where to ski, eat and drink!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We-love-t...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, lovely village”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Stayed with friends, this place is very spacious with fantastic views over Cret Beni, which are the nearest slopes within walking distance. The main ski area at Chatel is easily reached on the local bus which stops just opposite the Penthouse. Skiing was great with plenty of snow still left on the upper slopes. The Penthouse has 5 large bedrooms, and a huge area to entertain, on the mezzanine there is a snooker table, tv and seating area, great if you have children. The Penthouse has everything you need to make a great skiing holiday, hope to be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubysmum6...
Stokesley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation for family and friends”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Return visit for us to this extremely spacious and well equipped chalet; for another skiing holiday. More than enough room for everyone in the 5 large bedrooms, 5 huge bath/shower rooms and multiple living and relaxing areas. Access via lift or stairs from the ground floor ski storage/garage area makes it easy to return from your day on the slopes. Buses to the ski lifts from practically the doorstep, literally a two/three minute walk depending on how you fasten your ski boots! Kitchen was well used for hearty evening meals and we also ate out at local restaurants. Plenty of choice within easy walking distance and an excellent deli also close by for lovely treats and essentials. This was our third stay during winter seasons but this chalet accommodation would be equally perfect at anytime of year. The balconies were used by us in March to catch some late afternoon sun so in the summer months these must be a fantastic asset to the property. Penthouse Caribou really is an amazing apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the apartment manages to be both spacious yet cosy. You are never far from the hub but there's so much room.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;