We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Perfect”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Guywells
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We couldn't have asked for more from Jacqui or her fantastic Penthouse Caribou.

We were a party of 9 with a mix of adults, teenagers and young kids. Our friends were staying locally so there were often 13 of us there and there was plenty of room for us all to sit around the fire or watch tv in the mezzanine upstairs.

The apartment was beautifully finished and Jacqui had carefully considered what someone staying there would need with everything from champagne flutes, to shot glasses, to pizza wheels provided. We even had everything needed to make a full Christmas dinner which simply would not have been possible in most apartments we have stayed in without doubling their stock of pots and pans.

The apartment was spotless when we arrived and the beds really comfy.

There was sky tv and a blu ray player, the pool table was a great addition but our favorite feature was the huge fireplace where we all navigated to after a day on the slopes.

Jacqui was the perfect host getting the balance perfect of being on hand to answer any queries but at no time did it feel like she was intruding.

Jacqui was a font of knowledge and was able to advise the best ski schools and on her advice we booked our equipment through skihire2u prior to arriving, both were spot on! Skihire2u do exactly what their name suggests and they do it very well.

Once we were there Jacqui recommended the best pistes and we had some lovely meals out on her advice as well.

Lift passes were organized through Jacqui as, making our arrival the most straightforward and stress-free skiing trip we've ever had!

If you are considering this apartment don't hesitate to book it, from our experience you won't be disappointed. We had high expectations and even they were exceeded!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie W
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfort and excellent service”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

From original booking enquiry through to the end of the stay Jacqui was extremely helpful and did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible, sorting out ski hire delivered to the chalet and ski passes waiting for us. She went out of her way to help us with the small children with their ski lessons and directed us to the best piste restaurants and shops.
The chalet is the best equipped we have ever been in with enough of all the culinary items two foodie families needed to make Christmas dinner.
The beds are extremely comfortable and the chalet is even better in real life than it was on their website.
We would definitely recommend this chalet to family and friends looking to stay in an authentic French village in this ski region.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the double sided massive log burning stove
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simonaust...
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Excellent chalet. Bedrooms very spacious and lovely large social living areas. The log fire was gorgeous. We were able to arrange for a catered option and Lisa did not disappoint. Lovely food. Jacqui and Martin helped with arranging lift passes and where to eat out when required. There was a lack of snow however we were able to make the most of what was available with the use of the local bus system (ensure you study the timetable!) Chatel is a short ride away and is the livelier resort, however La Chapelle has a supermarket and the basics you need. I would recommend this chalet and would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KhalidWok...
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet and Great location”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Having read all the great reviews and description of the Penthouse - we were all pleasantly surprised that it did live up to what was being expected. Really lovely chalet - very very spacious - lots of room to hang out and chill out. Bedrooms also very spacious and comfortable - felt like home from home. The surrounding area has loads of lovely walks. We drove into Switzerland on a few day trips which was very easily done.
A well stocked convince store is about 10 mins walk away whilst a full supermarket is about 10mins max drive away. Jaqui and Gaby were very helpful in helping us plan the trip and when we were there.
Definitely recommend it and we hope to return soon.

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
We-love-t...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay both summer and winter”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our first visit in the summer and it was great, weather 30 degrees, beautiful green mountains and lakes to swim in. The local restaurants as good as ever and with a strong pound very reasonable. Did some walking and my husband hired a mountain bike to cycle some of the trails he usually ski . Penthouse caribou would make a fantastic place to stay with family or friends to explore the lovely area, summer or winter. Jacqui was the perfect hostess and local guide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: seeing resort in the summer
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave L
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Picture perfect location and every need catered for”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Penthouse Caribou is a perfect place to stay.

It is in a wonderful location. The flat is huge with all the rooms fitted out to a very high specification - and it even has a pool table. The town nearby has everything you could need - even down to a cimema. And Jacqui is the perfect hostess. She looked after us very well - cooking meals, booking restaurants and even driving us up the mountain so we could launch ourselves down a zipwire.

Would thorougly recommend the Penthouse to anyone looking to stay in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool table
Liked least: The cold swim in the river
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah M
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply Fabulous!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My colleagues and I recently spent the weekend at Penthouse Caribou for our work getaway. Every single one of us loved it! Jacqui was a wonderful host, we felt welcomed and relaxed the moment we walked through the door. I will definitely be back!

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing