We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious chalet with exceptional hosts!”
Review of Chalet Grand Coeur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chatel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Grand Coeur
Ranked #11 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We spent Easter at the Chalet Grand Coeur and it is hard to find the words to describe what a fantastic time we had here! The chalet itself is so well appointed, everything is luxury! The rooms were beautiful, such comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms! Everything down to the finest detail has been thought of. The food was absolutely superb! We were here at the end of the season, but still had great snow and for learners we were well taken care of. Ski hire came to the chalet for fitting and gear was of a very high standard. The local restaurants we tried, both in the village and on the mountain, were also very good. The Easter bunny even managed to find us!! Wish we lived closer so could come again soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Grand Coeur
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed as a family of 6, and can only really echo the sentiments of the other comments before this; it's luxurious, fantastic service, and worth every bit.

The chalet is beautifully presented, and looked after exceptionally by the hosts who catered for everything. It was not the first visit by my parents who have stayed in the chalet before with friends but I'm sure it will not be the last.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This chalet is, without a doubt, the epitome of luxury. I normally ski/board on quite a tight budget but we decided to push the boat out this time. I stayed in February 2013 and had an incredible week! Snow was amazing but the chalet topped it off! Ski and board fitting was done in the chalet on our first night- it was great to not have to troop along to the ski hire shop hen you're tired after a long journey! Every room was stunning: fur rugs, real fire, beautiful dining area open plan with kitchen and living area, all with views onto the slopes. My room (a double room) was ensuite with all fittings of a very high standard. Loads of towels provided, as well as lovely dressing gowns (very useful for visiting the hot tub!). Beds were very comfortable and had luxurious fur blankets and plenty of pillows. The room was also very spacious and had plenty of storage space (hanging space and room for folded clothing). We also had a balcony (which extended around the entirety of the building) with views onto the slopes. I should also add that there is under- floor heating throughout! Every morning we were treated to a continental breakfast with a different hot option each day- all very nice indeed! When we returned from skiing we would engorge ourselves on the homemade cake left for us by our lovely chalet hosts and were free to make ourselves at home with the tea and coffee facilities. Not long to rest however, before dinner was served! A 5 course extravaganza every day! Aperitifs in the living area were followed by a starter, main and dessert then a cheese board that changed every night with old favourites and new cheeses, some of which were local! In terms of entertainment, there is a TV "den" downstairs with beanbags and DVD player and, if I remember correctly, a wii- great for kids! To sum up, I would wholeheartedly recommend this chalet to anyone considering a ski/boarding holiday. Amazing!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHam1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

7 of us spent a week at the Grand Coeur in mid Jan, it was our first visit to the chalet and I am not sure we will ever have a better chalet experience. The chalet is just brilliant in terms of luxury and the food and service was just amazing. We had the joy of Henri and Kaisa spoil us rotten...Kaisa is an awesome chef and we had quite a lot of dietary requirements between us. Topped with the hot tub, the great snow, location of the chalet and the transfers it was the best ski holiday I have had to date, with this being my 6th trip. I don't usually write reviews on here and this is my first one but this was a special experience worth sharing.

Room Tip: All five rooms are great.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RakeshPatel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Have just returned from the best long weekend skiing ever! We have done many chalet holidays but this one topped them all. Feel like we have been to stay with friends in their gorgeous holiday home who just happened to have a gourmet chef living there too! Henri & Kaisa looked after us so well and I have honestly never had food like this before on a chalet holiday- outstanding doesn't describe it. Henri's cocktails got every evening off to a great start as well.
The chalet is beautifully done, Sue has exceptional taste, the fluffy robes, molton brown smellies & white company scents wafting around made it feel very luxurious and the beds were ridiculously comfortable! Great hot tub and plenty of space to laze around and eat yummy cake! I can also highly recommend a massage from Katie.
The chalet is in a perfect spot, just over the road from the Linga lifts but there is also a bus stop at the end of the road if you ski back down to pre la joux. Ski hire 2 you met us at the chalet as we arrived in the resort and we we on the slopes half an hour later, all the ski lift passes were there ready for us.
Couldn't recommend this place highly enough and we are certainly looking forward to retuning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seiko_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Every whim catered for, from fluffy white robes and towels to mouthwatering afternoon cakes and canapes. Superb catering every meal complimented by the chosen wines. Perfectly positioned to enjoy all the skiing that the Porte de Soleil has to offer, the chalet really does live up to its name. Annie

Room Tip: All rooms beautifully appointed. Quieter at back when the snow plough comes round.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for a week over new year. The chalet is very well located a couple of hundred metres from the Linga lift. You can ski most of the way there in the morning, but you need to walk back in the evening- although the hosts will happily come and fetch you if you are really that lazy!

The chalet is beautifully appointed with 5 really comfortable en-suite bedrooms. The main lounge and dining area is lovely, with English TV if you want it. There is also a den downstairs where kids can watch movies.

The food was of a very high standard and the wine well chosen.

I will be going again

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chatel
0.8 mi away
Mustang Chalet
Mustang Chalet
#5 of 31 in Chatel
34 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chalet Le Dragon
Chalet Le Dragon
#2 of 11 in La Chapelle-D'Abondance
164 reviews
1.2 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
0.4 mi away
1861 Chatel Hostel
1861 Chatel Hostel
#8 of 31 in Chatel
40 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Macchi
Hotel Macchi
#1 of 18 in Chatel
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Grand Coeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Grand Coeur

Address: route de Pre la Joux, 74390 Chatel, Abondance, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Abondance > Chatel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Chatel
Price Range: £75 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet Grand Coeur is a luxury chalet that sleeps 10 comfortably and all rooms have their own bathrooms. All ensuite bedrooms can be twins or super king size doubles to suit your party..The sitting room has comfy leather sofas to sink into after a hard days skiing. A feature of the sitting room is the lovely traditional fireplace made with local stone. The chalet is run as a catered chalet during the winter season and is offered as self catering accomodation during the summer months. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing