We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Valfrejus
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We paid £149 for a weeks stay, ski hire and ski pass so could not complain much.

Basic accommodation but good location. Never stayed somewhere where you need to clean everything up at the end of the stay or face large penalties.

It serves a purpose as a place to sleep and leaves your bags. The rest of the time you are out on the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SearleDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServiceClientele, Responsable relations clients at Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Regarding the end of stay cleaning, it is common in French self catering units to clean the apartment before you leave.
We hope that you decide to book with us again in the future
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2013

Wish I had read more reviews before booking. Cleaning standards were very bad. We even found food on the plates in the cupboard and when we complained we were told there had been a group of lads in the apartment the week before!! Also the dishwasher was broken. The apartment description was not accurate, one toilet not two a fact that greatly amused my daughter when the inventory stated 2 toilet brushes. Bedding not fresh, pillows, their description not mine, were thin and hard. The overall state of the apartment was shabby and definitely not chic. Investment and care needed soon.

Probably suited to groups of dedicated skiers who only want a crash pad as access to the slopes was good.

Room Tip: Choose a different company
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

A basic chalet apartment, really only for seasoned self catering types that know to bring cleaning cloths and toilet cleaner. Basic facilities all worked well. Heated boot racks in boot room, and excellent location. You don,t go to sit in the chalet all day, you go to ski. Beds are rather solid, if driving bring a mattress topper!

Wifi in and around reception area for one at a time only.

We had a great holiday , great skiing to be had, not disappointed as didn't expect ,luxury'

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I've stayed in many hostels and hotels round the world, this is not a very pleasant place to stay, crumbling ceiling in our room, rude staff, poor hygiene and cleaning standards. I would avoid and try somewhere else. Locations good, that's the only positive point I can think of.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

The chalets are in the end of Valfréjus. When you arrive from Modane just go straight to the right; it´s the last building. During the day it is easy to find but at night it may be a little difficult because there are no signs to direct you.

Chalets are 3/4 apartment buildings with garage, gym, sauna and ski room. They are very good, not luxurious, and the ski room is really ski-in ski-out. It´s in the slope that goes to the lift where everybody starts the day. It is in the center of the village.

The apartment, 8pax for 5 and a baby. 3 rooms, 2 WC, kitchen/living room and a nice balcony. The apartments are simple, comfortable, having everything (TV, washing machine, etc.) to have a nice week. If you clean the apartment before you leave, you don´t have to pay extra money.

The employees are not very nice. We arrived one day before the others, and I didn’t have the TV-key. The employee told me, “You should arrived yesterday, because there´s no enough.” There are several restaurants with different prices. I chose the pizzeria and a restaurant (ask for the raclete). Both close to the supermarket.

Pets are allowed but you have to pay a fee. The resort is small but very pleasant with a blue slope with more than 20Km. There are slopes for every taste, good off-pists and a restaurant on the top of the mountain with a great view of Italy. If you want more you can go to Orele and ski in the three Vallée (the biggest ski resort in the world) or go to Bardonechia to ski in Italy!

Near Valfréjus there is Modane (7km).

Valfréjus is alive at night but in La Norma it is even better.

The relation price/quality is great. These apartments are the best choice for someone who likes skiing!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pipinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Valentine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kinshassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valfrejus
0.4 mi away
Residence la Turra
Residence la Turra
#4 of 4 in Valfrejus
88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club du Soleil Valfrejus
0.3 mi away
Les Chalets de la Ramoure
Les Chalets de la Ramoure
#3 of 4 in Valfrejus
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Club MMV Le Valfrejus
3.1 mi away
Les Chalets et les Balcons de la Vanoise
Les Chalets et les Balcons de la...
#2 of 2 in Villarodin-Bourget
28 reviews
5.9 mi away
L'hotel du Soleil
L'hotel du Soleil
#1 of 2 in Aussois
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus

Address: 181 rue des Bettets, 73500, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valfrejus
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Valfrejus
Price Range: £37 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Madame Vacance, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Chalets du Thabor Valfrejus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing