We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Le Grand Lodge
Ranked #12 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for 4nts in late January. There was a group of 7 and we shared 2 apartments which were each very different. Both 2 bedroom apartments. Overall the apartments are lovely, clean, fresh and have fantastic views over the valley below. One of our apartments was on the top floor with a balcony (large) and the other on the ground floor corner, so walked straight out onto the snow, which our 3yr old loved! The pool was freezing, our 3yr old wouldn't go in it, and the adults had to brace themselves when entering the water! Which was a shame because we one of the primary positives to book it was because of the pool. The hot tub was nice, so stayed in there! The actual building sits back from the road, down quite a steep drive. You definately need your snow chains on otherwise you won't get back up! Also, it's dangerous walking down in ski boots. We witnessed some poor women slip right back and smack her head on the ground.. ouch! I don't understand why the management don't grit it because it's dangerous to say the least. The ski bus stop is right outside (route de Vonnes) and takes you 3 mins to the main telecabine or the ski bus station where you catch the other buses out. The buses are infrequent later on in the day. The walk to the village from the apartments is slightly downhill and takes about 15 minutes. There is a a well stocked supermarket in the village as we cooked on a couple of nights, and got everything we needed. The little train that runs around the village for about 3euros is great value, as this is a great way to see chatel and get your bearings!

Good points:
Lovely, new and clean
Good location
Bus stops right outside
Lovely warm hot tub
Well stocked kitchen (with dishwasher if you remember dishwasher tablets!)
Lift to all floors
Free wifi in reception

Bad points:
Pool was freezing
Dangerous drive/walk down to it.
Check out was over half an hour

One other point is that we booked through simply-chalets.co.uk which included the end of stay clean, but with other companies this isn't the case, AND the management are very fussy to say the least when checking you out.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkiD00dle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Residence Le Grand Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is our second year in Chatel, the skiing is great and the locals (some of which we made friends with last year and are visiting again this year) are lovely. Two great bars you must go to: the Lion Dor (Dutch bar happy hour 4-5pm) and the Avalanche, English bar with live music and DJs on certain nights.

Good bits:

The chalet is beautifully decorated and has a modern feel and finish. Kitchen is well equipped with a good stock of utensils, plates, glasses mugs etc. there was no oven in our room but we were happy to work around this. The dishwasher was also handy.The bus "A" which goes from town to Linga and Pres de Joux is a 10-15 walk- unfortunately we discovered on the last day you could ski out of the chalet and link up with the bus en route!

Although pool and hot tub were cold the first time we used it the second time it was fine. Sauna was also lovely after a hard days skiing.

For a small extra charge you can also get fresh bread each morning which was great.

bad bits:

Bit of a walk to town and the buses are infrequent on this route. The hotel is also insanely tight about certain things. €40 euros for the TV remote for example, and €15 euros for wifi when there is a box already in the apartment, this sort of thing should really be included. Also you will need to bring everything with you, we had one toilet roll and a bin bag in our apartment, nothing else. Of course the hotel will give you more of these things and cleaning materials etc but at a cost much greater than the supermarket.

The night we arrived there was no bedding in the room and we had to spend the first night under a "CSI" style sheet which produced the most thrilling electric shocks.

Despite these shortfalls the apartment was lovely and I suppose if you know in advance nothing is provided then you can bring all the stuff you require. Also it's very good value, if you book with sunweb we paid £350 each including ski pass which is fantastic. Few annoying shortcomings which could easily be fixed by Nemea!

It's the same price as our apartment last year and although slightly further out it is much nicer and bigger, the separate bedroom was a particular luxury we enjoyed greatly!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Niall I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights here in July. Very clean, well equipped and comfortable with friendly staff. Having underground parking available is a big plus. The chalet was said to be suitable for 6 people but was a bit small for 5(2A,3C). It was difficult to find the chalet as there is a sign on the French side only and we approached from the Swiss side (it is opposite the lake, look out for the big crane as the development is under construction). The town is within walking distance and has some nice restaurants and an excellent deli.

Room Tip: Book the bigger chalets as the bedroom space is quite small.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank okeeffek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We enjoyed a good week in Feb half term. We had a appt for 2-4 but really it was only big enough for 2, very limited storage especially with 4 lots of ski clothes. Appt clean and tidy and staff very helpful. Bread delivery service in a morning was very nice.
The walk up the hill from appt to ski bus stop was challenging with 2 children, ice and carrying ski's and poles.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Travelled here for one week family ski holiday on Jan 19th. Whilst finding the place was challenging and I was very concerned having read the two negative reviews of the place I was immediately reassured that these reviews were un justified and in fact i found that the residence was of a good standard, newly built, clean, spacious by French standards and of course brand new in respect of furniture and decor. The building is entirely made of wood in keeping with the area and affords some excellent views down the valley from apartments on the bottom side. The queues to check in which have been mentioned were non existent and our book in was straightforward with the staff being friendly and helpful. Having paid for a one bedroom apartment with an alcove we were pleasantly surprised to have been given a two bedroom apartment for the six of us. Parking was fine an I have a vehicle just short of 2m high which I got in without any issues. The pool sauna and jacuzzi were fine (though facilities to change were somewhat lacking) and provided you pick the right moment were not especially busy. The were certainly clean and of course brand new. The reception are area was nicely decorated and furnished and had an open log fire in the centre surrounded by some sofas. There is also a route from the back of the residence into Chatel which avoids the walk on the main road. Walk to Chatel takes around 10 mins and a free bus is available during the day. All in all this residence offers superb value for money and I would not hesitate to return. The negative reviews in my experience are wholly unjustified.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Ras457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Last week, our stay in Le Grand Lodge was quite pleasant, although we had some doubts about the progress of the construction work in and around the hotel.

All the appartments are brand new and nicely decorated.
Still, the finish of the complex as a whole showed some shortcomings here and there, but a combination of a French buildingsite and a deadline is usually not a very good one, as we have experienced.

The staff also had to get used to their new complex and new jobs, but tried to make the best of it, despite long queues at check in and out.
Apart from these awful queues, the staff was very helpful and spoke English sufficiently.

A bar or cozy room to get together is still lacking and would be highly recommended for the future.

Swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna were small, but not unkempt or uncomfortable.

The hotel is easily accessible from Châtel's pistes. You can ski from the Linga piste to the hotel (although the Hotel offers no low-lying entrance yet and you have to climb then), you can take the bus (Bus I, 2x per hour, does not drive regularly) or a short walk (10 min) should do the trick.

Location relative to the village center is perfect. Within a 10 minute walk you will find most of the restaurants, cafes and a supermarket. Châtel is a beautiful village.

Make sure you store your ski equipment near a lift (the Intersport Ski Rental near the Superchatel gondola offers such a service) or in one of the Restaurants on the Pistes. This prevents a lot of annoyance, since a 10 minute walk to the complex is not far, but very far as it is uphill with your skis on your back and your ski boots on your feet. Parking in the village center is terrible.

Experienced skiers would rather opt for the pistes Linga or Pre-la-Joux (easily accessible, 10-20 min. by Bus A). The pistes of Superchatel seem a little obsolete, although you can make beautiful tours to Switzerland (direction Morgins and further).

And then there are the French and their evenening habits. As we were used to having quite a few beers after leaving the pistes (as we were used to in Austria), the French seem a little more sophisticated and like to have a good meal, a good talk and a good bottle of wine after a day of skiing.
Although Chatel has some pubs which seem nice (l'Avalache, le Tunnel), you'd better adapt to the French lifestyle to fully experience skiing in Châtel. A really good bottle of wine is not very expensive and in our experience dining with the French is an experience on itself, although weak stomachs may prefer to avoid the greasy "cuisine savoyarde".
Good places to go to: Le Fiacre and Le Vieux Four (quite expensive in the city centre). Moreover: Le Table Savoyarde (especially recommendable, the most hospitable waiter of France, excellent food and dito wines for a reasonable price).

Still, Châtel is not the village I would go to with a group of mates, but being there with my girlfriend, the village offered great restaurants to have a cozy meal.

Overall a wonderful holiday for a small price in a resort with great potential, although it still needs some finishing touches.

Room Tip: Ask in advance whether the staff has put pads under the chair legs, this was a very unnecessary but...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Luuk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priss75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chatel hotels
1.0 mi away
Logis le Roitelet
Logis le Roitelet
#6 of 18 in Chatel
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Le Choucas
B&B Le Choucas
#4 of 18 in Chatel
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Prestige Odalys Les Fermes de Chatel
0.6 mi away
CGH-Residence les Chalets d'Angele
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Le Grand Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Le Grand Lodge

Address: Lieu Dit Sous Vonnes, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Price Range: £24 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Le Grand Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Le Grand Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing