We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment, very spacious and in a...”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Debby T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment, very spacious and in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wonderful week in a fantastic apartment with loads of room and great facilities. The area is beautiful and the slopes around the village are not busy at all even in peak times.
We like it so much we have booked for our third time, can't wait till next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the quiet ski slopes
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lokri1
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Penthouse Caribou - a lovely chalet with plenty of room”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Just got back a week ago. What a beautiful chalet. Plenty of room for us all (11 of us), and the chalet could have housed several more. All the rooms were lovely. We arrived very late on the Saturday, as our flight was delayed, but Jacqui was around and ready to welcome us and even helped drive a couple of us to the nearest pizza take-away to ensure we had dinner that night, which was very much appreciated (as was the chocolate and wine waiting for us on arrival!) I would recommend you hire a car, if any in your party are having lessons in Pre La Joux and it's handy when doing the food shopping. Despite mixed weather with rain, snow and sunshine the last two days - we just had a fantastic time. A big thank you to Jacqui for sorting our lift passes and recommending car hire and ski hire companies.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall feeling of space and the views
Liked least: The problems we had with the clogged kitchen sink
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMorrell1...
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spacious and stunning apartment”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Easy to find and convenient from Geneva. Comfortable for a big group and very well equipped with everything you might need. Regular ski bus service just outside the apartment taking you to the extensive ski area of Portes Du Soleil. 12 people seated comfortably for dinner. Lounge area also comfortable with a stunning central fireplace. Good storage area for skis etc but did lack a boot warmer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Communal areas
Liked least: Location onto nearest lift
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip008
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

It is a fair description to call this a Penthouse.

I stayed there with a large group of friends, it has all the facilities you could expect and loads of space, with two living areas and two dining areas, pool table. Excellent décor and well maintained. The nicest chalet I have been too over the last 20 years. Bakery just down the road. It is quite quiet and peaceful, but there are also a number of restaurants.

Options for skiing include a small local are which is a few minutes walk away otherwise there is a regular ski bus and a ten minute journey to the massive ski du soleil area.

Great place, highly recommended.

Philip

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lots of space, and high standard
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siyh51
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Chalet, great location”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Recently enjoyed a lovely break in the Penthouse Caribou. Chalet is luxurious, comfortable, in a great location. 500 m walk to the slopes of La Chapelle d'Abondance, or take the free shuttle bus that gets you into the rest of the Porte du Soleil. This was my second visit and I doubt it'll be my last!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed G
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury chalet, great skiing ”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stayed here with a group of 11 mates at the end of January and had a great time. The chalet was huge, fantastic alpine decor and within easy reach (via free shuttle bus) of a whole range of chair lifts making for a varied ski holiday in Portes du Soleil. Jacqui made us feel very welcome on arrival and was very helpful with local/ski information. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guywells
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We couldn't have asked for more from Jacqui or her fantastic Penthouse Caribou.

We were a party of 9 with a mix of adults, teenagers and young kids. Our friends were staying locally so there were often 13 of us there and there was plenty of room for us all to sit around the fire or watch tv in the mezzanine upstairs.

The apartment was beautifully finished and Jacqui had carefully considered what someone staying there would need with everything from champagne flutes, to shot glasses, to pizza wheels provided. We even had everything needed to make a full Christmas dinner which simply would not have been possible in most apartments we have stayed in without doubling their stock of pots and pans.

The apartment was spotless when we arrived and the beds really comfy.

There was sky tv and a blu ray player, the pool table was a great addition but our favorite feature was the huge fireplace where we all navigated to after a day on the slopes.

Jacqui was the perfect host getting the balance perfect of being on hand to answer any queries but at no time did it feel like she was intruding.

Jacqui was a font of knowledge and was able to advise the best ski schools and on her advice we booked our equipment through skihire2u prior to arriving, both were spot on! Skihire2u do exactly what their name suggests and they do it very well.

Once we were there Jacqui recommended the best pistes and we had some lovely meals out on her advice as well.

Lift passes were organized through Jacqui as, making our arrival the most straightforward and stress-free skiing trip we've ever had!

If you are considering this apartment don't hesitate to book it, from our experience you won't be disappointed. We had high expectations and even they were exceeded!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing