We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT PARTY OR FAMILY VENUE+++++”
other traveller has booked this property
Lounge and fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
144 reviews
Lounge and fireplace
Boutique, luxury Penthouse over top two floors of this majestic building
Luxurious, lounge with log fire and piste views
Dining for 16
Dining area with open fire, staircase and vaulted ceiling
Log fire
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Large kitchen breakfast area with piste views
Mezzanine tv area
Games area mezzanine
Mont du Grange Bedroom 1 King size bed
Cret Beni bedroom suite with 1 king size bed plus 2 singles
Cornettes Bedroom 3 Double bed and bunks
En suite Cret Beni
Cornettes, luxury wetroom/shower
Penthouse Caribou in Winter
Penthouse Caribou, Spring
Dents du Midi
Spring view from Penthouse
Dining on the balcony
Abondance Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Chatel, Abondance, Portes du Soleil, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 144 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
We-love-t...
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“PERFECT PARTY OR FAMILY VENUE+++++”
Reviewed 17 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Another great stay at Penthouse Caribou, fantastic apartment in a great location overlooking the ski slopes, in the lovely village of Chapelle d'abondance. Lots of great restaurants near by and a supermarket and bakery just a few minutes walk. The apartment is huge with great entertaining space and a mezzanine with snooker table and tv etc. New addition is a hot tub on the balcony, lovely to sit in with a drink watching the slopes as the sun sets........... we'll be back!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaike080...
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
1 review
“Fantastic spacious and cozy house in a lovely ski area”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Last month we spent a week in this lovely house. For 8 adults and 10 children there was more than enough space. The view is breathtaking. The fireplace creates the atmosphere. The children enjoyed the home cinema and the pool billiards. We enjoyed the atmosphere, the hot tub and the space. The house is very clean and everything you need is available.
Jacqui and Martin are very hospitable and friendly. They helped us very well when one of us broke her spine when she was skiing. Thank you very much for this!
We will be back next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby T
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spacious penthouse chalet”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This was our 4th visit to Penthouse Caribou and Chappelle D' Abondance. It is a beautiful area and still very french, the chalet is spacious, exteremly warm, clean and located near to the slopes and restaurants of this lovely french village. Jacqui and Martin have always made us feel very welcome and booked restaurants for us in advance of our stay.
Unfortunately we are unable to go next year and will miss our yearly stay terribly.
We hope to return in the near future, and would highly recommend this chalet and area.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 3 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We’ve recently returned from our second visit to Penthouse Caribou. Great location in a small skiing village that actually feels French. The Penthouse is a fantastic size for our three families. Well equipped. Helpful owners who are close by but are not intrusive. Would strongly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hocking74...
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great week is skiing with friends and kids”
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had an amazing week of skiing with 4 other families. Chalet was like home from home so much space and ability to sit together to eat. Great location close to slopes and had some runs to ourselves on occasions. Martyn and Jacqui always on hand to help. Already thinking about when to go back. Also used ski2hire which was also a great service. Can't wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarajoeob
County Wicklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ms”
Reviewed 12 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Wonderful Penthouse Apartment with amazing mountain views. The apartment is over 2 floors, with a large fire, pool table and outdoor hot tub, within walking distance of the slopes and town, and a 15 minute drive to the larger resort of Chatel.

The apartment is spotless, and has everything you would need for a group holiday. There are 5 bedrooms - 3 en suite and 2 with individual bathrooms.

Thank you to our hosts Jacqui and Martin who were so helpful during our stay! We will definitely be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lady_aika
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely and cosy getaway for a group of friends”
Reviewed 30 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Penthouse Caribou is located on the third floor of a 3-floor house (there's an elevator, so don't worry.) One half of the 2-floor large apartment faces the skiing slope of Cret Breni, providing a superb view over the mountain. We were a group of 13 friends with three toddlers. There were enough space for each of us both in the living rooms and the dining.
Martin and Jacqui are the most welcoming hosts. They provided us with all the advice and care that we needed. I would definitely recommend the place as a base for exploration of Portes du Soleil, if your group has a car.
We could not dream of a better space for our winter vacation. Thank you Martin and Jacqui :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing