We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are coming back in 2013 !!”
Review of Matheos Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Matheos Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We are coming back in 2013 !!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Believe it all !! the family, the friendliness, the standard of the accommodation, everything!!

Our first floor apartment overlooked the pool but it was not noisy in any way. the beds were comfy, the kitchen was extremely well equipped for self catering including mugs and egg cups and anyone who is a frequent greek traveller will know that is a nice touch !! And a cork screw !!!
The bathroom was a good size and like the rest of the accommodation and the whole place, spotlessly clean. Katie does a fabulous job.
The bar area is very pleasant and well stocked, and there is a good range of light snacks.
the pool is small, clean and delightful. Standing in it gazing up at the hills behind.....wish we were there now !!
I had a peek at the first floor studio and that looked very nice, fab view of the sea. i didnt see the lower floor studio rooms but you can take it from the review written below that these are nice. The patio areas seen from above looked particulary cool and inviting. They look out onto an olive grove.
So what more to say, well Piskopiano is very sweet, there are 2 mini markets within view from the main road, a couple of bars and some very very nice tavernas. The walk into the next village is a mere 10 minutes and here you will find even more very very nice tavernas and oh my it is so pretty, especially at night when it is lit up, as are the hills behind.

Magic. Thank you Helen and George and all. We came as strangers, hope you agree we left as friends xxxxx See you in 2013, same time, same place ....

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mljLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    23
    7
    0
    2
See reviews for
56
131
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Have just returned from a weeks stay at matheos apartments in piskopiano. What a great place to stay. We had a studio which was spotlessly clean. A lovely terrace for sitting out with olive trees at the bottom. The studio was very spacious and had everything you need for a self catering holiday. We had the room cleaned every day by the very friendly Katie and nothing was too much trouble. Helen, George and family made us very welcome and are the friendliest hosts you could wish for. A BBQ is held on a Tuesday which is a fab night. Loads to eat and too much to drink. The villages of piskopiano and koutalafari are beautiful with lots if lovely restaurants. The matheos appts are in an ideal location being in a nice and quiet location yet just a short walk from the restaurants. Met some lovely friendly people and would recommend it to anyone. Wish we were still there . Chris and Simon

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissiej58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset, england
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Although the apartment block and rooms are spotless and cleaned to good standard regularly, we found this accomodation far too small and intimate for us. The pool and bar area is tiny and you have to walk through this area to access rooms.

We were given a studio room downstairs, which we found noisy as we could hear people coming down the tiled stairs at night however when we asked if it was possible to move were told quite curtly by the owner that this is not a noisy hotel and as we had booked a studio (Thompson holidays had booked us a room - had we realised it would be a studio with no separate bedroom we would've changed it) and that they had no other room to offer us so we should go elsewhere if we were unhappy. Both me and my husband felt as though we had been told off for mentioning the noise and as if we should apologise for saying anything.

If booking through an agent check the room you will get as in the studio rooms the beds share space with kitchenette and our fridge was noisy some of the time. Everything else in the room was fine - 2 ring hob, kettle that took while to heat but worked & fridge. Small table and chairs. wardrobe, dressing table and 2 single beds. Separate bathroom had shower that worked okay.

Outside space was awful, as we were in the lower ground floor there was only a view of a brick wall, bush and fence that surrounded the back of the apartments. There was no privacy at all as the neighbouring patios were separated by a 2 ft high wall and overlooked by the apartments above. Luckily our neighbours were pleasant to chat to but it would've been nice to be able to wake up with a coffee and some peace and quiet. As the bathroom was next to the patio door you had to keep all curtains shut when getting in and out of shower or changing or the neighbours could see in.

The staff were on the whole pleasant and personable, although we spent as little time as possible in the apartments.

The village of Piskopiano is a bit run down with empty businessess and apartments, the neighbouring villages of Ano Hersonissos and Koutouloufari are nicer and we wished we had stayed at either of these. The beach is a good 40 minute walk down a steep hill and we have great calf muscles after doing that trip twice a day for a week. A taxi cost approx 7-10 euros each way.

Although there are a few nice tavernas nearby we chose to eat in Koutouloufari most evenings as huge selection of lovely tavernas and small bars here and on Monday night we went to Ano Hersonissos for the greek night, just go early (before 7.30pm) to get a table at one of the tavernas in the square or book a table as they fill up.

We enjoyed our week at Hersonissos very much and may return but would not use Matheos apartments again - although many people here had returned year after year, we just like a bit more privacy and space.

Air conditioning is extra and we thought quite expensive, however there were mosquitos so you cannot sleep with open window. Take a plug in mosi repellent & you can buy citronella candles cheaply in supermarkets locally if sitting outside in evening.

Room Tip: Downstairs studio apartments have no privacy or view - book upstairs room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pipsy589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Myself , partner and our 2 boys (15 and 6 in age) have just returned from 2 weeks at the Matheos apartments, we could not fault these apartments that are clean and have just what u require for a self catering holiday set in a lovely village away from all the hussle and bussle of a main resort. Helen and George are fantastic and made us all feel at home in there family run apartments , the BBQ night every Tuesday is a perfect way to get to know everyone staying in the same place. I would highly recommend this little gem to any of my friends and family and will make sure we return to visit our new found friends (Helen and George) very soon. Most relaxing and friendly hoilday and wish we were still there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

What a wonderful little place this is! The views of the mountains while you are sitting by the pool, are stunning. But the best thing about these apartments is the family who run them: George, Helen and Kosta. The main reason we can't wait to go back is to see them again - they really cannot do enough for you. Our room was lovely and had everything we needed. We had the most relaxing time in a peaceful atmosphere and felt like we were leaving friends when we had to go home. I would have no problem recommending Matheos apartments to anyone. It's a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaL862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slough
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Matheos Apartments are situated in the tiny village of Piskopiano above L.Hersonissos. The apartments are run by a lovely family who cannot do enough to ensure you have a lovely time.
If you dont like being anonymous in a large hotel and would like to be treated as part of an extended family, then the Matheos is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajsharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Me and my partner have recently returned from a week's break here. Helen, George and Kosta were fantastic hosts and couldn't of made us feel more welcome and relaxed. The rooms and facilities were excellent as was the atmosphere. I have read a few people saying that the beach and main resort area were quite some distance, which is a fair comment, but we were more than aware of this when we booked so it's hardly complaint worthy... the immediate local area had plenty of lovely restaraunts/bars and the staff at Matheos were always at hand to recommend good places to eat and things to do, with Helen and George even going as far as to take four of us out to their favourite restaraunt (some distance away, in their car) on our final night! If it's a quiet, relaxing break in crete you're looking for you really couldn't go far wrong here! Oh and Helen, if you read this give George a big kiss from me!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Piskopiano
0.3 mi away
Dream Village
Dream Village
#1 of 9 in Piskopiano
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Villas
Galaxy Villas
#6 of 13 in Koutouloufari
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Marni Village
Marni Village
#2 of 13 in Koutouloufari
1,036 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Blue Suites
Creta Blue Suites
#3 of 13 in Koutouloufari
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Astra Village Apartments
Astra Village Apartments
#8 of 13 in Koutouloufari
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matheos Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matheos Apartments

Property: Matheos Apartments
Address: Piskopiano, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Piskopiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Piskopiano
Hotel Class:3 star — Matheos Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This places comes with a small, kidney-shaped pool that gives you excellent views up into the mountains. There's also a poolside bar serving drinks and snacks. And it's here, around the pool, that the owners put on a barbecue once a week. It's pretty simple here in terms of facilities, but the complex has nabbed a prime spot in a peaceful village, and it's all within walking distance.Rooms and studios have a kitchenette with 2 electric rings and a fridge, there's a shower and either a balcony or terrace, air-con is at an extra charge. The maid service is 6 times a week with towel and linen change twice weekly. 1 Bedroom apartment sleep up to 4 with a double bed or twin beds and 2 extra beds. Studio sleeps up to 3Excellent views and a friendly atmosphere make the Matheos Studios stand out from the crowd. There's a small pool paired with a snack bar, plus a clutch of tavernas within walking distance. The Matheos Studios are in the tiny village of Piskopiano, which is set on the slopes of Mount Harakas. Despite its small size, the village is a bit of a foodie haven. There are plenty of tavernas a minute's walk from the studios, a lot of which have terraces with panoramic sea views. When you want to hit the sand, Hersonissos Beach is a 20-minute walk downhill. The complex has a friendly feel thanks to its owners George, Kosta and Helen, who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They put on a weekly barbecue by the small pool. You get mountain views from here, and there's a snack bar serving breakfast and light meals. There are 14 studios and apartments, all of which have very simple kitchenettes, with 2 electric rings, a fridge and a kettle. Each one has the added bonus of a balcony or terrace, which looks out over the mountains, pool or sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Matheos Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matheos Apartments Piskopiano, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing