We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic luxury retreat for a large group to...”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sslorach4...
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic luxury retreat for a large group to explore the area.”
Reviewed 28 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I have just returned from spending 4 nights in Penthouse Caribou with a group of friends.
We came for a few days walking and weren't disappointed. Challenging walks, spectacular scenery and plenty to do and see.
Impressive accommodation, spacious and very well-presented. Lovely croissants & bread from local boulangerie.
I would have no hesitation to recommend this to anyone for a Summer or Winter stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
38forthel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Breath-taking views, fantastic apartment and”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We were lucky enough to visit Penthouse Caribou a few weeks ago and it was such a treat. The apartment is just incredible. The communal areas are spacious and open and have been decorated to feel homely, and there is an amazing mezzanine floor with pool table and snug area. The bedrooms are huge with lovely comfy beds and fluffy pillows which are very much needed after a hard days skiing. Our bathroom had an enormous bath which looks out through big French Windows directly out at the mountains so you can soak your weary legs with a view to die for!

Jaqui was an excellent host even sorting all of our lift passes, ski hire and transfers. All we needed to do was turn up!

La Chappelle is a beautiful, quaint French village with lovely restaurants and amenities. There are some fab walks around the area if you want to have a break from the slopes. There are slopes at your doorstep or you can get a quick bus to reach the porters du soleil ski area.

It was such a perfect trip and I look forward to going back again some time!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful view from the bath!
Liked least: Having to leave 😢
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfort and superb hospitality”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

After a delayed outgoing flight, we were greeted with a warm reception from Jacqui and Martin, and stacks of information for our ski holiday. We had four fantastic days in comfort and a beautiful surrounding. Good location for transport into Chatel or Linga too. Am struggling to think of a place that's comparable to Caribou for relaxing after skiing, whilst there are a couple of local eateries and pubs to spend a nice evening with friends or family. As an aside our homebound flight was cancelled. Jacqui was great in helping us get everything sorted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia K
2 reviews
“Fantastic luxury chalet!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We've just returned from a long weekend holiday to Chatel staying at Penthouse Caribou. What an incredible chalet! Beautifully decorated and immaculate, this luxury accommodation is perfect for large groups or families. The skiing resorts are a stones throw away and there are some fantastic local amenities including a patisserie, boulangerie, microbrewery, local cheesemonger and many great restaurants and bars.

The house was the perfect place to come home to after a long day on the slopes. The mezzanine area was great for relaxing and playing pool in the evenings, and the long dining table meant all 16 of us could eat together comfortably. Jacqui and Martin couldn't have been more helpful on our stay.

This was my second visit to Penthouse Caribou, and judging from the excellent holidays I have here, it won't be my last!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned from a fabulous week staying in Penthouse Caribou.
The accomodation is spacious and the Penthouse has amazing views from every window and balcony. It is perfect for a large group of friends or a family trip.

The ski bus stop is very close by and there are restaurants in walking distance. The chalet is very well equipped and immaculately clean. The owners are very helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joto21
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Luxury accommodation”
Reviewed 20 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had a wonderful week seeing in the New Year. Jacqui and Martin could not have been more helpful from arranging caterers for the week, to running us up to Chatel when we missed the bus! The chalet is beautiful and exactly as the pictures show. I am very fussy and like to stay in luxury accommodation and this did not disappoint! The mezzanine above the lounge was perfect for the teenagers to play pool and chill whilst still be close enough to join in with the rest of our family. It is very well located for the bus stop to the ski lifts.We could not ski locally due to the lack of snow however Chatel was not far away and we managed to ski every day, helped by Jacqui and her knowledge of the area. We would definitely return to Penthouse Caribou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the rooms/open plan lounge
Liked least: The tired looking stairwells up to the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura N
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Back for more”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Five years and counting. The views never cease to give me the WOW factor and the location is perfect for getting into Chatel for the main ski region. Big or small groups are always made to feel welcome here...would recommend it! Amenities in the village are sufficient with a bigger supermarket a short drive up the road.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing